We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you are desperate...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1713 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly West Coast Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
richmond, va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you are desperate...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

...as we were. Labor Day weekend and no rooms available anywhere but here. That should have been our first clue! How it even got rated 2* , I don't know. Right on the main highway and very noisy as you need to keep windows open for cooling the room - the web-site said a/c but there was none. I see they have now changed hands (it was an Econ Lodge when we stayed) and I hope the new regime will address the complaints that seem to be all too common.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked the room online, and that was mistake number 1. We were told the room had air conditioning which they don't, not even a fan. So, bring your own fan. 2. The room above me I could hear every word people were saying, and they had kids who flushed the toilet every 5 minutes for some reason. This was very annoying causing loss of sleep, and the refrigerator made horrible noises every time it kicked on. 3. If you book a room directly you will save yourself like $20. We payed almost $90 after the dog fee (That we were told the dog fee was already included in the quote) by the on line customer care person who booked the room for us. 4. if you need an inexpensive room for your needs then this is an OK Hotel. I didn't like it myself, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ground level is best no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were only staying for one night to see a comedian at Chinook.
1. room was NOT ready when we got there, had to wait an additional hour and a half and then the hallway was littered with wet towels
2. the room was a non smoking room but the smell of wet dog (s) was terrible
3. no ac or fan
4. opening the window gave a breeze, but the noise from the freeway kept us up all night
5. went to check out this morning and the woman stood behind the door and pointed to the door (we had no other choice but to slide the cards under the door and walk away)

We slept on top of the covers and did not take a shower, the smells (wet dog, smoke) and the noise completed the terrible experience

Room Tip: choose any other room anywhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent 1/2 a night here. Yes. We got up and left in the middle of the night. Why? Let me count the ways.
- No A/C or fan. Not that this climate needs it, it is needed to mask the road noise of US 101.
- Rusty hardware/hangers in bathrooms.
- A distinct wet dog odor in room.
- Shower head is at ideal height for 10 year olds, not adults.
- TV cable had to be adjusted multiple times for clear picture.
- Grounds had empty beer bottles in parking lot, hallways, grass.
- Light fixtures loose on wall.
- Appeared to be black mold around shower enclosure (SERIOUS HEALTH HAZARD)
- You can hear people defecating in next room.

We did not even sleep under the covers, bringing in our own pillows and slept on bed ONLY because we had to before my husband could continue driving. We both woke up around 3 a.m. and we instantly agreed that it was time to go. We were out the door in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Spent one night here. Was reasonably priced. Because there is no air conditioning (we were unaware at time of check in), we had to have window open. Very noisy traffic throughout night caused frequent wakings. Sluggish toilet did not flush properly. Continental breakfast setting nice - no juice available though. Average budget hotel. Keep in mind there is no elevator if you're booked on upper floors...long way to carry luggage.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We were in a non-smoking room that smelled smoky every time we ran the bathroom fan. Also, people stood outside the entrance smoking & it floated up. They had the smallest queen size beds I've ever seen. The office didn't open until 8, so I'm not sure if they had a breakfast (as advertised) because my husband gets hungry at 6:00 a.m. There's a really great Pig N Pancake up the road. The internet worked really well. I would NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
222 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Typical Econo Lodge, which informed travelers realize is simply a "budget" option. As such, the hotel is an OK choice for $45-60, but a total rip off if you're paying $70++, as we did. The room was clean (floors, bedding, towels, furniture), with a basic continental breakfast & a pleasant staff, but probably the smallest bathrooms we have ever encountered in a US chain hotel property. The bathroom was clean but TINY. If you just need a simple place at a budget price (meaning less that $60) then the place is OK. However, travelers need to be forewarned if they book on the Choice Hotels website [--], which represents Econo Lodge, Comfort Inn, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Cambria & Mainstay Suites. We have repeatedly found the rates for their properties to be a rip off. We have never --- repeat NEVER -- booked a hotel on this website, where the rate would not have been significantly less, if we had called the hotel directly. A perfect example is our stay at this hotel. Our website rate was $71, but when we arrived at the hotel their outside sign posted rates "from" $44. So, before we entered the hotel we called the front desk & asked if they had rooms & was told "yes". We asked the rate for 2 persons with 2 beds, for "that" evening, & was quoted a rate of $54. We simply thanked the receptionist who took the call, waited 5 minutes & went inside to check-in. When we requested the $54 rate, instead of the $71 rate the website had confirmed, the desk clerk (who was very polite & apologetic) said: "I am forbidden to adjust rates that are booked on the Choice Hotels website". When we asked to cancel the reservation in order to get the $54 rate, he pointed out that there was a 24 hour cancellation clause that would have to be invoked. In other words, they knowingly have to rip off guests because of the miserable contracts they have with Choice Hotels. As such, I would merely advise people to avoid booking on www.choicehotels.com, & simply call the hotel direct, where you will invariably get a better rate.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1713 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly West Coast Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lincoln City
Lincoln City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.