We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find in McMinnville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut City Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Walnut City Kitchen
2580 SE Stratus Avenue, McMinnville, OR
15038570034
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice find in McMinnville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Inventive menu, attentive staff and priced reasonably. Small seating area with an upscale casual feel. The appetizer and main course specials gave the chef a chance to showcase creativity. Great culture of service. We ordered our favorites from the menu and shared tastes. We made reservations for 6pm dinner on a Monday night. May not have been necessary at that time but the tables were filling by the time we left. Yes, it is curious that Walnut City Kitchen is located near the Comfort Inn but that had no correlation to the renovated interior or our wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate here last night, and will be back next trip. Sleek, modern facility. Good service. The wine list had a number of nice local labels. The food was very good, and was definitely fine dining. Prices were reasonable as well. I had some tripidating going in, only because of the proximity of the restaurant to the Comfort Inn, but don't let that worry you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the food, staff is fun, and they're open on Mondays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've had lunch here twice and finally had dinner here. (The burger is fantastic!) The staff is friendly and fun -- we enjoyed reading the commentary included in the wine list. We felt the wine was a little overpriced -- though that didn't stop us from ordering some! My husband and I shared a crab cake appetizer -- although not the best I've ever had, it was certainly one of the best -- and the fresh pea pesto served with it was unique and delicious. We shared a very good house salad (definitely generous enough serving to share). My husband had the roasted chicken thighs, and I had the flat iron steak. Both were very good. Again, the flat iron steak was a very generous serving and very tender -- cooked perfectly at medium rare. The restaurant itself is very pleasantly industrial, not overly decorated. They have smartly added Monday to their open days, like their partner restaurant Community Plate -- great for a foodie town that has few restaurants open on Monday! We will be frequent return customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great contemporary vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food at reasonable prices in a great airy contemporary space. The warmed olives are a particular treat. A welcome addition to McMinnville's restaurant choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Went to dinner here because it is in the same parking lot as our hotel. The staff made us feel so welcome immediately and the menu had great choices. Our fellow dinners most likely will not want a good review because they want to keep this secret place all to themselves. I can't help it. All the food was excellent with superb attentive service. We didn't have room for dessert,but the yummy sounds made by our fellow dinners reflected how good it looked.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut City Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut City Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.