We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in McMinnville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMenamins Hotel Oregon to your Saves list
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Show Low, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in McMinnville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hotel Oregon provided a convenient and comfortable place to stay in McMinnville. We've stayed in several McMenamins hotels in the state, and enjoy the decorative paintings and the very good beer, wine, and food at these properties. We opted for a room with en suite bath -- somewhat unusual for a McMenamins hotel. Although a bit small, our accommodations were fine for a couple of nights. The Rooftop Bar is a nice place for a meal or drink. There's also a restaurant on the ground floor (the basement bar was closed during our visit). Parking for this hotel is a couple of blocks down the street in a city garage, but it's free, and you can park right out front during check-in and check-out. McMinnville is in the heart of Oregon wine country; the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum is well worth a visit, and there are some great antique shops in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    87
    40
    25
    13
See reviews for
23
113
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is your best bet for a hotel in McMinnville. Thoughtfully redone rooms with plenty of history about the building and the rooms, all for an affordable price. The best part about the hotel was the rooftop bar, which has great views of the entire valley. The building does creak and bang in the night, but I think it comes with the territory in a 100+ year old building. Overall, a very fun place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This hotel was amazing. It was booked for a meeting, so I didn't really know what to expect but wow - was it great. Awesome art all over the walls, a great restaurant downstairs, very funky, unique rooms that were super clean but for sure quite small (but really, who cares?) if you need a lot of space, book the large corner rooms (of which there are very few) and if you want your own bathroom, specify that too. But I had an amazing clawfoot bathtub in a pretty big bathroom (almost the same size as the main room!). The windows were HUGE which was great for light but not so great for heat loss and noise, but really - it's McMinnville, so it's not exactly a bustling city in the tundra. Very great restaurant downstairs, but also in the heart of town with some amazing restaurants (and a brewery) nearby.

The rooms were a bit loud, because things are creaky and old, but other than that, no complaints.

Room Tip: For a big room, ask for the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We spent one night at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, as a base for our wine tasting tour. The building is old, the rooms are microscopic, and the bathroom is down the hall.
But these quirks give the place a lot of charm. We felt we were in a hotel in the Old West.

No cheesy wallpaper here. The rooms are individually named for people who had an impact on Oregon history. Our room was named for a local blues musician and his biography was painted on the walls, along with a portrait of him.

You can dine in the pub, or downstairs in the cellar bar, or in the rooftop bar. The view from the rooftop at night is magnificent, with the city lights of McMinnville sparkling below.
No parking at the hotel, but there is a city-owned lot with free parking two blocks away.

The hotel is in the middle of McMinnville, a town which has re-made itself into a quirky village with lots of cafes, antique shops and artsy stores. One store had beautiful hand-made quilts on display.
Everything is within an easy 3-4 block walk from the hotel.

McMenamins apparently sub-contracts with providers for wine tasting tours. There are around 400 wineries in the Willamette Valley--we visited three of them. It took all afternoon, we learned a lot about pinot noir and had a great time! McMenamins offered a package deal for this, which included the room, the wine tasting tour, dinner and breakfast.

As for the bathroom down the hall (the thought of which has no doubt raised many peoples' blood pressure) we found it to be no big deal. The hotel provides big, comfortable robes to wander the hall in, and despite our floor being about 3/4 full, I never encountered another person in the bathroom. Go figure.

This isn't for everyone. If you feel you must have the latest in hotel amenities, you will not like this. There is no TV, no DVDs, no radio.
No blow dryer either. I had brought my own, so it didn't matter, but if you need one, you should check with the hotel to see if they have them.
But there is free WiFi with a strong signal. They often have live music, the view from the rooftop bar is glorious (in warm weather you can dine outside--the entire roof is covered with tables and chairs) and it was just generally a fun and relaxing weekend for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

McMenamins Hotel Oregon is one of the most unique places you can stay. It's a historic building full of beautiful colorful art almost everywhere: in the rooms, the hallways, stairs, etc. My wife and I visited during the 4th of July weekend mainly to tour wineries in the Willamette Valley. The hotel roof has a nice restaurant which offers great food and a 360 degree-view, great to watch fireworks at night. I was very pleased staying there but I think there are mainly 2 things people should know: most rooms do not have a bathroom and you must go to the common bathroom area with common showers (they are clean, though); and the rooms are very small (ok for a weekend, but might not be enough space if staying a long period of time).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, OR
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We have stayed here twice now. The restaurants are fun and beer is great. Sharing a bathroom is fine - we never saw another person at the same time. Room was quiet and didn't really hear anyone else. I really enjoy the Cellar Bar. The Roof Top is fun but is small and can get crowded. It is great if you can get a good seat and see the surrounding area.

It is in a great part of town with lots of boutique stores near.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our postage stamp room was right next to a some very heavy breathers. That went on for about an hour. I'm not kidding, we could hear every sigh.
The fun part was watching the Giants/Rangers game in the lovely pub with some other Bay Area fans.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Address: 310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville
McMenamins Hotel Oregon McMinnville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Hotel Oregon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.