We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love having lunch here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMenamins Hotel Oregon to your Saves list
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love having lunch here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I love going to Hotel Oregon on a nice afternoon for lunch. The rooftop seating area is fantastic and has a great view of the surrounding area. The food is McMenamins--so you can expect it to be good (We sure miss the buffalo wings though) and you can't get a better beer than Ruby. I have never been here overnight, but I could imagine it being a little busy with patrons and guests. The basement bar should not be missed, it is very cozy and usually not busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed us, and we look forward to serving you again soon! The sun is starting to shine, and you can't beat the rooftop for the views on a sunny Oregon day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    80
    36
    24
    12
See reviews for
21
109
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

So yes, as others have posted, this is not a B&B (do a little research before you book and leave poor reviews), nor is it a brand new 50 floor luxury hotel. It is Hotel Oregon. It's a funky building with crazy (sometimes creepy) art, character, a comfortable bed, reasonable prices, and very friendly staff.

We stayed in a King room (405) with a shared bathroom directly across the hall. Everything was spotlessly clean and the separate bathroom was not a concern. Maybe we were in the right spot, but we never noticed noise and there was a pair of earplugs in the event that it was an issue.

The three pubs within the hotel are fantastic. We loved the rooftop bar and enjoyed a beer and an appetizer outside on a mild sunny day in January. The main restaurant was nice and the Cellar bar was fun with music playing late into the evening.

Hotel Oregon was the perfect spot for my wife and I to get away alone for the first time since our son was born. It was a great time and we absolutely intend in doing it again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great time, and got to enjoy everthing Hotel Oregon has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Chris Miller
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked this thinking it was a bed and breakfast and knew we would share the bath. Our room was small and smelled of mold. Ear plugs are provided as they apparently are aware that you can hear every step of other guests and heavy street noise. The women's showers, both the handicap and regular, had large clumps of hair and one discarded shampoo when I explored on arrival, around 8P that night. The next morning there were still hair clumps, it had not been cleaned. I notified the staff when we left and she informed me they paid someone to clean the showers every night. She was polite and apologized. We ate a sandwich that evening in the bar. The food was good, though pricey for the portion, and I enjoyed a delicious glass of their draft beer. We went elsewhere for breakfast as I feel ten dollars is too much to pay for a breakfast sandwich, regardless of atmosphere. I would recommend travelers inspect the property prior to booking. The decor is entertaining and the staff was courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations. We appreciate and value all feedback as a tool that helps to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience in our Historic Hotel. You are also welcome to call me directly at 503.472.8427.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have 2 adults and 1 very big 12 year old. We reserved what was called a large king room with a roll-a-way, but when we arrived, the room was very small (typical old hotel type room) and not large enough to put a roll-a-way and still be able to walk or even get in and out of bed without climbing over each other. So, we upgraded to 2 connecting rooms with a bathroom and claw foot tub in between. 408/409. The rooms had a view of the downtown/ Mack Theater. 409 is tucked away just a tad at the end of the hall, so it was a bit better on noise than the other rooms.
I loved getting up for coffee in the morning and walking on the creaking old wooded floors. The manager and hotel night clerk were friendly and professional. I wouldn't say the same for the food/bar staff at the 3-4 different food/bar areas on site. But overall, we enjoyed our stay. The soak in the tub was the best part!

Room Tip: 408/409 - claw foot tub and view of downtown street. 409 is at the end of a little hallway, so a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review! I am glad to hear that we could accommondatedate your move to a better suited room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We couldn't get to sleep in room 415. The tip off should have been when we saw two pair of ear plugs on the night stand.

The noise was not the human type, but loud machinery, HVAC we think. The dull roar would be augmented by a compressor like sound periodically.

Nice folks, good breakfast in the bar but lack of quiet time is a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! As a historical building, we are constantly working to aleviate some of the noise issues of this beautiful old building. We love to be funky, but noisy is something we do not want to be! We do hope you give us another shot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you plan a wine tasting weekend on the Willamette valley AVA, McMinnville and particularly this hotel can serve as a great base for you trip. The hotel is clean , warm and heavily decorated as other McMenamins hotels are; on one hand trying to preserve the old charm and antique style, on the other presenting itself as a corky place well suited to host the UFO festival guests. There is a restaurant , a cellar bar and a rooftop bar. The food was decent and the service was very prompt and welcoming ( unlike other McMenamins I've been to). There are also a number of boutique stores and restaurants within walking distance and also wine bars that will offer wine tastings. I would recommend trying some of these rather than going to an winery , where they will bore you to death with the 5 types of pinot noir they make.
One thing the hotel is missing is a big hot-tub on the rooftop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Hotel staff were personable and helpful. Rooms reasonably quiet. An easy hour and half to the Portland airport. Terrific restaurants in the immediate area, local bookstores and a great pub downstairs.

Room Tip: I'd spring for the king suite with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Address: 310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville
McMenamins Hotel Oregon McMinnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Hotel Oregon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.