We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Thanksgiving 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn to your Saves list
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
10660 SW Youngberg Hill Road, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tifton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Memorable Thanksgiving 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family and I spent Thanksgiving day and night at Youngberg Hill Inn. Our first visit to Oregon and its Willamette Valley. I couldn't be more impressed with the beauty and the hospitality we found at Youngberg Hill. I highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Oregon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Thanksgiving is a wonderful time and we are thankful you found us and had such a wonderful visit. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review and all your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    22
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
204
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Junction City, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We first stopped by for wine tasting last Memorial Day (May 2011) and were impressed by the owner Wayne's integrity - the Wine Association handbook listed the tasting fee as $5 and the Inn had a sign saying the fee was $10. Without missing a beat, Wayne told us that $5 was what we would pay. After tasting some delicious wines, we toured the property and were very impressed with the views and the rooms. So we decided to go ahead and make reservations for the following Thanksgiving weekend when we normally go wine tasting as a family for my wife's birthday.
We perused the website, chose our rooms and made our reservations. As we got closer, we checked back to let them know that my wife is vegan and I am a vegetarian for the breakfast. No problem. We also asked for some restaurant recommendations in nearby McMinnville that would be OK for our varied dietary requirements, and Lon quickly came up with 4 suggestions. We also asked if it would be OK for us to check in late, since we were going out wine tasting and to dinner first. We were assured that would be no problem. They also told us that the room my wife and I had reserved had a broken fireplace (one of the features we wanted), so they were upgrading us.
Imagine our surprise when we arrived to discover that not only had we been upgraded, we had been put in the Martini Suite, which is the largest, most opulent suite in the Inn, with a sitting room with gas fireplace, large bath with whirlpool tub, and a private balcony. This was a wonderful surprise, since this was a birhtday celebration for my wife.
The next morning was lovely, as the sun lit up the valley fog below us. Breakfast was delicious, and our special non-meat version was very tasty. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Since our stay included a wine tasting which we had missed the previous night, they offered to have us do a tasting after breakfast before we checked out. It was a very enjoyable private tasting with Jess who was able to give us a lot of information about the vineyard and the wines, and Wayne joined us as well. We were also very impressed with the thought and care with which the vineyard is run and its ecological practices. And the wines are top-notch!
We had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay and are looking to come back for future birthdays with our families.
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Wine tasting is such a wonderful way to understand the estate, our process, and the care we put into everything we do. We feel so honored to host guests who can connect to the area, wines, and experience the beauty of this wonderful estate. What a fun review. Thank you for taking the time to write about what makes us unique. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved the ambience of the inn. The sunset view from the deck, while we were enjoying our wine tasting, was gorgeous. The rooms are beautifully appointed with each room having its own unique charm. The most expensive rooms have their own private deck and the best views over the valley. The inn is about fifteen minutes from a good selection of restaurants. If you want to share a bottle of wine over dinner you would be better to stay in one of the neighbouring towns because a taxi out to the inn would be expensive. Our only serious complaint about our stay was that we found the bed very uncomfortable. If you are used to a very firm mattress you will be fine but we found the bed very hard. It was the only bed on our two week trip that left us with sore backs and necks. We were so uncomfortable after one night we asked to switch rooms but all the beds have the same mattresses. We could have dealt with the bed but the pillows were like sleeping on bricks. My husband could not turn his head for two days after our stay. Most of the other hotels on our Oregon trip, including the inexpensive chains, offered a choice of pillows from firm to soft. It may seem like a minor complaint but it ruined our sleep for the two nights we stayed there. Breakfast, while alright, was not up the standard I would expect from an inn of this quality. We also found it a little annoying to have to wait until 9 am for breakfast to be served. The breakfast menu changes daily so perhaps if we had hit another day in the schedule we might have been more impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
It is unfortunate that this guest did not sleep well. We have never had feedback that our beds are too firm. In fact, most guest compliment us on the beds and want to know the make of the matress so they can purchase it for thier own homes. We were unaware that there was a pillow issue, but we do have down/feather pillows for those looking for a softer pillow. I am very sorry we could not meet her needs but will continue to monitor the feedback on the mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. The location is very nice and I would agree with the other reviews that the views are gorgeous and the rooms are well appointed. We stayed in the Jura room and it was spacious and looked out onto the vineyard and long driveway leading up to the place. We were warmly welcomed and well looked after. However, the first morning we were served with a breakfast made up of a small bowl of fruit and a very sweet lemon mini muffin. We were then given a plate with a herbed french toast topped with cheese and a tomato sauce along side was a potato mixture in a very spicy hot sauce and a thin sausage patty. It was awful, it looked awful, tasted worse and I wondered, why would anyone serve this to a human being. Our next morning breakfast was equally bizarre. We were served poached pears and a banana loaf slice which was OK but the next course was two egg yolks floating on egg white meringue sitting on top of a herbed falvored english muffin with two very over cooked bacon pieces. It was like looking at two yellow eye balls with the meringue being the whites of your eyes. I don't know what other people eat at home but this is not what I consider gourmet breakfasts and at 270 dollars a night I expected a decent breakfast not something this strange and unappetizing. As a last comment, we participated in the evening wine tasting and it was informative and we enjoyed the wines. However, I noted that the same wine glass was used to pour multiple wines into. Pride in your wines would dictate that separate glasses be used for the different wines given the vintage, year and type. I had wine poured into my wine glass when I still had wine left in my glass. Given the high pricing of the Willamette Valley wines more care should be given to this detail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We are surprised at this review as the couple seemed very pleased during their stay. We regularly ask our Inn guest questions during their stay so we can better serve them while they are here. If we had known their was an issue with any breakfast, we would have gladly made something specific to her needs. The breakfasts mentioned are both ones guest consistently rave about. We appreciate the feedback and will keep in mind as we review our breakfast menus again this winter.

