We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, needs some help making it better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beachfront Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beachfront Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachfront Manor Hotel
2855 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 hotels in Lincoln City
Vancouver, Wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, needs some help making it better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our 8yr Wedding Anniversary. First, I'll list the positives...
--Nicely painted room. Decor was nice.
--View was nice.
--Hot Tub was nice.
--Deck had a lot of room
--Bed was nicer than we thought. We expected a soft bed, but it was pretty firm. Good for us.
--Nice sized HD TV and dvd player to watch movies.
--Private and was rather sound proof. You couldn't even hear the TV when the sliding glass door was open. We didn't really hear anyone in any other room.
--Gas fireplace. That's pretty cool. Fake wood obviously.

Now, the bad....
--no screens on windows and no screen door. this leads to...
--TOO warm. Climate control sucked. The remote for the fireplace seemed pretty cheap and the fireplace would never shut off. Every time we left, for maybe 30 mins, it got to 75 degrees each time. We had to keep the sliding glass door open to cool it off. We'd have LOVED to keep it and the windows open at night, but no screens so no go.
--Only one night stand. I had to use a bar stool for my fan. (at least the room came with one, so my wife didn't have to buy one)
--Sink, though nice and fit the room decor and theme, isn't made to be a multi-purpose sink. Too shallow and water splashed every where. It was pretty coo looking though.
--Room wasn't stocked with toilet paper. We had half a roll when we got there and had to call to get more. Kind of weird.
--Room was pretty clean except for the cobwebs. Especially on the ceiling. Plus the ceiling had obvious water damage and the paint was peeling around the edges. Woke up the third day and had a couple spiders on the ceiling. awesome!
--For the size of the deck, only had three green plastic lawn chairs. It could have easily used a table. They don't maximize it. If we wanted to have a drink on the deck, no place to put it but on the ground.
--There was NO handy TV channel listings like even the cheap places have. We had to guess which channels were what. And if you turned off the tv and turned it later (even a couple minutes), it would always go back to Ch.2.
--If you have an HD TV, get some HD channels. The channels were fuzzy because they were digital and not HD. If you have an HD TV and receiver, you know what I am talking about.
--DVD player connection wasn't "great". Had "wiggly" soft lines while watching movies. Since cords were hidden, kind of hard to try and fix it.
--Last, we had a lovely wake up call we didn't ask for...by the cleaning person on our last day at 9:15am. We were asked when we first checked in if we wanted maid service. We said "no, we'd be there often" and they said to just call them if we needed something. Well, we didn't call for the 9:15am. We heard the door unlock then a "oh sorry" and the door close and lock. We told the lady at the front desk and really, she seemed not to give a care at all. Like "oh well"....Not too cool.

Anyways, we did enjoy ourselves for the most part. I don't know if we'd recommend the place unless they made some improvements. We think the Starfish Hotel is the nicer of the two, but if they are going to advertise it like they do, they might want to pick it up some. All in all, it's ok but I think we'll explore other areas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    46
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
150
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at the Beachfront Manor for our honeymoon in July. It was absolutely amazing! It was quiet and peaceful. The room was immaculate and so comfortable that we even wanted to extend our stay. We were there over the 4th of July and it was a quick trip down the steps to the beach to enjoy the fireworks. After a nice fire with smores on the beach we went back to our room to continue enjoying the fireworks from our hot tub. They had amazing Bath & Body works hand soap and plush towels (two different kinds - one for the hot tub and one for showering) and they were very soft. The bed was extremely comfortable! We plan on going back at least once a year to celebrate our anniversary. Hopefully we can stay there at other times of the year as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

our favorite place to stay on the coast, great view and the jacuzzi is the best. Rooms are nice and very clean inside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I called this hotel because the beds are supposed to be soft and they are and for us with back injuries we want soft beds. I asked the clerk on the phone if they had a king bed without a hot tub. I explained due to my asthma I don't use them as the heat makes it hard to breathe. So we really didn't want to pay extra for something we wouldn't use. They had a double queen but that was all without a hot tub and she said there are a few stairs to get to it as they have no elevator. I booked the room as a few stairs is ok. We were surprised to find their idea of a "few" stairs was actually 56 very steep stairs and yes we counted them. Every single one. Do you think it is fun for an older couple to drag luggage (we weren't offered any assistance) down 56 very steep stairs and back up? When we left it was misting and these stairs are outside with seagulls flying above your head and their droppings around your feet all over the stair steps. The lady in the room next to ours was at the top of these stairs when we climbed up to check out and she asked us how we liked "the stairs from hell". Those were her words but we agreed with her and told her we'd never return because they misrepresented this to us when we called. Their website should disclose this fact to their unknown travelers and the desk clerk certainly should have told me what she meant by "a few stairs" especially when I'd disclosed I have asthma. To us it was misrepresentation by exclusion. I will grant you that the beds were soft but we returned after the room was cleaned the 1st night to find sandy footsteps from the door into the room on the carpet. Did these belong to the housekeepers? (They had charged our card 3 days before we arrived at the hotel so we weren't allowed any refund if we wanted to find another place to stay).

