We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean view and location is what makes this a better place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chinook Winds Casino Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Save
You added Chinook Winds Casino Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1501 NW 40th Place, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly Shilo Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ocean view and location is what makes this a better place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed on the Chinook Winds resort over the 4th of July weekend. The rooms aren't bad but can use some updating. Our room clock was probably from the late 80's/ early 90's. There was no AC and didn't like the paint job in our room. Everything else made up for these things. My sister's room next door had a wet dog odor. I did however like the location. Very convenient that the ocean is just there along with Safeway being up the block. Wasn't too impressed with the casino but you would think that with all the $$$ they make, the rooms would get some improvements. Not a bad Hotel for the price but did expect a little more out of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    85
    81
    57
    68
See reviews for
61
182
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Niles, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Do yourself a favor, if you don't have an ocean side room, stay elsewhere. The parking lot rooms are like a tiny cubby hole. I've seen bigger airplane bathrooms. Hitting knees on everything. No microwave, no refrigerator, no AIR CONDITIONING! Screens falling out of the window. Hairdryer was melted at the wall. The corridors to the rooms have four doors at the end for four rooms, the doors are very heavy, so when housekeeping comes through, they slam hard and loud...repeatedly. Construction going on all day today. Parking lot confusing, have to go around and around. Hotel is 40+ years old and not connected to the Casino. Room service is good though. Location is better than other areas. Bed is comfortable. There's just no reason they should call this hotel a resort. Maybe it's better on the ocean side. When I called to book the room, I asked the lady if the room was noisy (since it was on the parking lot side). She copped an attitude and said, "I don't know". I told her I'd like to be away from a lot of noises and she was no help. She told me there were other hotels in the area. Unfortunately, I found none with vacancy or I'd have gone there. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Only stay ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went back to this casino hoping it had improved. It has not. The variety of machines is average, staff unfriendly, Players Club give nothing, restaurant not worth visiting and still, the machines are dirty and sticky, just not a pleasant experience. I finally gave up and just walked around to see if there were any winner. I did not see one person win anything to speak of. Watched a couple of bonuses and largest payout was $4. 85. Save your money, not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A clean but charmless hotel attached to a casino. Very poor sound deadening in the older south building. This is a place for a young family that may be short on funds and just need a clean place to visit the beach. The dining was mediocre, but not bad. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great location at beach, but the room we had was car from great. Musty smell at first(opened the windows to get air flow). Partly remodeled room which shouldn't be allowed to be used for paying guests. Room for is in dire need of replacement because of the numerous shoddy repairs, and the bottom of the bath door is falling apart.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is very old and in poor shape. The hotel has an outside entrance and across the parking lot from the casino. The door to our room was very old and had been painted over many times, and didn't shut completely. The walls between rooms were thin and we could easily hear people next door. The bedding and towels were clean and in good shape. The positive about this location is the gorgeous view of the ocean and beach access close by. This hotel is definitely not a resort in any manner, but the web price room fee was an attraction. Although the view was great and employees friendly, I will stay in a nicer place when I return.

Room Tip: Building C was centrally located and we stayed on 2nd floor. No a/c in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Was told we would be in a room with ocean view. we got to the room and we saw a cement wall in cars and another condo. yes we did see the ocean if we would step on the deck and look right.if we would have been told that it was a partial ocean view we would have gotten a nicer room with a true ocean view two hotels down for half the price. when we went to address the situation we were told it's an ocean view from the balcony that was never conveyed to us when we were getting the room. we went to speak to the manager the next morning and conveniently she was in a meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chinook Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Address: 1501 NW 40th Place, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Winds Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Chinook Winds Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinook Winds Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.