We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grat eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Wave Cafe

Big Wave Cafe
822 Hwy. 101, Manzanita, OR 97130
503.368.9283.
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Manzanita
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Big Wave Cafe is a casual themed restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. We offer daily specials with a focus on local, fresh seafood.
Roseburg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“grat eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good customer service. Understand sea food. Great sandwiches. Large groups O.K. Tasty, good potions. Fair prices. Sat. eve. busy, long time to get food. Also, clean and well maintained, Will be regular stop on coast trips.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    71
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a busy Sunday afternoon and enjoyed watching 2 very efficient waitresses at work. Unfortunately, they were not assigned to our table of four. A young man seated us and then forgot us for 16 minutes (we timed it). Our drinks were delivered and we waited another 10 minutes before our order was taken. The food was delivered in a reasonable amount of time by a second young man. He also brought the checks and got my stingy 10% tip, my first in several years. Looking back, it's likely that the management had not made clear who was assigned to our table. We all agreed that the food was well prepared and quite tasty. Better service would have earned a "Very Good" rating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Consistantly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family and me eat at the Big Wave every weekend. The service is always excellent. The servers are always pleasant and helpful. The food is always prepared as requested. We have had almost every item on the menu as well as the specials. The salmon is the best and the halibut special with avocado and garlic sauce is to die for. The prime rib is cooked to perfection. The raspberry vinaigrette dressing is a delight. Wow for the desserts. We look forward to our weekends because we go to the Big Wave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stopped of the highway and the sign caught our attention. We were welcomed as we stepped in the door and the great service never stopped. We met the manager and his mom (the owner).

The food was exquisitely cooked. We started with a green salad which had mushrooms and shredded carrot and was topped with a citrus vinaigrette. Delightful. I wish I could get the recipe.

I had seared scallops which were cooked just right - juicy yet firm, not rubbery - and so tasty. My husband had the halibut and delighted in the taste.

I highly recommend this as a stop. Food and service are absolutely great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Party of Eight - All Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great service! Razor clams were very good but not great. Halibut special was to die for! Scallops were super. No reservations but they accommodated us without a hiccup. No complaints and certainly worth a return next time we are in the Nehalem Bay area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Wave Cafe also viewed

Manzanita, Oregon Coast
Manzanita, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Big Wave Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Wave Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.