We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMenamins Hotel Oregon to your Saves list
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Hotel staff were personable and helpful. Rooms reasonably quiet. An easy hour and half to the Portland airport. Terrific restaurants in the immediate area, local bookstores and a great pub downstairs.

Room Tip: I'd spring for the king suite with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    80
    36
    23
    12
See reviews for
21
109
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had never heard of McMenamins, but came across it on Google Maps searching for a hotel room. What a great discovery: loads of quirky charm, great food, a rooftop bar, a historic property, and art work all over the place. Some of it is strange, but that's part of the appeal of traveling - experiencing something a little different.

Room Tip: Try the spicy tater tots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and perfect description of Hotel Oregon! So glad you discovered us and hope to see you again very soon. (I agree with your recommendation of the spicy Cajon Tots - they are really good!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went for a Sunday drive and thought we'd have lunch at one of our favorite "chains" only to wait at the downstairs restaurant. Very accommodating for families, we decided to try the upstairs bar. I ventured up to see if there were any tables left (one booth!) so I threw my coat down and headed back down the flights and flights of stairs to retrieve my fiancé. I didn't tell him the walk up was a few flights, and it was fun to see his reaction. Worth the walk. (And we had just gone for a 10-mile run. maybe we are in better shape than we thought.)

The food and menu was typical MM's fare. Enjoyed our burgers and Cajun tots accompanied by our favorite beer and wine. It was rainy so we sat inside, but we did take a walk outside, where there is a lot of outdoor seating on the 'roof'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad you got to experience and enjoy the Rooftop Bar and all the funky and wonderful art and history on the way up! (You would have missed it taking the elevator). And thank you letting us know we are one of your favorites. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved the artwork everywhere, the room, location and bar! Hats off to the owners, proprietors and staff. Nice to see the efforts made to preserve and enhance historical properties in the U.S. Would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the kudos and recommendation Robert! I agree with you about preserving historic properties - McMenamins preserves not only the structures but shares all of the history that has been a part of them. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in other McMenamin's hotels some with your own bathroom, some with shared bathrooms and others that were the European Style. We enjoy the historic locations and we were looking forward to trying out a new location, but the Hotel Oregon in McMinnville is by far the worst McMenamin's experience ever.

When I made the reservation, I knew are young son would be with us and asked if they had a roll away bed. The first person I talked to didn't even know if they had roll away beds available. When we arrived at the Hotel Oregon there was no parking so we had to park on the next street over, when we finally reached our room it was extremely small with a view of the fire escape. We were suppose to have a queen size bed but it was actually a full. As you opened the door to the room there was a small night stand then the bed right in front of you and another night stand that touched the bed and the wall on the other side. Barely any room to get in the door. Approximately 3 feet from the foot of the bed was a sink and the shared bathroom door. If there would have been a roll away available there wouldn't have been room for it anyways.

We headed downstairs for a snack and a couple of beers. Our service was slow and they were out of some of the beers they have listed as regulars on the menu. When we returned to our room for the night we quickly noticed that there was no television and you could hear everyone that was passing in the hallway. Thankfully, I brought a sleeping bag for our son to sleep on because there was no room even if he wanted to sleep on the bed.

Our extremely small bed was hard, lumpy and the bed bounced horribly any time you moved. The blankets were scratchy, the sheets were horribly thin and the pillows were awful even after we got extra from the front desk clerk. We spent majority of the night listening to drunk people stumble up and down the stairs as they went up to the roof top bar. Even after the bar closed you could hear them stumbling around the halls and talking loudly.

All we expected from our hotel stay was a good night of sleep. Instead, we were up for the entire night in a small, stuffy, uncomfortable room. And we weren't the only ones as we checked out in the morning everyone appeared as if they hadn't slept and were complaining about there stay. If all that wasn't bad enough the pen they gave me to check out with leaked all over my hand and there was nothing to even help me wipe it off with.

Defintely not worth the money. We expected historic not loud and dilapidated.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I was hoping to speak with you directly and address your concerns however have not, as of yet, received a reply. You are welcome to call me at 503.472.8427. We appreciate feedback that helps us to evaluate, make changes and provide our guests with the best possible experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our second stay was just as good as before. Clean room near a clean shared bath. Comfy bed in quiet room. Entertaining artwork in the room and along the hallways. We enjoyed an evening drink on the rooftop bar after a good meal at the main floor restaurant. The area is nice for tourists visiting the wine country. Within walking distance are a few tasting rooms for local wineries, and several restaurants (many highly recommended by other regular tourists and the hotel staff). Rooms with private baths are available for those not interested in shared baths. Overall, it's the kind of place for a weekend get-away or a base of operations for a wine country visit.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floor recommended. Take the elevator up with your bags. Take the time to walk the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. McMenamins is the place for family and friends and you could not have said it better! I am so glad you enjoyed both of your stays with us and I look forward to seeing you again on your next weekend getaway or wine country visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I take one real vacation per year and because we don't have a lot of money, we are always looking for the best bang for our buck. McMenamins Hotel Oregon is a treat for all the senses. Everywhere you look you see something interesting; the food is great; and the location is fabulous. McMinneville is full of interesting shops, awesome restaurants - Wild Wood is a must for breakfast - and within 15 minutes of the Air & Space Museum (plan two days for this trip - there's so much to see & do). McMenamins offers so many choices throughout WA & OR, my husband & I are making it our mission to visit and stay @ every single one. Thank you, McMenamins, for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your "awesome" review! We love to hear from our frequent guests and look forward to seeing you and hearing about many more memorable McMenamins experiences along the way to completing your mission!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Address: 310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville
McMenamins Hotel Oregon McMinnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Hotel Oregon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.