We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2535 NE Cumulus Avenue, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This area was a surprise to us. We were on our way to Gleneden Beach and ended up spending the night in Mcminnville - a place we had never heard about before. This is a very comfortable, well cared for hotel in a beautiful area. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and there was a decent breakfast. My wife and I cycled through the area and it's very scenic with some great vineyards throughout the hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
36
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the Red Lion in McMinnville as we were having such a great time in the area. The hotel was comfortable, spacious and dog friendly which is important to our family. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were the ideal way to start our busy day. We will be back. We love wine country in the Willamette Valley and have so much more to see and do. The Red Lion is the ideal base for this type of holiday. Plus the Evergreen Aviation Museum that features the Spruce Goose in virtually minutes away. Plus there is a McDonalds on an adjacent lot which was great for late night ice cream cones.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side of the hotel away from the road. But it's far enough back from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Did not have a reservation.....just took the chance they would have a room. Had never heard of Red Lion hotels until that day. Had a wonderful experience....the desk clerks had only one room available and helped us to get the lowest price possible......couldn't ask for more. Great experience and right down the road from the Evergreen Air museum where we toured and saw the "Spruce Goose". Great experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The weekend of the International Pinot Noir Celebration is one of the busiest summer weekends in McMinnville. To obtain a hotel room one must make a reservation months in advance. As soon as we confirmed we would be attending the 2012 event we made our arrangements at the Red Lion, where we had good accommodations in the past.

When we arrived our room was ready and we went up to freshen up - to find that our room's air conditioning was broken. Summer of 2012 - hottest summer in recorded history, and no AC. No wonder our room was available. We think the desk clerk knew about this situation, because she said that they have had many AC units breaking down and would have someone look at it the next day .... but they had no other rooms available. They offered to hold a room if someone canceled that evening.....but they had a room w/ AC available on the 3rd night of our stay! We were attending this event as presenters and had no tolerance for moving hotels, broken facilities.

We drove across the street to the Comfort Inn and they had a "Spa Suite" available - double the price, but a room w/ AC!

The only reason I gave the Red Lion 2 stars and not 1 was because they could have charged us for the nights we reserved, since this was the weekend of a special event and cancellations had to be 48 hours in advance - but they didn't charge us. We felt sorry for the desk clerk covering up for the mismanagement of this hotel.

Room Tip: Actually ended up not staying here due to no working AC in room in the middle of summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here because we were going to the Evergreen Aviation Museum. It met our needs as a conveninent place to stay, rooms were roomy and clean. Friends who were staying there had a room on the front of the hotel and said the road noise was fairly loud.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Now that we have sampled the Red Lion chain throughout the Northwest, this particular Red Lion is a good value. Having been disappointed by the aging Red Lion in Vancouver, Washington we were pleasantly surprised to find the McMinnville location was clean, comfortable and very affordable. This hotel is pet friendly and it was a determining factor for picking this hotel over other choices in the area.

Our room was on the ground floor and was a standard king with sofa combination. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, the typical coffee service, and WiFI was provided at no additional cost. The bathroom was small and the towels were also smaller than some chains provide but the towels were in relatively good condition. The shower/water pressure was just strong enough to rate an OK. The soaps provided were eco-friendly and unlike our Vancouver Red Lion, plentiful. Our bed was very comfortable although the linen was a little worn looking. I think the Red Lion chain needs to change their linen provider because in general we have found the linen to be substandard.

Since we stayed in McMinnville during August we slept with the window open and this hotel is quiet. We heard no car traffic, no train noise and that is a big plus for giving this hotel an extra couple of points in the comfort column. There is a McDonald's Restaurant very nearby but we did not hear or sense any restaurant noise or traffic while in our room.

Breakfast was complimentary and it was sufficient. The breakfast room server was somewhat inattentive but we rated the breakfast as average and comparable to what is offered at a Holiday Inn Express. If you are traveling with small children you will appreciate the fact that the breakfast choices include small portions of most of the items (muffins, yogurt, juice cups). The breakfast room atmosphere is good, cheerful and comfortable. The negative reviews recently posted are simply untrue.

This Red Lion also has a very nice pool. All in all it is a good choice for McMinnville and very convenient if you are visiting the Evergreen Air & Space Museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A queue of guests wanting to check in wound its way through reception. The lady behind the desk was also running to and from the rooms to check if they were ready. A truly pathetic scene in truth. Check in was supposed to be at 15:00 but some of the 'guests' in front of us were told their room would not be ready until 16:00. I asked if there was any other member of staff available to assist - Negative! When we were checked in and given our room card and key we went up in the lift, as instructed, to find the card had a room number for the ground floor. Back down again to reception - joy of joys. The bathroom was the most basic I have seen in many many years. Granted, it was clean but spartan is an understatement.

Our taxi turned up late to take us to dinner - a misunderstanding between the cab company and reception. Ooops!

I stuck my nose in to the breakfast room the next morning - every piece of food looked grey and the tiny room was packed with grey looking guests. I detest McDonalds but guess where I had an egg McMuffin that morning.

This place is really grim - and not cheap.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville

Address: 2535 NE Cumulus Avenue, McMinnville, OR 97128
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Willamette Valley's wine country, the Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville Oregon is just off Highway 18 and near Highway 99W, minutes from downtown McMinnville, Linfield College and the Evergreen Aviation Museum, home of the famous Spruce Goose.Our 67 spacious suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, TV, a microwave and refrigerator. Available business services include free wi-fi in the lobby and breakfast area, email, fax and copy machines. Guests are invited to enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool and join us for a complimentary continental breakfast served each day in the Harvest Room.In the McMinnville area, golfing, bicycling, fishing and hunting are all close by, or take a trip to our beautiful beaches. There are more than 35 wineries to visit for wine tasting. For fun, gaming and big name entertainment, Spirit Mountain Casino is 25 miles west.Be sure to check out the Wings and Waves Waterpark at the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum, located just minutes from the Red Lion Inn & Suite McMinnville. Purchase tickets from any Front Desk Agent.With 1,300 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 75 people for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Inn And Suites Mcminnville
Red Lion Inn & Suites Mcminnville Hotel Mcminnville
Red Lion Mcminnville
Mcminnville Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Mcminnville
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.