We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
8910 Glenesslin Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Organic, hot breakfast.
Ranked #2 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really lovely place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful two nights here; the bed was comfortable, the place was quiet and the food was very good. We went there because we saw the menu someone put on Tripadvisor and the shrimp omelets are worth going for alone. Mrs. Smigel, who seemed very pleasant to us, said the shrimps are wild from the Gulf of Mexio though; they are not local. She fries them in olive oil.

The weather was spectacular. It really is very close to the beach and we took fold up chairs (our own) and sat by a fire and watched the sun go down into the ocean. There was a lovely sunset.

We only left bcause they were full tonight and wish we had made our reservation earlier.

The Zen room is perfectly adequate; certainly not the smallest hotel room I have stayed in. The bathroom is very nice. For the price it is a good deal. Highly recommend this well maintained and private B&B.

Room Tip: The Zen Room is a bargain and so is the Hiroshige Suite if you can get it. Hiroshige might be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs S, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We are very glad you liked the shrimp omelets.

We are very happy when people enjoy the sunsets from the beach at the end of the street. A fire makes it most romantic!

We enjoyed meeting you and were sorry to see you leave. We hope you will be able to return and stay here longer.

Mrs. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After making our reservation we began receiving the multiple e-mails, (7 in total), with rules, etc.
and started having trepidations about our stay.

What happened upon arrival was unbelievable.
We arrived at the allowed time, (4 p.m.) and Mrs. Smigel (who goes by Mrs. anything anymore?) demanded to know who we were and see our driver's license - no hello or other greeting.

She said we could look into our room, but couldn't step into it. We asked why and she then told us to leave. We stared at each other in disbelief and she then said for us to "get out" and "I don't like you".

Later, we realized how lucky we were to be kicked out! We are 69 & 63 years old and have never been kick out of a hotel. We ending up having an amazing stay at the Coast Cabins - more expensive, but well worth it!

Do not book this place. Do not reward her behavior, especially if it is high season and there may not be other lodging to escape to.

Room Tip: Doesn't sound like there are any good rooms. Looking into the Zen room, it was super small and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear smnharris,

I am sorry that you had this experience at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast. However, I can not let guests into a room until they have provided me with picture identification and they have paid in full for their stay.

I am very glad that you found accommodation at Coast Cabins and that your vacation in Manzanita turned out well.

Mrs. Smigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Zen room for one night and had a wonderful stay. It's the perfect location and only a short stroll down to the beach. The room is on the smaller side but very clean and cozy. We enjoyed a delicious fresh breakfast in the bistro - with very punctual and friendly service from Ms. Smigel. The Zen garden is beautiful and if we were there for more than one night we would have definitely reserved the hot tub. Ms Smigel handles everything with quiet professional grace and provides plenty of space for her guests. We would definitely return! Thanks Ms S. !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Brambledown,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowlerville mi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the last two nights and it was perfect. Right next door to the State park which has a good bike / walking trail. Also 4 doors down from the beach. And about 1 mile into town with local dinning options.

There is also a wonderful sitting area in the backyard perfect for reading and relaxing.

Breakfast was perfect!

Location was Perfect!

If you plan to be out and about during the day in the area sightseeing and need a nice place to stay at night this place will more than do the trick.

We plan to return.

Kevin and Rebekah

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear KevandbecfromMI,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the food.

Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Beautiful, clean place; warm, spacious and quiet.
Breakfast was very good, fresh OJ, generous amount of eggs, bacon etc. and shredded cabbage! A Zen touch. We were surprised how much we liked that.
Friendly people and a really gorgeous, long, sandy beach just down the street; it seemed to go on forever. Wonderful for our walks beside the ocean.
Very reasonable and we would go there again.

Room Tip: Hiroshige is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Thirtyfivebirds,

Thank you for your kind review.

We enjoyed meeting you and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

We are trying to make sure there are healthy offerings for breakfast and we are glad you liked them.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were very happy with this one. Landlady was at the door before we rang; check in was pleasant and quick. Internet worked well.

Bedroom was large, comfortable bed, warm and clean. Living room was really spacious, very nice room, huge television, windows looking on the Japanese garden; some interesting structures and stone patios. There is more to the place than you can see from the street. You cannot see the ocean from the windows but you can hear it!

You can walk on the beach in a minute or two; great beach, very clean and scenic mountain at the end. Very nice sunset the night we were there.

Breakfast was served in our living room, did not have to see another person; much appreciated after a few days on the road. Eggs, bacon and stuffed crepes, my wife had the apple one and I had chocolate and banana, very delicious!

The place costs a tad extra if you only stay one night; they have discounts if you stay longer. We thought it was reasonable and were happy to pay it for the one night we could go there.

A good find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Donald A,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review.

We were very glad you could stay here and that you enjoyed what we have to offer. The winter sunsets on the beach are spectacular and we are glad that there was such a bright and stormy one the night you were here.

We look forward to your return should you ever need accommodation in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to the beach after work. I slept all the way there! I woke up when we arrived with the dark, fresh air, the sound of the waves softly breaking and all the stars shining. So many stars. We went through a little gate and up the path to the front door where the landlady was waiting to let us in. It was a very warm and cozy little room, the Zen Room. We ate our quiche and salad we brought from home in the Bistro and filled in our breakfast requests.

We slept so well, possibly because we consumed a bottle of wine with supper. We both had the bacon and eggs for breakfast, not very exciting but well cooked and the fried potatoes with garlic were really good. The fruit was tangerines, very good sweet ones.

We then made for the beach which was fantastic; huge waves and white spray flying off them like veils in the wind. Gorgeous. The little path to the beach is like the picture on their website. This is such a wonderful place if you like the beach. We walked for miles and hardly saw another person. It was sunny and warm, in January!

We had meant to leave but decided to stay another night and get up early to go back to Portland. Mrs. Smigel made us egg sandwiches and marmalade sandwiches the night before and we made our own hot coffee. We walked to the beach in the dark before we left next morning. The moon was still shining and the sea was steely, silvery grey in its light. There were two fishing boats with bright lights on the water like flames. Very cold but very romantic. We drove back to Portland through a lovely pink sunrise and frosty fields.

Back in the office by 9 a.m. and cannot believe I was by the lovely ocean only a few hours ago!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistletoetree, Manager at Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Seagullseaglesdeer,

Thank you for your beautiful review. Your description of the stars in the sky when you arrived is lovely, and also your sunny day on the beach.

We are very glad you could stay here and that you enjoyed the dark, early winter morning with the bright lights of the fishing boats; one of the great, romantic views of the coast.

Yes, we really are not too far from Portland. We hope you will stay here again.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8910 Glenesslin Lane, Manzanita, OR 97130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Bed And Breakfast Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.