We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfish Cafe

Blackfish Cafe
2733 NW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4429
541-996-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On our 8-day trip to Oregon, we ate some tremendous meals. This was a very good one, indeed. The chowder was nicely done, with good flavour; the Parmesan-crusted rockfish was very good -- a huge piece of fish. The gnocchi was excellent, as were the oysters and the scallops. As for desserts, the pot du creme was excellent, and the 'ding dongs' were quite good, though perhaps didn't live up to the hype.

Overall, a good meal, and worth a return visit on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    135
    59
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Since the reviews looked great and we hadn't been there, we tried it for lunch. The chowder was nothing special, fish tacos just so, so...not worth the hype...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner for four”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our reservation was for 6:00pm on Sunday night. All four of us ordered something different. We all got a ceasar salad and all four of them were a noticibley different size. My friend ordered the special (baked cod), he said it was too heavy and rich. My husband ordered the pork and though the sauce was sweet, he enjoyed it. i ordered the flat iron steak. It was cooked well on top of mashed potatoes with a moat of cloyingly sweet blackberry reduction. I DID NOT LIKE IT! I can't remember what my girlfriend got but she did not eat it. It's very noisy and the seats are uncomfortable. The service was great. I'm not a fan of sweet reductions over meat or fish. Just me??

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Gets our vote again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were meeting friends on our way to Newport and with prior experiences, this was logical place to meet for lunch. We were all happy we did. We had sandwiches and soup, heavy on the seafood, and all were content. Service is great, very friendly, nice tables, and excellent food. We go over to the beach communities from Salem a couple of times a year. It looks like it will continue to be, "meet at Blackfish, or meet at Spirit Mountain" for great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a relatively small place and only has a few tables that will accommodate larger parties. When we arrived we had to wait but were offered drinks (free) while we waited. The hostess/owner (?) is absolutely wonderful - she made the wait painless!! We tried the clam chowder and can say it is the best I have ever had!! The rest of the dinner was great. A must try if you are in Lincoln City.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blackfish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.