We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
809 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 94751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was looking for something special and this truly turned out to be more than I expected. Jacque greeted us as we arrived. He showed us all around the house. Liz greeted us as well. Furnishings are beautiful! Our room reminded us of France and it brought back wonderful memories. Our room was small but very cozy and not on the street side. Breakfast the next morning, blueberry promegranate juice, fromage blanc with fresh berries, homemade croissants and jam, and an ostrich egg truffle quiche. We felt very spoiled and pampered! Jacque spent a lot of time talking with my husband regarding the remodling of the kitchen. We felt like we were at home. Looking forward to going back in the spring. It is a "must do" experience. Jacque has won many culinary awards and you need to check this out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
193
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in November; location to downtown McMinnville is perfect. Room was very comfortable and bathroom great! Our volcano tomato breakfast was outstanding. However; in spite of all the positive TA reviews, here's some honesty:
1. Our welcome snack was Hershey chocolate bar, not a warm cookie or a glass of wine (aren't we in wine country?)
2. The recommendations for restaurants seemed canned & rushed. We asked about Thai food & received a shrug, so we found it, and enjoyed, on our own.
3. Selling of truffle salt & oil is overly intrusive. In the end, we bought same, but there is no polite way to escape the sales pitch at breakfast.
4. While many people like dogs, we aren't two of them, and wish we had been told when I made the reservation, by phone, that a dog lived on premises and inhabited common area.
5. Owner, Jacques, hovered as we signed credit card (including tip) authorization. I don't mean he was in vicinity; I mean he stood and watched. I prefer to leave housekeeping tip, in cash. Mark felt pressured to do otherwise + overtipped, because we bought the salt/oil.
To end on a positive note, the breakasts were some of the best, beautiful dining decor, and we were served 1/2 hour early one morning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

TripAdvisor really did not let us down on this Bed and Breakfast. While visiting Oregon's wine country we wanted to stay at a cute B&B and A'Tuscan Estate was everything we could have wanted and more. Very accommodating, the decor is fabulous, the tinniest room still seemed to feel comfortable and inviting and don't get me started about Jacques cooking. The breakfast was superb. We woke up feeling refreshed and well taken care of. If you are visiting Oregon stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you feel like treating your self to a culinary and hospitality experience extraordinaire, then don't miss staying with Liz and Jacques. The rooms were tastefully decorated, beds luxurious and the breakfast exquisite! What more can I say? Oh, Did I mention that Jacques is a trufficulteur? But don't take my word for it- just book for yourself!

Dave and Sue C, Victoria, BC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Amazing B&B that is delightful! We are Portlanders (Oregon) who had invited our Maryland friends to come stay for a wine tasting adventure. The Craftsman Annex proved to be everything we expected and more. It's all in the details with coffee makers having been water-filled and coffee pre-measured for our morning enjoyment. All we had to do was push the button! Oh and there was milk awaiting in the refrigerator for those of you who don't drink your coffee black. . . And Jacques' "legendary" breakfasts are that and more. Liz is a fabulous hostess who is obviously highly skilled in the hospitality arena. Don't depart without one of Jacques' book and black truffle oil!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to tour Oregon Pinot country and choose the A-Tuscan as our B&B. HIGHLY recommend staying here! Service is beyond 5 star, the breakfast food is gourmet and the entire feel of the estate is very eclectic homey and yet luxurious. We stayed in the suite and it was huge! Liz even started a fire for us on our second night in our room for ambiance before we got there as we asked. A must stay. (We wanted to kidnap their dog Maliki, she is adorable!)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It's hard to imagine this as a B&B. We greeted by Malik's barking on arrival. Jacques let us in like an old friend. Our room was upstairs (Portofino) facing the street. After unpacking, we walked to the main part of town to look around and have dinner. We stopped in a wine tasting room on the main drag. Jacques had suggested a Spanish restaurant, but guy at the tasting room suggested a South American restaurant right across the street. We went there an it was really good.

We slept with the window open and there was very little road noise to disturb our rest. The next morning we had our gourmet breakfast prepared by Jacques. We have eaten at many fine restaurants and this meal could match any of them. The main dish was a "volcano", a baked tomato with cheese filling. We were told that we would have to stay more than two weeks before the menu is repeated.

We told Liz that we were planning to visit the Spruce Goose and wanted suggestions for wine tastings. She gave us a discount ticket for the Evergreen Museum, where the Spruce Goose is housed, and free wine tastings at several wineries in the area. Tastings are $10 per person and we stopped at three, so we saved $60. If we had known, we wouldn't have stopped at the tasting room in McMinnville.

The next morning our main dish was a quiche made with an ostrich egg and black truffles. Suffice it to say that the next time we're in the area, we would stay here just for the breakfast. Actually, this stay was better than staying with old friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Portofino Room and we thought it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 809 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 94751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
A' Tuscan Estate Bed And Breakfast McMinnville, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.