We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent! Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn at Manzanita

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Inn at Manzanita
Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn at Manzanita to your Saves list
32 Laneda Ave, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent! Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in unit 9 April 8-9 and thoroughly appreciated the accommodations. Even though it rained most of the weekend, we enjoyed our stay--the cozy wood stove, the view from the living room (and the deck when it wasn't raining :-), the comfortable beds, and tasteful decor.
And, we loved the little town of Manzanita -- walkable and shoppable without being overwhelmingly touristy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear HappytoSail,
Spring visits to the coast are often rainy. I am glad you took advantage of the wood stove. It really makes a difference, seems to take the dampness out of the air and does leave you with a nice warm cozy feeling.
Manzanita does have that small town charm, with a variety of shops for necessities and for pleasure that are all right up the street. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed Friday-Sunday on the last weekend of spring break. We had forgotten that it was spring break, so our choices of rooms were limited and the town was a little busier than usual. Our unit (5) was just above the office and right off the street. For more privacy and a little more peace and quiet, we'd definitely recommend one of the units furthest from the street. The entire place had recently been remodeled, is tastefully done, and felt more like a home than a hotel room, with little touches like a quilt on the wall and nice furniture. The unit was super clean and perfect for two people. The kitchenette was just right for a long weekend, as there are several nice little places to eat nearby. There is a pretty decent view of the water from the balcony, minus one of the other units (1) and a power line. But, it's a stone's throw from the actual beach. We really appreciated the covered, off-street parking. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and clearly take pride in their little slice of paradise. We'll be back for sure, just on a less crowded weekend.

Room Tip: For a little extra privacy and quiet, pick one of the rooms furthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello DD-PDX, that is not the first time the reference of "little slice of paradise" has been mentioned recently. We hope to make every customer feel that way with their stay in Manzanita at Ocean Inn.
Normally unit #5 is somewhat protected from noise, as it is on the second floor. Spring break week though, is a little louder than usual and noise does travel. I wish we could control that.
Thank you for all of the nice compliments, glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading all of the good feedback on this hotel on trip advisor I called to make a reservation because you can’t make them online. When I said that I only wanted to make a reservation for Saturday night they said I couldn’t because they would rather book both Saturday and Sunday. When they asked the owner if I could just stay Saturday they came back saying sorry I would have to book both nights. Before calling I checked room availability and they have a total of 10 rooms. It showed that 4 of the rooms not only did not have reservation for the day I wanted but for the 2 weeks leading up to that date all 4 of the rooms didn’t have any reservations. I ended up booking at another hotel. If you are looking for a 1 night trip to Manzanita better looks somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear JohnLH3,
I am glad you were able to find a hotel that fulfilled your needs.

Please know that Ocean Inn does take reservations for one night on weekends. Considerations are taken and exceptions are made under a variety of circumstances as the dates get closer to desired date of occupancy. Our policy is not uncommon and is consistent with many hotels of like kind, including a similar hotel in Manzanita.

We are sorry you are not happy with our policies and hope you enjoy your stay at the hotel you have chosen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a family friendly Inn, in Manzanita. We stayed in Unit #1 directly on the beach. The accommodations were very nice, excellent service and views were great. The only downside was that it was on Laneda and Ocean, which is the main access road and foot traffic which goes right in front of this unit, but still an excellent option for any small family or couple.
I love Manzanita, and found this to be an excellent option. I also think this would be fun to rent multiple units and have your friends/family come with you.

Room Tip: Try and get Unit #1 or #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Jarnzen, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
You are right, being located on the main street does encounter some noise from foot traffic. I wish there was a way around that. Unfortunately your unit is the only one where it is noticeable.
Renting multiple units at a time for friends and family is a great idea. The front building is set up nicely for families to rent multiple units. We have regulars who do just that. In the busier months booking ahead is the only way to get more than one room at a time in the front building. They go fast, some are reserved up to a year in advance!
Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will choose Ocean Inn on your next visit to Manzanita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ocean Inn is at the edge of Manzanita overlooking the beach. Several units have wonderful beach views, though not all units do -- be sure to ask when reserving. Our unit #8 was larger than #5, which also had a fine view . . . . with a kitchen, large high ceiling living room with covered balcony. Quite spacious. We really appreciated the heavy high-quality construction, since many Oregon coast vacation properties are built with flimsy floors and walls. Friendly staff but no one remains "at the desk" all night long. Manzanita has a long beautiful sandy beach . . . . You are right there!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Torla 42,
Being right on the beach is one of the benefits of staying with us. All of our rooms do have a view except one, and you are right, some are much better than others.

When we built the back building which has room # 8 and room #5 we had in mind that we wanted them to be spacious rather than having more rooms. A lot of people like the larger feeling rooms, and we are glad you are one of them.

Yes, unfortunately the office is closed at night, but we are just a phone call away any time of night. I do hope that you were informed at check-in that if you needed anything after hours to just call the office and we would get whatever you needed or answer any questions you may have had.

We thank you for staying with us; hope to see you again and thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my recent stay at the Ocean Inn. I traveled with my mom and my baby, and we stayed in #3, which is kind of tucked away in the oceanfront building but still has a really nice "peek" of the ocean. There is an expansive window seat which is perfect for watching the ocean.

At first when I saw the room I was nervous since there is only one bedroom with a sofa bed in the living room, but much to our delight we discovered that the sofa bed is really comfortable and actually suitable as a proper bed! I wanted to include that in the title of this review because I am sure some people have doubts since I believe many of the rooms are only one bedroom, but there really are two comfortable beds.

The room was immaculate, which is incredible considering it contains a full kitchen. The appliances were really new and everything was gleaming. My mom and I were impressed- since usually in a place with a full kitchen cleaning issues arise. But even the pots and pans were new and perfectly clean.

Location is perfect for this place. You are right on the beach, but only a short walk to anything in town.

Another big plus is the staff, everyone we met was lovely. I definitely recommend the Ocean Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Coastgirl1,
All of us at Ocean Inn wish to thank you for the nice review and to say how glad we are that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We are proud to say our sleeper sofas really are comfortable. It was nice to read that in your review, not many people believe us!

Having clean rooms is a high priority to us. Possibly having children in the room makes it an even higher priority. When parents have to worry what their children may be touching and if it is clean or not is not acceptable.

I am always glad to hear that all of the Ocean Inn staff was pleasant. Thank you again and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Some people have noted that cabin 1 is right next to the walkway to the beach, but we really enjoyed people-watching from the deck, not to mention the lovely view of the beach and sunsets. And after dark there weren't many people walking by so noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Wmleler,
We agree, the view of the beach and the sunsets are wonderful from Ocean Inn, especially from unit #1 where you stayed! The noise from the street is sporadic; it all depends on what type of people are visiting Manzanita on that day. For the most part it is not a problem. Glad it was not a problem for you. Your review is greatly appreciated we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn at Manzanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn at Manzanita

Address: 32 Laneda Ave, Manzanita, OR 97130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Inn offers you a unique lodging experience in the quiet village of Manzanita. Five miles of public beach just steps from the door of your suite tempt you from the shops and restaurants just around the corner. Ten beautifully appointed units, with ongoing remodeling since 2009, provide you an unforgettable lodging experience. You will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn At Manzanita Hotel Manzanita
Ocean Hotel Manzanita
Ocean Inn At Manzanita Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn at Manzanita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.