Her comments about the wine glasses was equally surprising as tasting rooms across OR, CA, and even France typically use the same glass for a wine tasting. Our tasting room uses Reidel Oregon Pinot Noir wine glasses that are designed specifically for tasting Pinot Noir.
We are sorry that we did not meet this guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently spent a night in the Gamay room at Youngberg Hill Inn. It began with a beautiful ride up the long driveway, past the grapevines, to the Inn on top of the hill. The views are gorgeous! Becky, the Innkeeper, met us at the door and immediately made us feel welcome and at home. Our room was lovely and just as pictured. We headed into the livingroom where Wayne, owner and winemaker, was doing a wine tasting for the guests. Don't miss this. I learned so much about the variations in growing grapes and just how elevation or direction to the sun can change the taste. He was educational and entertaining, not to mention, that he makes a darn good botte of wine! We loved hanging out on the huge deck and being greeted by dogs, Holly and Dale and Truffles the cat. They don't serve dinner at the Inn, but Becky offered some good suggestions for places to dine. The night was so quiet and peaceful and we awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the foggy valley below. We had a nice time chatting with other guests over a delicious, hot breakfast. I am sorry that we were only able to manage one night at Youngberg Hill as it was a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
While the views and Inn are wonderful we are especially proud of the vineyard and wines we produce. In the last 9 years we have taken the vineyard and lovingly expanded the acreage. We now offer our beautiful estate Aspen Block Pinot Gris and next year the Camelot Block Pinot Noir will be on full production. We changed all vineyard practices to fully organic in 2005 and have been certified Salmon Safe and LIVE. We are proud of how we take care of the land, grapes, and our guests. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about us and your experience. Your support helps us continue doing what we love so much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I did not stay here, but I was invited to a wedding. This place was amazing. The views were spectacular. These people know how to throw a beautiful wedding. Plenty of room for a party of 60 or so. You could probably pack more in on the top of the hill, but it was comfortable with around 60. It was going to be a little warm that day, so they brought out fans with misters under the tent. That was sweet. You're always going to remember where you got married. This would be a great memory to relive every year. The bridge and groom said the stay at the Inn was fantastic. There was just so much good to this place, I can't write it all.

The only bad thing I could even say is they have bees. They weren't even much of a nuisance. But, it was advertised that bees apparently hover around the premises, and they said to bring fabric softener sheets and keep them in your pocket. I didn't have a dryer sheet, and I wasn't bothered by the bees.

Top notch place. You will not be disappointed. Unless you don't like awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Weddings are fun and we have fun hosting them. Eight lucky couples get to stay at the Inn overnight so we get to pamper them a bit more than those who come for the wedding and reception. It’s great to hear from you about your experience and thank you for writing. Insects are a part of all farms and we do take steps in keeping them in the vineyard and not up on top of the hill where the weddings are.

Now that you got a taste of Oregon’s Wine Country, come back and stay with us for a getaway so we can pamper you more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

DH and I stayed in the Jackson room for 1 night last week while doing a one week trip in Oregon. The inn is lovely - beautiful view and we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet the location afforded. The room was very nice with a balcony off off the seating area. The journal and family album of events added a personal touch to the stay. Loved having the dogs and resident cat escort us around the property and I can see why so many weddings are held here with the views the wedding site affords. The wine tasting was a treat and having the honor bar where we could get a couple of glasses of the Pinot Noir and take it to our room later that evening was also nice. Breakfast was very nice with Baked Eggs that were very good.

Now if they could only figure out a way to have dinner on site to avoid the drive down the hill!

By-the-way - we don't recommend La Rambla (see review).

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolette10660, Owner at Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
The Jackson Suite is beautiful and we are so glad you had the chance to stay with us. We work hard to meet all our guests’ needs and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all that we offer. Come back soon and stay longer. We would love to help you see everything in Oregon's Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn

Address: 10660 SW Youngberg Hill Road, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oregon’s premier wine country estate and one of Wine Spectator’s favorite locations; set on a 50 acre hilltop surrounded by vineyard. We have an amazing 24 year old vineyard that is farmed organically. We are well known for producing award winning Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris wines. As passionate farmers and winemakers we are thrilled to share, educate, and talk wine. The Inn provides the perfect winery, getaway, and wedding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youngberg Hill Vineyards Hotel Mcminnville
Youngberg Hill Vineyards And Inn
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn McMinnville, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.