We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surftides Lincoln City

Save Saved
You added Surftides Lincoln City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surftides Lincoln City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2945 NW Jetty Avenue, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Lincoln City
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not waste your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Dirty, broken refrigerator door, large crack in middle of bathroom floor, gas fireplace barely had a flame and had a thick layer of "dirt and dust" on holes where gas escapes. Loud plumbing. Poor quality towels and linens. Need to have a major renovation! Location is the only good thing I can say was excellent. Way too expensive for what you get or don't get.

Room Tip: Don't go to Surftides - find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Surftides Lincoln City, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for you review. Did not like reading your review at all, just terrible.

But it also why we are in the middle of renovating the rooms, since we started renovating we dropped our price on the older rooms significantly.

On our website the new rooms are marked as to what has been renovated and what has not been renovated.

We just started the renovation of anther 22 rooms, should be done with these in a month.

I am taken back by the mention of the linens as we use very high quality linens in all the rooms, old and new. And we are very strict about keeping them on a rotating par.

In either case we have been and continue to make the changes..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    146
    62
    28
    45
See reviews for
112
195
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I judge a place on its cleanliness, comfort of the bed, customer service, shower, and beach access. This place has great access to the beach, and we have always had good customer service. I don't even mind the dated, worn furniture. We have stayed here 3 times. The first was great, second time the fireplace in our room didn't work. This last time our room was dirty. There was hair on the counter, and table. The soap dish was dirty from the last users, and when we sat down at the table in our room, there was a dirty fork on the floor. It was quite cold in the room and we turned up the thermostat, but the room never heated up. The fireplace worked but was only for show it didn't put any heat in the room. The front desk called to see how things were and we let them know what we had found. They said they would give us coupons to eat in the restaurant. They brought by two vouchers for 15% off our meal and said a maintenance man would be by. We waited 30 minutes and still no maintenenance man. When we called the front desk she was surprized the maintenance man hadn't come by, she was very polite and offered us another room, but by this time I was done. We checked out and went to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Last year we stayed in Lincoln City for Thanksgiving & had a wonderful turkey dinner buffet at Surftides' "The Mist" restaurant. This year we decided to stay at Surftides for Thanksgiving because we had enjoyed the dinner so much. When we checked in, the front desk lady was raving about their new chef & how good the buffet was going to be this year. We were really looking forward to it. I asked if we were staying in one of the newer rooms & she said they were fully booked & ours was not one of the newer rooms. When we got to the room, it was nice & big & had a great view (and nice beach access without tons of stairs), but the overwhelming stench of ARMPIT was so strong I could hardly stand it. My parents were staying in the room next to us & theirs smelled like a giant armpit as well. It was a good thing I brought room spray with me, or else we wouldn't have been able to stand it. After awhile we didn't notice it AS much, but that was probably because by then we all had absorbed it & smelled like armpits ourselves. It was REALLY bad. We enjoyed the evening gas fire pits that were turned on, we enjoyed playing games in the lobby & having cookies in the evenings, and playing in the pool. But the room smell was almost unbearable. In addition, the Thanksgiving dinner was so bad, that really ruined the trip for us. The turkey was so dry, the food was lukewarm, the desserts were demolished by previous guests & not kept refilled, and the salad was from a bag. When you pay $20 for a meal & go somewhere for your special family holiday, it is very disappointing when they cut corners. None of us even had seconds. We just paid & left, very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Amazing place! We stay at Surftides a lot, because they have a performer at The Mist (their restaurant/lounge) named Brett Lucich who is the best entertainer in Oregon! Brett has a terrific voice, and he plays lots of instruments, including the piano and guitar, very well. He is super funny too! In fact, Brett Lucich is such a great performer that you can see him multiple nights in a row and his show is never boring, is always fun and exciting, and is never like any one you've ever seen or heard before! We are super excited to be heading to Surftides soon for a 6 night stay over New Years Eve, when Brett will entertain us for 5 nights in a row at Surftides. I'm also planning to have a big birthday bash at Surftides for my Dad's 90th birthday this spring, because Dad absolutely LOVES BRETT'S SHOWS. Dad is very comfortable staying at Surftides too, because of their fabulous staff and amenities. We are inviting many out-of-state relatives/friends to stay at Surftides for Dad's party this spring, and know they too will fall in love with Surftides and with Brett Lucich, just like we have. (SHhhhh...by the way, if you read this review and happen to know my Dad from Surftides, please don't mention his 90th birthday bash to him, cuz it's a SURPRISE, and you're invited!!! Good thing Dad's not computer savvy. LOL!) So, when you go to Surftides, be sure you catch The Brett Lucich Show at The Mist, or you will miss out on a very fun time! Hope to see you there.

