We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial River Co.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maupin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imperial River Co.
304 Bakeoven Road, Maupin, OR 97037   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The company I work for has had our annual Manager's Retreat at this place the past two years in a row. What a fantastic place! The rooms have different names and have no tv's or phones, but plenty of books to read (and Wifi so you don't feel completely cut off from the outside world). There are journal books in each room where guests can write comments about their stays, and it was fun to come back this year, and read some of our own reviews from last year! The staff treated us so well - - and the food --- FANTASTIC!!! The steaks melt in your mouth, the desserts were to die for, and although dinner service was a little slow, it was worth the wait (and we were a pretty large party). The river running by adds a nice amibiance to the experience.

I was a little amibivilent the first time we were told we were going there, as it was chosen as an alternative to Kah-nee-tah, where'd we'd grown tired of. Let me say, there was NO comparison. Lovely place, even though we were there during the off-season.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have decks, which are nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    41
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
42
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We always come in December every year, for company appreciation dinner/stay. Nice Get-Away, no tv, no telephone! Modern facility on the banks of the Deschutes....what else does a person need?????????????!?????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A hidden oasis in Maupin, on the Deschutes River. Comfortable, homey rooms with no phones or TVs, just relax and enjoy. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The continental breakfast was more that expected. The meals we enjoyed in the dining room were very tasty and served with attention to detail. We look forward to bring our famiy in the summer for a rafting adverture!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It makes for such a better fishing trip if you can hit the Imperial after a day of steeheading on the D. A hot shower, a cold beer, a meal, gets you ready to get after it the next day.

Easy to park the boat. The breakfast room is open early so you can grab a bite to eat before putting the boat in the dark. Coffee maker in the room to get you going. Fridge to keep your beer cold.

We got in late and they just put the card in the door for me. We had to hit the Double Mountain brewery on the way over.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms were fine, except for the ones located immediately across the walkway from four air conditioning units. Bar service was fine. Front desk service was below average...basically going through the motions and indifferent as to customer needs or desires. Fire pit was not working, but looked like an interesting gathering place. Nice lawn out to the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are looking for peace and quiet I would suggest not staying in any of the rooms over the restaurant or bar. These rooms have terrible sound proofing so you hear dinner conversations and music from the restaurant until 10 or eleven o'clock at night. The staff is OK. I believe they could use better training though. It would be nice that when checking in the desk person would tell you where the room is located so that you don't have to ask housekeeping. Some of the waitresses seem to be well versed in service while others do not seemed to have been trained properly as to refill beverages, clear empty plates, and as to all items on the menu. The property is outstanding and being able to walk to to the river from the back lawn is great.

Room Tip: Do not get a room over the restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Cattle Baron room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very relaxing after two weeks touring. Lovely to sit on the balcony to enjoy the view and the peace. Room very spacious and comfortable, lots of storage space. We thought the breakfast was disappointing though as it was supposed to be a deluxe breakfast but wasn't, and the breakfast room wasn't very congenial. But that's our only complaint, though I was disappointed that the beautiful rolltop desk shown in the video on the website was no longer there.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are very light with high vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial River Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial River Co.

Address: 304 Bakeoven Road, Maupin, OR 97037
Location: United States > Oregon > Maupin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Maupin
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial River Company isn’t just a place; it is a state of mind. And our motto proves it.…Actively relaxing on the banks of the Deschutes River. Whether you have come out for the whitewater rafting, fishing, hunting, hiking, cycling, scenery, or to just get away from the big city for a weekend of relaxation and sun (we average 300 days of sun a year), Imperial River Company can more than help. Nestled directly on the banks of the Deschutes River, we are ideally situated to provide you with a relaxing environment and scenic views of the river with over 1/4 mile of river frontage. While we may be known for our beautiful lodge, scrumptious food, professionally guided whitewater rafting trips, and pheasant and chukar hunting adventures, we strive to provide more. Excellent service and a relaxing atmosphere make your stay with us that much more enjoyable. Look no further than our open-flame fire pit in our courtyard during the evenings where our guests relax and talk of the day’s successes. Come out and enjoy the best that Central Oregon has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Imperial River Co. Hotel Maupin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial River Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Imperial River Co. to your Saves list