We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Coho Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family (2 Adults & 2 Kids ages 4 and 1) stayed here in Mid July. To be honest, I was fully expecting this to be a "paying for the view" type of situation where the room wasn't terribly nice but you got to enjoy the ocean. I couldn't have been more wrong.

We stayed in the Kids' suite w/ a Kitchenette. Here is a summary of my stay:
The room was really modern and contained a flat screen TV and had a PS3 in the Kids' room. The kitchenette was stocked with basic pots and pans as well as some silverware which was just awesome and also had a flat-top cooktop. The bed was a king sized bed which was awesome and comfortable enough for my taste. The balcony was more than large enough to spend some time on. I was expecting it to be rather small but it wasn't!

Maybe I am used to budget-minded middle-class living (so I don't get to enjoy Ritz-Carlton service), but the service at the hotel was fantastic! Everyone I interacted with was friendly and enjoyable. Even after having the "No Service" sign on the door I was pleased that housekeeping still called the room to make doubly sure that we didn't need anything. The front desk offered coffee for the french press, free DVD rentals, free PS3 and Wii game rentals, and free board games. This was awesome for the wife and I to utilize after the kids were in bed! We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. There was waffles, biscuits & Gravy, fruit, cereal, yogurt all available. It got a little cramped in there but it wasn't too bad.

Some of the reviews have complained that there was no direct beach access. I found this to be silly. It is literally a half a block walk to the hill/stairs that lead to the beach. This was a non-issue for me.

Now on to my minor (and mostly trivial) gripes:
The room is definitely designed for "older" kids. There is zero child-proofing in the room so we had to constantly chase the 1yr old who wanted to climb into cabinets and open the refrigerator. A little child proofing can take some stress off of the parents and avoid unnecessary meltdowns - which annoy everyone else.

The fridge is really small and has no freezer. A place like this is designed for multiple night stays. This will generally require both food and frosty beverages for mom and dad. The fridge was really limiting in this sense. A freezer is not a huge deal, but many people take long drives and being able to freeze the ice packs for lugging food home would have been nice.

The microwave was tiny and of little power. Microwaves are basically disposable anymore. There is more than enough counter space for a more powerful version. It took 4-5 minutes to reheat the leftovers from the previous night. Again, trivial complaint but would have been a nice touch.

Another example of how the room isn't necessarily tailored for toddlers is the balcony. The space between the vertical slats is more than wide enough for a 1-2yr old to slip through. I do understand that there is no good way to fix this without taking a little away from the view, but in a room marketed to families, taking a little extra precaution and blocking off 18-24 inches from the base would be helpful. I get it "Watch your kids!!!!", we do, but the buggers can be fast at times.

In summary, the stay was wonderful (4.8 cirlces?) but it would have been 5 if the room was slightly more configured to contain a curious 1 yr old.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Tim F,

Thank you for an awesome review that you loved The Coho. Our guests love our spacious rooms with kitchenettes and balcony for our amazing ocean views. Thank you for your suggestions and comments about our rooms which we will address. Safety for all our guests are our number one concern even little buggers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    245
    79
    17
    9
See reviews for
179
481
28
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Another great memory!!!
Kids and grandkids and dogs and sunny days and football on the beach and swimming and laughing! Great staff, comfy rooms for the price, easy access to everything. we shopped the outlet stores and ate in room take out and played and had a blast

Room Tip: we love the main floor
See more room tips
Green Features: easy recycle in every room, places for garbage and recycle and dog pick up
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Laurie S,

Thank you for your review at The Coho. We try to accommodate all our guests to have a great and enjoyable experience of all ages. It sounds like you had a blast with your family and we love hearing these stories. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Both ladies at the front desk were efficient but expressed no welcome as we checked in. At our departure we said we had an enjoyable time and would come again, but they had no reply to that. Just said-- here is your receipt.

