We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfish Cafe

Blackfish Cafe
2733 NW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4429
541-996-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We ate here while staying in Lincoln city. The service and food were both excellent. The wine (a white Pinot Noir) was very good. My wife had salmon and she raved about it. I had the cioppino and it rivaled any of the best I have eating in San Francisco.

The food and wine are a bit pricy but worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    337
    121
    57
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tripadviser ratings confirmed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We ate dinner there recently based on tripadvisor ratings. We were not disappointed, the food was all excellent. The only reason we did not give it five stars is that the service was slow in getting our dessert request and bill. Since we also had a 4 year old with us, we felt that they should have been much better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We both started with the homemade clam chowder, it was excellent with fresh tender clams. My wife had fish tacos and loved them, including the black beans and homemade salsa.
I enjoyed fried local oysters. with the best slaw I've eaten (keep in mind I've never had bad slaw. We also enjoyed a bottle of King Estate Chardonnay that was reasonably priced.
The service was excellent without being pretentious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Swordfish Rarity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have not been to this restaurant for over a year. Kept hearing off and on reviews for a variety of friends. But, this visit with friends was exceptional.
Rarely seen on menus I found swordfish, a favorite. It was served perfectly, moist on a creamy bed of potenta and ringed with a fresh tomato cilantro sauce. Everyone raved about their entrees and our bottle of wine was so good, that one member of the party added the name to his to buy list. Desserts were very nice and certainly topped off the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food--especially if you like Italian :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unfortunately, though, I don't. But, luckily, I was able to find Rockfish on the menu, and it wasn't prepared in the Italian style--whatever that brings to mind. For me, it brings marinara sauce, pasta, and too much garlic to mind. So it was lucky for us that I didn't realize in advance that the cuisine was mostly Italian, or we would have missed out on some really outstanding food, because I would have insisted on passing it by.

As it was, the fish I ate was cooked to perfection! The service was exemplary, the prices were acceptable, and I was happy to see that my husband and parents really enjoyed their meals, from my husband's pasta dish to my mother's homemade hamburger :-). And not only was the food and service fantastic, so was the setting! The last time we were there was mid summer, and the Lucifer Crocosmia surrounding their patio was in full and glorious bloom. Although this restaurant sits right on Hwy. 101, it was easy to just tune out the traffic, when the food and flowers were so nice :-). Yes, I'd definitely recommend Blackfish Cafe' to anyone--even people like me, who don't necessarily care for Italian cuisine.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blackfish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.