We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful view, comfortable room, a nice getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Coho Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Central Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful view, comfortable room, a nice getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We had a third floor room with a great view. Hotel was quiet, and the room comfortable in terms of amenities. Bathroom is tiny which can make sharing tough, and there is no elevator if you have a lot of heavy luggage or are traveling with adults for whom climbing is difficult. We didn't think to ask in advance, but all wanted the view so we just managed. Centrally located in Lincoln City, very nice staff and great chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven when we checked in! Though internet was free, we never had a signal strong enough to use our laptop in our room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    245
    79
    17
    9
See reviews for
179
481
28
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Missed having a closet with more hangers. Comforter slipped off bed at night. Had to get up to retrieve it and stay warm. Wished there had been a blanket on the bed so we could have removed the comforter. Hotel comforters are notoriously dirty and one of the first things I do when getting to a hotel is remove the comforter. Room upgrade was a pleasant surprise. Much nicer than the rooms belore. Missed having somewhere to put makeup and that kind of thing given the limited space at the sink. The continental breakfast was a nice touch and better than many we've stated at. Would like to have seen more variety in the fruits. Overall, a nice stay. Would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest U.S.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

First the good things: Fabulous oceanfront location. Very pleasant staff. Reasonably quiet. Close to very good restaurants, grocery, Starbucks & outlet stores. However: While this property boasts that it is a "smoke free" hotel, there are large nasty "smoking pots" located on every stair landing and at the entrance to the lobby/check-in desk. Seems they are only interested in protecting the new furnishings in the rooms, not really keeping guests from smoking as management goes out of their way to accommodate/encourage smokers. We smelled smoke often. Room decor is new but not the quality the website photos lead one to expect. The energy efficient bulbs take forever to really light up, making the rooms seem dreary and cavelike. The bed is NOT plush, it was tooo firm! The bathroom is very cramped. The fridge barely kept drinks cool...certainly not cold enough for food so we tossed yogurt we had purchased. Fridge also made constant noise which was very annoying at night. Most shocking was the too wide spacing of the railing on the balcony. Our 16 mo. old could not be allowed on the deck as she could easily slip through the rails! Cannot believe the railing meets code. The room was far too warm with no way to cool. No A/C no fan. "Free breakfast" was very disappointing. Too little, too sad fruit, frozen?? waffles. No juice. Nasty old green indoor/outdoor carpet on walkways outside rooms and narrow, stained old concrete stairs. Wi-Fi was not reliable.
New, more expensive "suites" being built at this time. Really wish they had put more money into QUALITY interiors with quality breakfast and real luxury linens/beds. Probably would not have been as disappointed if not for the glossy photos and "boutique" descriptions I found at the website. The only reason to return is for the oceanfront location and the pleasant staff. We really wanted this to be the "boutique" property we expected it to be! Room just not worth the price. For a property which is supposed to be "green" where are the recycling containers???

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2009
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at The Coho. We’ve removed the smoke posts based on your comments and will continue to be a smoke free establishment. In response to the furniture, all our pieces were designed and selected by Ankrom Moisan one of the most reputable design firms in the United States. All products and materials used are of high quality and I assure you that nothing on our website should lead anyone to the contrary. I apologize that you feel that it was not as you expected. All the bathroom light bulbs have been replaced effective September 11th since the previous energy efficient bulbs as you stated were too dim. The refrigerators are also energy efficient and are usually set to low settings to conserve energy. We again apologize that this was an inconvenience for you. We did have our maintenance engineer check and the fridge was left on the low setting. Adjusting the unit typically will take 10 minutes for the unit to cool. The railings on our property are within code and I would suggest a patio unit or a south end unit with a large picture window if our balcony units do not fit your needs. Our property began a multi million dollar renovation early this year and we are still in process of making many exciting new changes. Some of these changes include 14 new oceanfront luxury suites with jetted tubs. We will also be expanding our lobby, adding a community park, fire pits, and continuing to add additional touches to our newly renovated property. We thank you for again your comments and assure you that future patrons of The Coho will appreciate you for it.

Rob Lee
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This is a nice, clean hotel that has been upgraded with modern amenities and gives you a great view of the beach and ocean. The staff is courteous and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had family who recently stayed here when coming in from out of town. So we got to play tourist with them.

The remodel is stunning! Completely different than the Coho that I remember.

The staff are all friendly. The front desk girl, Megan, that helped us, was very helpful. She helped recommend some great restaurants that everyone enjoyed, pointed out some "touristy" things for everyone to enjoy, and did a great job of trying to get us to stay at the hotel, even though we live just down the street!

All in all, if we ever move out of town and come back to visit, this hotel would be amongst our top choices!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

On a whim, we stopped at Lincoln Beach and found Coho Oceanfront Lodge. We had checked different lodging options along the beach but this one was the clear choice. Each time I checked the front office, room, and rates.....but none compared. We ended our evening with a beautiful view of the Pacific Coast from a tastefully decorated modern oceanfront room for an affordable price. The front desk was pleasant and incredibly helpful. If we ever return, we will go immediately to the Coho Oceanfront Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Remember that story about the little train that could? Well this is the hotel version! This is an older building that has had a lot of remodel money spent on it. We stayed in the "Family Suite" - ground floor, separate room for the kids, private patio, we even brought our dog. The room was very clean, the furnishings appeared almost brand new, but it was a lot smaller than the pictures made it look. Out the patio door is a small well kept lawn area and then the ocean - over a 100 foot cliff! This is another thing we didn't pick up from the pictures, if our kids were smaller we would have been uncomfortable letting them out the patio door. The staff was friendly, the coffee was good, the continental breakfast was adequate if you're not looking for much, all in all it was a nice place.

Access to the beach can be made one block south via a vehicle access street that dumps onto the beach for parking. Once you walk away from the parking area the beach was fairly vacant, and we were there on a busy weekend. Stay away from the parking area, we made the mistake of driving down and flying kites near our car one morning only to find that we couldn't move our kids out of the area soon enough - picture planned parenthood items and other "paraphernalia" lying around. The city should be ashamed, it was gross!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32” LCD HDTV’s, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.