We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   114 Laneda Avenue, PO Box 1090, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off same day bookings
Ranked #1 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location and a friendly front desk staff. We got in really late on a Friday and they kindly left us a lockbox to get into our room. Equipped with a doggy goodie bag we were all set to go. It was a clean room with everything we needed. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
50
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean and accommodating. A towel, blanket, and dish were provided for our little dog. The weather was not pleasant enough for us to enjoy the inner garden but it was easy to tell that it would be lovely place to sit on a warm day. Lots of flowers. They were just getting ready to replace the siding so the next time we visit, it should look as lovely on the outside as it was on the inside. And we'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a single room, suite of 2 rooms, or one with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. This is a humble little place. I'd say recently remodeled. Very clean and comfortable. It didn't have a kitchenette, which is something we like. But all in all a very good value.
The thing that stands out is how nice the staff was. We had to change[shorten] our plans and they were very accommmodating and gracious about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed here in years past and have always been impressed with how super clean this very old motel has been. Not so this year -regrettably. While the exterior is in need of a fresh coat of paint the interior surfaces of the queen suite we rented seemed to have a layer of stickiness and slightly scummy. The bathroom sink would not drain properly and neither would the shower stall. The coffee maker and microwave were not thoroughly cleaned. The freezer in the mini fridge needed defrosting as ice at least 2 inches thick had formed.The sheets and bed coverings had washed - in stains. These items are not the worst things one could experience yet when the rate is at 130.00 per nite one expects better. While the rooms are just steps away from the beach they are not ocean view so one gets the impression you are paying entirely for location. Granted the rooms are turned over quickly in the summer due to high demand as there are scant few motel rooms in Manzanita- yet in the past the cleanliness standard was well above what we found this year. On the plus the front desk was exceptionally helpful and very welcoming. However not sure we will spend our hard earned money staying at the Spindrift next yr.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Martin9, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Chris, we are so sorry that you had this experience at Spindrift Inn.
While not a new facility, we pride ourselves on cleanliness and your experience is an exception to our norms.
It is unfortunate to read on TA about the issues you experienced. Please know that if you explained these while here, we would would have acted immediately to correct them, so you could better enjoy your stay.
Since your visit, we have defrosted the refrigerator, assured interior surfaces are clean and smooth, addressed the sink and shower drains. The Inn is scheduled to have the exterior repainted this Fall. In addition, to keep everyone warm and dry, the flat roof has been entire replaced with a new system this year, including the front widow walk railing.
Thanks for noting our excellent service and great location.
We strive to maintain all aspects of Spindrift Inn, and hope to earn your repeat business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We needed a pet-friendly place for an overnight at the coast on short notice -- which is rough in the middle of the summer when everything is booked and/or extremely expensive. We were able to book a pet-friendly room at the Spindrift just a few days short of arrival. It's an older motel, right on the main drag of Manzanita, which has its ups and downs. The ups: a great pizza place and donut/coffee shop right around the corner, just a 5 minute walk to the beach, quaint shops up and down the street to peruse. The downs: even though Manzanita is a small and "quiet" beach town compared to others on the Oregon coast, being on the main drag was pretty noisy, even mid-week. Our room was close to the street and the pub across the street was hopping on a Weds night. We were at the coast to rest & relax, and didn't anticipate a noisy crowd and a band playing until fairly late.

The room we stayed in was not bad -- a little shabby and the "kitchen" was minimal at best -- not even a roll of paper towels or napkins.

So this place worked for us on short-notice when we had very few options, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless it was the only place I could find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

what stands out most for me were that the sheets smelled sooo good, and the blankets were really soft and cozy to wrap up in. This place felt like a home, so much that we stayed an extra day not having planned on it! It had a couch, a dinning area, easy parking, its steps away from the beach and shops; I could see me coming back and staying a week because its like a studio apartment. Excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn for one night on our way down the Oregon coast. Luckily we called just after someone else cancelled because with high season and a 10K on the beach everything was booked. Spindrift is a 50's-type motel which is nicely updated and very well maintained. We got the small room which was, indeed, very small. The room is best for one person or two people for a night or two. I didn't see the other rooms but they look pretty nice from the photos. Spindrift is located in the downtown area of Manzanita, just a couple of blocks from the beach. It would be hard to find much better location, and Manzanita is a very pleasant small beach town, much smaller and quieter than Cannon Beach and many of the other coast towns. The managers just moved there from our hometown, and were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 114 Laneda Avenue, PO Box 1090, Manzanita, OR 97130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spindrift Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, quaint, great rooms, inexpensive, a great location, and the people are friendly ... that’s how our guests describe Spindrift Inn. This cozy 14 room cottage-style rural inn is just a block from a 7 mile beach in Manzanita, on Oregon’s gorgeous North Coast. Mountains meet the sea, surrounded by two State Parks, forests and the Pacific Ocean. In our inn you will find no smoking, pillowtop beds, some suites, some kitchenettes, and some pet-friendly rooms (call ahead to be sure). Off the highway, Manzanita’s small commercial district is nestled among cabins and cottages - perfect to park and walkabout. There are shops with trendy clothing, natural food, and several restaurants serving fish en papillote to authentic Mexican. And the connection with Nature is superb ... you can re-fresh, rejuvenate and be re-inspired when you return home. Or stay forever (we did). Come visit us ... then you may say: "Spindrift Inn might not have a lot of street appeal, but thankfully the rooms, cleanliness, staff, location and price were all wonderful. We’ll definitely be back again." Owned and operated by local families since 1946. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Manzanita
Spindrift Inn Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.