We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The looks are deceiving with this joint.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foon Hing Yuen Restaurant

Foon Hing Yuen Restaurant
3138 SE Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1905
(541) 996-3831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 90 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Lincoln City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The looks are deceiving with this joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The atmosphere is not very desireable, but the service was fast and the peanut chicken was so good! I will make sure to go there again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Crispy duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband loves the crispy duck at this restaurant, and we eat here every time we go to Lincoln City. The overall food was really good and plentiful, and our server was great. I even got a free desert when my kids mentioned it was my birthday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Chef Says Good for Typical America-Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you like lots of food for the money this is the place for you. The deep frying skills in this kitchen are very good. For everyday American-Chinese food it's typical filling blue collar eating. I gave it 4/5 because compared to other restaurants like this you get, well, more...of the same common dishes. If you are from NY or San Fran and know real Chinese (which you shouldn't expect on the Oregon coast) you won't appreciate the sweet chili sauce out of the jar, and small pieces of chicken in the General Tso. Compared to Chinatown Chinese this would get 1.5 to 2 stars.But let's be kind because once again we are here and not there. The recommended Mongolian Beef was mostly tender with just a few grissles. The sauce was run of the mill, but again just fine given the target market. One turnoff was the butane after taste of the shrimp fried rice, but doused with sauces from the other entrees that detraction got buried. The atmosphere is beat-up which actually makes it kitchy if that's your bag. Takeout got more traffic than sit-downs (there was only one other table of two that was filled), which tells me this is a main Friday night food supply for the locals. If you want volume, bang for buck, and you're not too picky about little things, this is a solid 4/5. If you're homesick for authenticity better try the far superior Mexican joint, La Roca, across the street. They got a 5/5 across the board...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, Utah, Usa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice dive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is delicious and the portions are large. We ordered two entrees and two egg drop soups for $26.00 plus tip. It fed two adults and two children. Service is friendly and the restaurant is clean.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat in the Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you can eat in the bar area. The food here is exceptional, but the restaurant side smells a bit musty and can ruin your enjoyment of the food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foon Hing Yuen Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Foon Hing Yuen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foon Hing Yuen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.