We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New furnishings and kids' suite made it a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Coho Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland
1 review
“New furnishings and kids' suite made it a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We have young kids, so when we saw the kids' suite with bunk beds on the website, we decided to try it out the next time we went to the coast. The new furnishings (especially the new beds and carpet) felt great and just a refreshing, assuring way to spend a weekend away from home. We walked down to the beach which was convenient, and also flew some kites that were provided to us by the hotel. The indoor pool is a requirement for us (again, the kids), and having a fridge and microwave also made our stay relaxing, since we prefer to eat in and being able to bring milk, snacks, etc. is great.

We found the rates reasonable and will definitely consider returning to this hotel.

Also, having wireless WIFI seems to be a requirement, and I certainly used it. Also thought the flat panel TV and DVD player were nice, classy touches.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    246
    79
    17
    9
See reviews for
180
482
30
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I was seeking a perfect one-night getaway from the scorching 95 degree Portland heat. After speaking with a representative from one of the hotel booking websites, the gentleman set me up with the Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City. As I headed to the coast, it was painfully obvious that everyone else in the metro area was desiring the same thing-to head for the ocean air (my trip took three hours instead of the normal hour-and-a-half!). But the long drive and price of admission were completely worth it. The studio I stayed in was immaculate and modern, and only 50 feet away from the ocean. Best of all, it was quiet. It was also nice that breakfast was included the following day. I would recommend this place to anyone seeking a reprieve from the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

The best part about this hotel is the incredible oceanfront view from every room.
The Coho is an older-style motel type building that has been rennovated recently in a kind of funky-shagadellic 60s/70s retro style. The rooms were very clean and everything was obviously new, but seemed like it came from a different decade, which I really liked.

Rooms were basic, older-style square boxes, but with flat-screen TVs, fridges, comfortable beds etc. And the view! Sitting in the room watching the sunset over the open ocean was truly amazing. Staff was friendly if a bit eccentric. Breakfast was OK, continental style with mostly cereals and coffee.

The Lincoln City beach is fantastic, a long sandy stretch several miles long and a great place to visit.

Cons: I didn't see an elevator so access to the rooms was via stairs. Some rooms had balconies, but ours didn't, just a window.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great bargain ! New trendy decorations, very comfortable mattresses and new linens. Everyone was so polite from reservations to furnishing extra towels and wine glasses. Beautiful ocean view and best beach we experienced. Definitely the highlight of our beach exploration trip. Loved the arrangement with two bedrooms and kitchenette and bathroom was spacious and new. Great furniture and new large screen TV, though we didn't need it with the balcony and gorgeous beach. Would definetly reccommend to others and stay there again. Even the maintanence men offered to help us with our luggage. Thanks Coho staff!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We had an awsome time at the coho,The kids loved that thay had bunkbeds in there room, I loved how modern the rooms were and clean, the staff at the front desk was very friendly, The view breathtaking, Short walk to the beach then you have tide pools to explore. I would like if the hotel would have some specials like stay 2 nights 3rd free or somthing of that nature.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

The Coho Lodge is tough for me to rate; some things were very good and some things were .... well, not so good.

Let's start with the good. The view of the ocean from our second floor room was outstanding and it is quite easy to get to the beach. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are very nice. Wonderfully soft towels, new flat screen TV, gas fireplace, nice carpet, good beds with upscale linens, beautiful digital clock/radio, helpful staff, nice sauna, adequate pool and hot tub, and a new nicely designed bathroom come to mind.

The not so good. We had a two-room suite and were told that each room had a TV when we made the reservation. Not so; apparently this was a new employee error. Okay, stuff happens. While the bathroom was nice, it was really small .... just big enough to turn around in. The continental breakfast was pedestrian ... a couple kinds of cereal, toast, a couple muffin choices, juice/coffee, apples and oranges which all sound better than they really were. It was good that these things were provided, but don't expect too much. Plus breakfast was provided in a very small space so navigation was tough if there were many people around (there were).

The thing that I had the most trouble with was controlling the temperature in our room. It was 79 degrees in our room when we checked in and even with outdoor temperatures only in the mid-60's, it was tough to get the room temperature down to the low 70's since there is no air conditioning. It was necessary to keep the patio door and bedroom windows open to get the temperature down to about 70 degrees, which is kind of a max temperature for good sleeping (for my family, at least). With the patio door open, the ocean was loud. With the door closed, it was too warm for sleeping. The staff said that they are using some type of radiant heating from the walls, and it just isn't very responsive.

The rate for our room for a Mon-Wed stay was ~$135/night. Some of the amenities would have fit in a hotel costing significantly more and other parts of our stay made me feel like we were staying in some run of the mill Econo Lodge.

So would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Well, I don't know.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Here at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge we strive to be the best at what we do. I personally want to apologize to this guest for any deficiencies during his recent stay.

We are currently expanding our complimentary continental breakfast both in variety of food that is offered and the serving space. We will also be having a regualr wine social in the evenings beginning in July.

I also want to apologize for the tempature of the guest room during your stay. We alerted maintenance and had the problem corrected.

We just went through a major renovation and are still working out minor glitches. We hope your next visit will be more enjoyable with the amenities we will be adding shortly such as fresh ground coffee with french presses, upgraded room amenities, and spa robes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We recently stayed two nights at this newly renovated hotel. It is in a great location (a short walk to beach access) and has wonderful views. The rooms were beautifully done and all facilities were immaculate. The breakfast was also great. As the hotel is still continuing it's renovations, we had some minor disruptions due to ongoing painting. When I mentioned this to management on our checkout (after being prompted as to how the stay could be better) the manager offered a discount to reflect any inconvenience we experienced. We will certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32” LCD HDTV’s, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.