We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend at the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
8910 Glenesslin Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Peaceful, close to ocean.
Ranked #1 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend at the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The owner doesn't accept credit cards so we sent her a check. She sent lots of info about where to go and what to do in Manzanita and surrounding area, along with excellent directions to her place. Our room was at one end of a big house, with a bathroom and four season porch. There are lots of shared spaces outside; the hot tub, which we didn't use, and a lovely sunny spot to lounge and soak up sun. A menu was left out at night for us to choose our breakfast. Lots of food and well prepared. We couldn't see the ocean because there is a berm in the way, but it is only half a block walk. Very clean, very nice. Fresh matching bedding and wide screen tv with DVD player. I chatted with the owner a bit and she has the loveliest British (I think) accent. We felt right at home. This is a very secluded place. The other room shared the same porch with us. It was occupied but we never saw anyone.

Room Tip: We chose the smaller room and it fit us just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Lisa221aa,

Thank you for your kind and informative review. It was very pleasant having you and your husband to stay here.

I am very glad you liked the breakfasts and that you enjoyed yourselves here.

We look forward to your return should you wish to escape to the beach again.

Mrs. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved the peacefulness and tranquility of this place. We went for two long walks on the beach, which is only a few hundred yards away. The street is the last one in Manzanita and the Nehalem Bay State Park is right across the street, so it is a picturesque and quiet location. Breakfast was wonderful! We had oatmeal with bananas, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order -- all on lovely china, plenty of good English tea, but topped off by the fabulous Kolache. Mrs . Smigel kindly shared her recipe with us.

Our hosts have had quite an interesting life and we really enjoyed talking with them. We certainly hope to return!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Bikingoma,

Thank you for writing such a nice review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the peace here and that you liked the breakfasts.

We are also very glad you went for long walks on the beach and that you wanted to learn how to make Kolache. We hope it turned out well.

It was very memorable meeting you both and look forward to your return. More Kolache will be waiting for you.

Mrs. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are looking to get away to the Oregon cost, this is the place. Mrs. Smigel was very attentive to our needs. No cable or phone, but that's the beauty of it. There is a flat screen TV but video's only. We have been there twice just for the peace and quiet. Right out front, it's a short walk to the beach. Only 2 rooms so not crowded at all. Hot tub in a Japanese setting only heightens the zen atmosphere.

Room Tip: One room is larger then the other and therefore is much more roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Hector A,

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to see you here again and I am very happy that you and your wife like the peace and quiet here.

We look forward to your return.

Mrs. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while on our honeymoon. The quality of service was excellent--Mrs. Smigel was invisible unless we wanted to see her, and the peace and quiet were very welcome. She also makes wonderful breakfasts with quality ingredients and is quick to provide anything you need.

The bed and breakfast is right on the coast, so within two minutes you can be on the beach, and it's also about a two-minute drive to the grocery store (though there are no cooking facilities, which is a given) if you want a snack. In the Hiroshige suite where we stayed, there was a small fridge, sink and supplies for tea and coffee, so we were set up well for light snacks. The suite was very clean and quiet, even when other people were around, and would be perfect for couples and single people looking for a good place to recharge as they enjoy the coast.

We loved it, and if we go back to the area we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Hiroshige suite is bigger, but both suites seem quite large compared to a traditional hotel suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for writing such a nice review; it was a pleasure to have you and your husband to stay here.

Wishing you every happiness in your life together, we look forward to your return should you need accommodation in the future.

Mrs. S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at the Zen Garden B&B. This is the perfect place to get away from a busy life and unwind. The B&B was lovely - beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything you could possibly want. It was very comfortable and peaceful. We could even hear the waves. The B&B is located on a quiet street with the beach only a few houses away. You can walk down the beach to go to downtown Manzanita.

Our hostess was gracious and accommodating. A wonderful homemade breakfast, cooked to order with fresh ingredients, was delivered each morning.

We'll definitely be going back to this serene retreat.

Room Tip: We loved the Hiroshige Suite, a comfortable place to relax - with a bedroom, bathroom and a living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Clairesmi,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review.

I am very happy that you enjoyed it here and and that we could provide the kind of vacation you were looking for.

It was very nice to meet you and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Zen Garden B&B is located at the south end of Manzanita, OR, just steps from Manzanita's 7 mile long beach. It is peaceful and beautiful. Breakfasts are absolutely delicious and served on lovely china. So refined! The Hiroshige Suite is the perfect place to relax after an invigorating walk along the beach, or in Nehalem State Park. The suite has a large, comfortable living area attached, with a great selection of books and movies to enjoy. The hosts' hospitality make this our favorite place to stay along the Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Patricia G,

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to see you both again.

We are very pleased that you like it here and that you enjoyed the china and the beach and park.

We wished you could have stayed longer and hope you will soon come back to stay here should you wish to return to the coast.

Mrs. Smigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a nice place to stay, The location is good; you are not in the wilderness but you are away from the turmoil on the main street of Manzanita.

The Zen Room has pretty pictures and furnishings, very comfortable. The Bistro makes a sitting area and the view of the park from there is lovely. It is cosy for a glass of wine before dinner.

Breakfast was delicious but she does change the menu each day; I wished there were omelets every day, but we had them two days of three. We will certainly stay here again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Jane R,

Thank you for your review. I wish I had known you would have liked omelets each day and I would have made them for you.

I found that usually, people like a change each day but I am happy to make whatever people would like if I know in advance.

We hope you willl return and if you do, please let me know what you would like when you fill the food preference section in your reservation form.

I cannot promise to make everything people ask for but I will do my best.

So happy you like the location and the Bistro; we like it also!

Mrs. S



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
10.0 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 3 in Manzanita
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8910 Glenesslin Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Bed And Breakfast Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.