We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Helpful Staff and Wonderful Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Coho Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waldport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Extremely Helpful Staff and Wonderful Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked a room and massage at the Coho based on reviews from tripadvisor. I'm glad I chose this hotel for my Mom's 60th birthday surprise. I booked a suite and massage for her and both were wonderful. The staff at the Coho are polite, professional and very helpful. I couldn't be happier with my choice and will refer all my friends and family here in the future. EXCELLENT!!!

Room Tip: King suite was awesome for two or more people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It's so wonderful to hear that your mother enjoyed her birthday getaway with us! Our massage therapist are such an integral part of our spa and it's so wonderful that their services were well appreciated.

We hope that we get to see you and your mother again in the future so you get to experience the relaxation and amenities for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    230
    76
    17
    9
See reviews for
172
451
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Front desk was above and beyond in customer service! Had fresh cookies at check in along with a free selection of tea and/or coffee they had you pick out as you were checking in. They called about an hour after check in to make sure everything was good and to see if you needed anything.

The weather was bad, but if it was nice, there are awesome fire pits they light in the evenings that over look the ocean.

We stayed in the sunset suite with the fireplace and jaccuzi. It was such a nice room! Remodeled with a sitting area and a mini fridge, nice sink, microwave, electric tea pot, french press, etc... Very clean and good quality! Awesome view of the ocean and a short walk to the beach!

The continental breakfast was good, nothing out of the ordinary really. Biscuts and gravy, toast, bagels, cereal, waffles (you make), fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal with toppings, coffee, juice, tea, etc...

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic room, the Sunset suite is a really good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We certainly appreciate all of your excellent words about our front desk staff. The Sunset Suites are a wonderful choice for couples looking to get-away to the coast. One favorite feature of the Sunset Suite is it's location in our new adults only building, which adds to the romantic setting.

We do hope that you get to come back when the weather is nice next time so you'll be able to enjoy our fire pits from "orchestra seats to mother natures masterpiece".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for the first time last weekend at the Coho Oceanfront Lodge. What an amazing place! It is beachfront hotel that has undergone a transformation from the hotels on the beach that we all enjoyed as kids to a modern, welcoming and romantic destination. My wife and I stayed in a suite that had a balcony, fireplace, jetted-soaker tub, walk -in shower, and kitchette. We were WAY impressed. The room was very comfortable, quiet and relaxing. They had a welcome reception with treats, wine and massages the first night we arrived, breakfast every morning and a cool outdoor fire-pit area were we enjoyed visiting with other guests. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. We will be back again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an awesome beach experience.

Room Tip: The "couples-only" section are located on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Coho was nice enough to upgrade our room to a King bed suite with fireplace for our anniversary. It is an older hotel that has be refurbished. Great ocean view and location to town. The biggest negative was the bathroom. If you have heard the term "water closet", well this was it. The toilet and shower are in a closet. We kept knocking the toilet paper roll off sitting down. LOL The sink area didn't have sides and things would drop off. The ceiling made a lot of noise from those above. The sheets were not very soft and the bed a bit hard.
The good was the pool, spa and suana were great (Adults only from 9-11, Ou-la-la)! The staff were amazing with their friendlness. Getting DVD's to watch for free was nice too.
The price was a bit high for the age of the place, but overall really not to bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is the simple things that make the world of difference, such as the upgrade to a fireplace suite for your anniversary. Being able to cuddle up in front of a fire and watch a movie makes for a nice romantic evening! We do apologize that the bathroom was smaller than anticipated, we will make sure to get you into a room with a larger bathroom next time you're down. We are currently in the process of replacing any linens that are not up to our strict standards. We're delighted you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and we do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spend a wonderful weekend here celebrating our 45th Anniversary. The Lee family and their staff made us feel welcome on our previous visit and this time was no exception. Not only are the Sunset Suite rooms warmly and nicely appointed with sweeping views of the beach and ocean, the Coho offers a short drive to Newport and all the other wonderful places along the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must! The Sunset Suites are the best in our view with the Fireplace Suites coming i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again! We have to agree that the Sunset Suites are absolutely stunning; a great escape for couples! I'm thrilled you were able to treat yourselves to the romance package! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is an OK hotel, just not for $180/night for a small fireplace suite. We stayed there one night and we were both disappointed with the size and appearance of the room. It looks nothing like the pictures they show on their web page. The carpets looked old and the room just looked like nothing had changed since the 80's. The bathroom was particularly disappointing. It was no bigger than the bathroom in a low cost cruise ship cabin. The shower was about the same size as a phone booth and the toilet was crammed into a very small space. Also, there is no air conditioning only heat. We went down to select a DVD from the front office only to find a sign that said, "Be back in a minute. Delivering amenities to guests. ONE HOUR later the clerk finally returned! I don't know what he was delivering but it must have been quite a load. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The best thing about this place was a very friendly helpful staff (other than the male clerk we had.) We will look for a better deal someplace else next time we come to the coast.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
It breaks my heart to hear that you had such a unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. Many times the rooms that we help pair a guest with makes the biggest difference in how our property is perceived. It is quite apparent to me that we could have done a much better job helping you select a room that you would enjoy and I would like to personally apologize that we fell short. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make up to you, in the areas where our facilities and staff fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaan, Liechtenstein
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful hotel/motel. If you can spare the extra 20 dollars makes sure to go for a room with an ocean view. The view from our 3rd floor room was amazing! Everything was top-notch – bed, bathroom, general interior, … really nice!
The woman at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and made several calls to find out about eateries in town! We went for Kyllo’s at the Beach which was a great choice. We could walk from the hotel along the beach to the restaurant and back! Wonderful!
To be fair, I have to say that breakfast was average but it’s more than what most other motels/hotels offer.
So, thumbs up – I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else in Lincoln City…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
A lot of our staff are very familiar with the restaurants here in town and have wonderful suggestions. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 Northwest Harbor Ave., Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32” LCD HDTV’s, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.