Green Features: We saw that they eliminated paper cups and provided recycle baskets.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Drtouw,

Thank you for your amazing review of The Coho. We apologize that there was no warm greeting which is our first impression. We will address this with our staff members. We hope to see you again soon so we can show you we really appreciate our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Booking.com rated the Coho l quite high. The view is beautiful, the breakfast is good. I had to ask to get my room cleaned and the temp in the room was 80 and couldn't be adjusted. Price was too high for the quality of the room.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so it has a spectacular view, but the maid service and room temperature we...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very welcoming front desk. They made me feel at home.They do ask you to leave a sign if you don't need sheets laundered.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello Linda M,

Thank you for your comments. The Coho is ranked highly on the Oregon Coast in Booking.com and other travel sites which we are very proud of this achievement. I apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. Room service is provided throughout the day and you can receive service at a specific time if requested so you can have a fresh room upon your return to re-energize after a long day out on the beach or other activities. The cool ocean breeze does provide an ample amount of coolness to the rooms. Most hotels in Lincoln City does not have air conditioning and only a fan. Also, we provide an no additional cost, portable air conditioning units upon request to be installed in your room. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Hotel manager, Eric, can be reached at 541-944-3684 if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a family suite. We called ahead to see if we could check in early and the room was ready to go at 12:15pm! The staff are super friendly and are available 24 hrs. Our room was on the third floor and what a view! Gorgeous!! The balcony was good sized and had a screen door so we were able to listen to the ocean all weekend! The room was very clean and the breakfast room had lots of options! Biscuits and gravy, do it yourself waffles, toast, cereal, muffins, coffee, juice...not your typical continental breakfast!! The only bummer was that our side didn't have an elevator so my mom had to climb the stairs, but I would stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend the Coho to anyone!!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello travelready2014,

Thank you for your amazing review of the Coho. Our rooms do provide breathtaking views of the ocean and guests really enjoy having breakfast in our room or at our newly constructed pergola to enjoy the outdoor summer weather. We have elevators on our new Sunset suite wing. We would love for you to return and book one of our Adults only Sunset suites with King bed, jetted hot tubs and gorgeous ocean view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Clean and updated. Beautiful outdoor spaces to enjoy the ocean front views or a cup of coffee in the morning. Nice pool/jacuzzi/sauna. We found this place because we wanted to take out Boston Terrier with us. Our room was clean and cozy and they provided us with a doggie bed, and sweet little doggie bag for Bob Bob. Nice little touches that made our stay very relaxing. Great price. We will be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ocean front is beautiful. Bottom floor is for pets and there is a large greenspace for the dogs/kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello StaceyLynnsFarm,

Thank you for the glowing review of the Coho. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with Bob Bob and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As a travel agent, I go to many hotels, and I was skeptical about booking a hotel at the Oregon Coast (not a place known for either chain hotels or many upscale hotel properties). I was so pleasantly surprised when I checked into The Coho Oceanfront Lodge. From the check-in to the room, everything was fantastic. I can't rave enough about the excellent customer service - the front desk staff is world-class professional, kind, helpful, and engaging. We got amazing ground coffee in little brown bags for use in the in-room French coffee press and there was a large selection of wine for purchase in the lobby as well as many DVD's to choose from, the bed was SO comfortable, the toiletries were a good quality, the finishings in the room (tiles, carpet, artwork, etc.) were nice. The entire room was exceptionally clean. We had a family suite, and there was more than enough room for the five of us. The beach bonfire package that we purchased was waiting in the room for us as promised, and it was the perfect size to make S'mores and enjoy a fire on the beach. They also had fire pits lit surrounded by comfy seating up by the hotel to enjoy.
The only criticism that I would have is that the included breakfast is only average - it doesn't meet up with the upscale-ness of the rest of the hotel.
I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.
Please note: there is no A/C in the rooms, but with a sliding glass door facing the ocean, and with the fan they provide, if you happen to be there on a warm day - you'll be more than fine!!!!

Room Tip: The family suite is really roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello, micd5522

Thank you for your glowing review of the Coho Lodge! We are so happy we met your high expectations for our boutique hotel. We really love to provide a great service for our guests that come to visit the Oregon Coast for a relaxing adventure. Our guests are avid coffee drinkers so we wanted to provide the best Portland Roast coffee ground we have to offer along with our French press in every room. We have amenities and packages to suit all the needs of our guests with complimentary DVDs, bonfire packages, massages and other amenities. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32” LCD HDTV’s, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.