We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Surf Motel to your Saves list
Sunset Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   248 Ocean Rd., PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

An older motel, but remodeled bathroom is nice. Kitchen well kept. And it's clean. You cannot beat the view! Waking up in bed in room 27 over the office makes you feel like you are right on the beach. Nice sitting area and small table. Good space. I would go back. Nice to have free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    178
    39
    16
    8
See reviews for
126
156
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tri Cities, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Once again, we enjoyed the stay. Memorial Day weekend was busier than the week after but noise is not a factor in the Budd Building. I appreciate that the facility has some rooms that are pet friendly -- best advice is to book those as soon as you have your dates. The rooms are clean for the most part -- baseboard areas could be vacuumed more often. Upgrades to other areas of the facility look very nice, we look forward to the upgrades to the Budd Building. We hope there will be bistro height table and chairs to be able to see over the porch railing. Metal artwork would be nice over the fireplace and would not fade with the afternoon sun hitting it. The staff from the receptionist to the cleaning staff are always very friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Manzanita at Sunsurf Motel. We enjoyed putting together a puzzle from one of many the office has to borrow. They also have games and dvds. Enjoyed the great rate, convenient parking, cleanliness and location.. right next to the beach. Next time, we will get a room on the ocean side and come when the pool is open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped in to see if they had any vacancies, and they were very welcoming. We have three small children, and a dog. The place was perfect! The ocean is RIGHT THERE outside your window. It's tucked away so you don't have a lot of foot traffic coming past your hotel. The beach is beautiful here, not overcrowded. We loved our room, they have done a nice job updating the rooms and incorporating new furnishings. Our room was quiet, and the kitchenette was just what we needed. The ONLY downside was when I went to shower at 10pm, and the water temperature kept fluctuating, the other hotel guests must have been flushing toilets or showering at the same time. But that one little thing will NOT keep us from coming back! This place was a smokin' deal, and our family is in love with this little town!

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor...they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. We stay in Room 27, which is a big room over the office with picture windows overlooking the beach. The room has a small refrigerator, stove and oven, along with a microwave. There are dishes and pots and pans. We haven't cooked, but we did use the fridge and we got instant oatmeal to microwave for breakfast. It is within a couple of blocks of a coffee house (The Coffee Shop) and the Sand Dune Pub, both of which I recommend. We rented a movie from the office to watch in the DVD player. The décor could use some updating, but for $150 a night on a holiday weekend you can't beat the location and the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice very beachy place. Great views and dog friendly. I suggest the Budd bldg. and staying on the second floor. They have balconies. In the Budd bldg. you can have a room with kitchen and an extra sleeping room at very reasonable prices. Check on the website for a discount coupon. You can get 10 or 15% off rates, depending on the season

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend this motel! It was right on the beach and had a lovely view. The staff were helpful in recommending places to eat. They had board games and magazines in the lobby for when the rain inevitably set in. There was enough parking and their pet-friendly which was great. The only thing I would changes is the design of the railing on the balcony. When you're sitting in the chairs, the wooden rail completely blocks the view of the water. Other than that, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Rd., PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.