Having travelled down those stairs holding tightly onto the rails you'd expect to find something great at the bottom. We found a very dark and dreary room with really no window light and very dim interior lighting (sconces on the walls were the only lights in the room). There was a large front window that only opened on a small 12" high sliding pane below the larger picture window. Even with the height of your bed with no screens on them. Someone could easily put their whole arm through that window and touch one of the beds while you're in it asleep if you slept with it open. A child could easily crawl through it.

The picture window opened onto a walkway in front of the room and the neighbors walked by and waved to us. You step out the door and across the walkway onto your very public patio area on what looks like a rooftop of another building, all of which is under the ceiling, balconies and walkways of the floors above us. So it is all very dark on the walk way and the patio. This prevents any natural light going into this room. It gave us the creeps how dark it was even when it was bright outside you felt like you were in a cave. Their website mentioned something about this room being on the sand. It is actually a few more stairs down to the sand. (Those are in addition to the 56 to our room). We have stayed in other hotels in Lincoln City that are much nicer with a much nicer view and for less money. We felt ripped off and told the clerk we'd never be back. We said that at our age those types of stairs is much too hard on us especially with my asthma which they were informed of before we booked. It was obvious all they cared about was booking the room and getting the fee. No wonder the entire 2 day charge was run 3 days before we arrived. We personally prefer Pelican Shores, Chinook Winds, or The Coho. All nice, nice beds, less money, great oceanfront views that are bright and open with lots of daylight in the room and, a few stairs if you get a 2nd or 3rd floor. But certainly nothing even close to 56 stairs and none are steep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachfrontdianna, Owner at Beachfront Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Our website says "because it is "Right on the Sand there are 4 floors of stairs to get to this room" and they booked online. The hotel underwent a MULTI-million dollar renovation in 2007 on just 30 rooms. The decor is light and airy. There is a picture of the room right next to where you check the box to reserve it - so you can see exactly what you are getting. The rooms face the oceanfront with large picture windows to let the beautiful oceanviews and light in. We do have staff member available to help with luggage. I wish this guest would have said something during their stay about their problem with the steps. We have other oceanfront hotels in Lincoln City and would have happily offered them another room with elevator access or refunded their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I was thoroughly impressed by this hotel. The location was spectacular. We were in room 103, and we were about 12 stairs away from the beach. From walking up and down the beach, I'm convinced that this hotel is about the best situated in all of Lincoln City. But that's just the beginning. The room was lovely, the beds were very comfy, and the fireplace was wonderful (it was quite chilly, so we made great use of it!) And the service was great! We arrived at 1:00 pm, and the hotel has a 4:00 pm check-in. We thought we'd see if we might be able to check in early. Our room wasn't ready, but Nick said we were welcome to head to the beach and he'd call us as soon as it was. He called in about 30 minutes to say we could check in. Very accommodating.

The hotel was fully booked, but my husband and I didn't hear any noise from the rooms above. We had our windows open most of the time while we were in the room, and the ocean is just about the only thing we heard. The only complaint is that the balconies for the rooms on the first floor have no privacy. If every room was at my disposal, I'd probably choose one of the King hot tub rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors -- they are very close to the ocean, and have private balconies with hot tubs on the balcony! They looked super awesome. Still, our room was wonderful, and for the area it seemed like a good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our room was perfect. I had seen pictures, but it really doesn't do this place justice. The fireplace was amazing. The bed was so comfortable. The hot tub overlooking the ocean....breathtaking. We spent so much time on the deck, but you didn't have to in this room. Just open the window and sliding glass door....

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was a romantic place to stay. It had a great view of the ocean. You could keep your door open and listen to the sound of the waters or if you wanted quiet just close the door and it was very quiet. There were robes on the bed and rose petals and chocolate. The hot tub on the balcony was perfect. The room was cozy and clean. The building looks a little old from outside but the inside was nice. The only con if any was the bathroom was tiny. It would be nice if the shades were darker so in the morning the daylight wasnt so bright. But other than that the staff was nice and We will definately come back again. Oh and the bed was very comfortable. Better than many other hotels I have been at.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachfront Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Manor Hotel

Address: 2855 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lincoln City's "must see" on the oceanfront. This 30 boutique hotel will re-open with new owners and a complete renovation on 5/18/07. Oceanfront, ocean view, & non-view units - so luxury units in every price range. Hotel is right on the beach with direct beach access. Rooms offer pillow top mattresses, upgraded linens & robes, flat screen TVs, DVD, microwaves, small refrigerators - decorated with "spa like feeling." Oceanfront & ocean view units have cozy gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Beachfront Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Manor Boutique Hotel
Beachfront Manor Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachfront Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.