We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Dune Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Dune Inn
428 Dorcas Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Janesville, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly people, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the San Dune one night and we truly enjoyed our experience! Clean rooms, great hospitality, and a short walk to the beach. Manzanita is a lovely little town and this inn made our experience even better. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for an authentic coastal motel experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the San Dune for just one night, and found it nice enough to recommend it to others. We met Brian, a pleasant character who runs the hotel.

We stayed in room 12, which had its entrance at the back and provided us with our own private patio. It felt like our own place.

The room seemed clean, but the downside of a pet-friendly hotel is that the rooms sometime smell just a bit like wet dog.

The bathroom was a little rundown, but it was clean. The water pressure in the shower was great.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and restaurants in town.

We found this stretch of highway 101 to be expensive, but Manzanita is a lot cheaper than Cannon Beach, and arguably a much nicer town.

Room Tip: Room 12 has its own entranceway at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have never been disappointed in the many times I've been here. The sheets are ironed, the beds are comfy, the place could not be cleaner. The rooms are all different depending upon what you need and what's available at the moment. Some have kitchens, some do not. I can walk easily within a couple of minutes to the grocery and at least 3 places to get coffee and to the pub for a drink or the various shops and spas. I love the way Brian, the Owner, makes everyone feel right at home and that my dog can stay with me. This is a very laid back experience and NOT the Hilton. And I'm glad about that.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different ... decide what you need and ask for that. At minimum you will get a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We LOVE This place. Our dog is always welcome the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. For the price there are many many extras and accomodations. We love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The owner, Brian is so sweet (we did not get the chance to meet his wife), the room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. They have a great collection of VHS movies and board games that you can use during your stay. They have beach towels and treats for your dogs and beach toys for your kids to use. The quaint downtown is right there; the cute little grocery store is just about a block away, as well as cafes and shops. And the beautiful 7-mile beach is just about 3 blocks away! A great value for the price! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

A stay at the spa resorts has it's place, but the San Dune Inn offers something the new resorts can't. For one, it is a great value for a beach trip. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it is also not contrived or artificial. It's an old school Oregon coast motel but unlike some that have decayed, the San Dune is well maintained, clean and friendly. The owners clearly care that you enjoy your stay. Speaking of which, the owner Brian is genuine, friendly and full of inside advice on where to get different types of meals, drink a beer or wine or get a nice coffee. He is a pleasure to talk with and struck me as the type of coastal resident and business owner who is an integral part of the Oregon coast experience. The motel is situated one block off the main street so it's quiet but still central to everything the little town of Manzanita has to offer. They had some bikes and other beach-related toys that customers could use. We did not partake but did take them up on the extra towels to dry off our dog after a wet hike on the beach. The hotel is dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

OK, so we planned a last minute trip to the Oregon coast and the San Dune was the only place in Manzanita that had a room available for the entire time we wanted to stay. Being lazy I didn't want to book seperate places and settled for this little motel. That being said, we did expect a bit more, and a little less, than we got.
We spent 5 nights in a kitchenette room #3. The beds were adequate and the place seemed clean enough but everything was very old worn out and musty smelling. The old tiny couch had plywood under the cushins to keep it from sagging. The shower head in the bathroom put out more water than I have ever seen in a hotel but it was litterally at chin height and I had to scrunch over in the tiny shower in order to wash my hair. The kitchen chairs were a mix of metal stacking chairs purchased from Costco, no joke. The ladies might find it difficult to do their makeup in the warped bathroom mirror and the other one in the hallway had no light around it and was impossible to see yourself in anyway.
The owner is a very nice English chap who has all sorts of VHS movies to loan you and will give you advice on local places to eat etc. He is also happy to let you keep your dog with you, which we did.
As far as getting more than we expected, nobody wants to come back to their room and find a big meaty turd left behind by the cleaning crew. But I guess if you gotta go; flushing would have been thoughtful.
The price is way out of line for what you get even with the loaner bikes, free vhs flicks and no matter how much you might like Bryan the owner.
Cheers and good luck.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Dune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Dune Inn

Address: 428 Dorcas Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Also Known As:
San Dune Hotel Manzanita
San Dune Inn Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Dune Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Dune Inn to your Saves list