We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Stay in Manzanita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Dune Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Dune Inn
428 Dorcas Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Good Night's Stay in Manzanita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were beginning our trip down the Oregon coast and did not have a place to stay for the night. The smaller towns like Manzanita were so much less commercial and had character, which is what we love. It was almost dark when we got there, and we were fortunate to find a room. When I saw the outside of the building, I felt a little apprehensive. It is an older, no frills building and the lobby was full. To our delight, the owner was very pleasant and more than helpful in drawing a map to all the best eating establishments within walking distance of the motel. Our room was old with some "different colors", but very clean. It also had a refrigerator and coffeemaker. Our bed was very clean and comfortable and the shower was great. It was everything we needed for a restful night's stay. You could tell that the owner took great pleasure in assuring that travelers enjoyed their stay in Manzanita, OR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We took a trip to Manzanita for the weekend for a friend's wedding. While the hotel was a few (4) blocks from the ocean, it was still an awesome place to stay. It's a little older, and the rooms aren't anything fancy, but the staff is amazing. Brian has such a love for the inn ... drawing us custom maps, giving us reviews of local restaurants, and accommodating our late arrival. The lobby is full (floor to ceiling on every wall) with CD's, movies, and books you can borrow ... The rooms were a perfect temp, beds were clean, bathrooms were really clean too! We loved staying there, and totally will stay next time we visit Manzanita.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the San Dune one night and we truly enjoyed our experience! Clean rooms, great hospitality, and a short walk to the beach. Manzanita is a lovely little town and this inn made our experience even better. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for an authentic coastal motel experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the San Dune for just one night, and found it nice enough to recommend it to others. We met Brian, a pleasant character who runs the hotel.

We stayed in room 12, which had its entrance at the back and provided us with our own private patio. It felt like our own place.

The room seemed clean, but the downside of a pet-friendly hotel is that the rooms sometime smell just a bit like wet dog.

The bathroom was a little rundown, but it was clean. The water pressure in the shower was great.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and restaurants in town.

We found this stretch of highway 101 to be expensive, but Manzanita is a lot cheaper than Cannon Beach, and arguably a much nicer town.

Room Tip: Room 12 has its own entranceway at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have never been disappointed in the many times I've been here. The sheets are ironed, the beds are comfy, the place could not be cleaner. The rooms are all different depending upon what you need and what's available at the moment. Some have kitchens, some do not. I can walk easily within a couple of minutes to the grocery and at least 3 places to get coffee and to the pub for a drink or the various shops and spas. I love the way Brian, the Owner, makes everyone feel right at home and that my dog can stay with me. This is a very laid back experience and NOT the Hilton. And I'm glad about that.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different ... decide what you need and ask for that. At minimum you will get a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We LOVE This place. Our dog is always welcome the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. For the price there are many many extras and accomodations. We love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The owner, Brian is so sweet (we did not get the chance to meet his wife), the room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. They have a great collection of VHS movies and board games that you can use during your stay. They have beach towels and treats for your dogs and beach toys for your kids to use. The quaint downtown is right there; the cute little grocery store is just about a block away, as well as cafes and shops. And the beautiful 7-mile beach is just about 3 blocks away! A great value for the price! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Dune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Dune Inn

Address: 428 Dorcas Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Also Known As:
San Dune Hotel Manzanita
San Dune Inn Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Dune Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Dune Inn to your Saves list