Room Tip: The 2 room suites are a great choice for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I will start out by saying I have stayed at this hotel for over 15 years and in that time I have seen very little changes with the decor of the rooms. The furniture is worn out, the carpet is fraying and pulled up in places, the wallpaper is peeling, the blinds hardly open or close and I could go on. We normally stayed in the jacuzzi room, we loved the location of the tub right by the window but when you don't have enough hot water or even hot water to fill the tub whats the use, and this has happened the last couple times we have stayed. I have seen very little updates to the rooms except for the beds, they are comfortable, and from what I have seen they have updated some rooms. The last time we stayed out little wall heater went out and it was a cold day, it took 2 hours for them just to put another used heater in, in the meantime we are freezing. I have been so disgusted a couple times I sent emails to the management and they did make it right, but we are done. For the price they charge we would expect a more updated and in working order room then what we get. We now stay at the casino in a suite for far less then what we paid here and love the rooms and service, so be warned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORRENTO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It has been our first time at the Surftides in Lincoln City. At the arrival we received right away an upgrade (a balcony Ocean front room with a Fireplace). We stayed four days and we enjoyed each day with the soothing sound of the ocean. The room has been very comfortable, nice bedding which gives you a good night sleep and all the little extras to wake up to fresh coffee. The room has been very clean and the staff was very attentive. We used to pool only once as we were running out of relaxing time since there are many things to do in Lincoln City (Walk on the beach, visit the little store or commute to the surrounding area). A visit to the Surftides Restaurant "Mist" is a must. The Diner Menu has a good selection and is very reasonable. The presentation of the Food has been very good. Make sure you arrive on a Thursday so you can enjoy the one man live entertainment show from Bret Lucich; he is very Multi-talented and plays the piano and keyboards with his hands and feet at the same time and also his voice is a pleasure to listen and to dance to. He usually plays Thurs. to Saturdays; on the weekend get in early as it will be a full house will other local talents. It has been for us a pleasure to be at the Surftides and we will return in time from our Canadian Mountainess Vacation Area (Salmon Arm, BC).

Room Tip: Any ocean front room will be a good take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Surftides is our favorite seaside hotel in Oregon. With rooms and balconies facing the Pacific, the views are wonderful, and sleeping to the sound of the surf is absolutely soothing. The rooms are comfortable with all the amenities one could want. There is an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, as well as a small exercise room for use of guests. The restaurant, Mist, serves great breakfasts, including a German pancake with lemon and confectioner's sugar. The dinner selections are varied and we had the best salmon, with garlic mashed potatoes, that we have ever had. We stayed for a week, and enjoyed walking on the beach and in the downtown. Surftides is a place we will return to as often as we are able.

Room Tip: Ask for a panorama room on the north end, not a corner room, and you will have a view of the Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Surftides Lincoln City, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
thank you for your kind review. It is very appreciated...

it all really about the views, nothing better than listening to the majestic power of the pacific north west from your balcony as you pointed out.

Stay safe and travel well.

- peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surftides Lincoln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surftides Lincoln City

Address: 2945 NW Jetty Avenue, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surftides Lincoln City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque beachfront setting is the perfect backdrop for a magical getaway.Imagine a hotel that feels like a summer camp. Visualize a leisure beach campus that’s more than just a place to sleep. After all, lodging can be an attraction in itself, a destination that conveys a sense of a place, enhancing the traveler’s experience and illuminating the journey of where vacation or a weekend getaway might take you. At Surftides Lincoln City on the Oregon coast, the weekend is what you make it.Perched on the picturesque Oregon Coast in Lincoln City, the vacation begins once you pass through our gates and enter the hotel. Spacious oceanfront rooms and suites with private balconies and night-lit surf offer a soothing and inspirational experience for our guests. We have incorporated work from the finest local artisans to create an authentic regional ambiance that is the cornerstone of the hotel. Surftides Lincoln City offers a variety of onsite amenities and is a short walk to just about everything else . Enjoy the indoor pool and sauna which is capped by a graceful arching dome of sculpted concrete. Take warmth by a communal fire pit or tuck away in one of the outdoor garden nooks. Enjoy a quiet moment with a book from the hotel library and sit fireside under lofty timber beams of the lobby’s vaulted ceiling. Mist, the restaurant at Surftides Lincoln City serves comfort food inspired by the sea while the bar concocts nautical inspired libations by an open copper fireplace. Surftides Lincoln City is a family operated business that has been thriving for over 75 years, appealing to those who appreciate the charm and natural beauty of the Lincoln City's vibrant community and culture. Surftides Lincoln City is the ideal setting for a romantic getaway, family retreat, or a great adventure with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surftides Lincoln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surftides Lincoln City Hotel Lincoln City
Lincoln City Surftides Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surftides Lincoln City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.