We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's happened?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westshore Oceanfront Motel

Save Saved
You added Westshore Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westshore Oceanfront Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3127 SW Anchor Avenue, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 hotels in Lincoln City
WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What's happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

New manager is a very sweet young girl.. BUT..the sliding door had NO lock, she brought us a cardboard tube to put in it to "lock it "/seriously? One of our two front door keys never did work. Very noisy upstairs, I mean seriously noisy.. Bed was so slanted hubby rolled out of bed! Tub was grungy..

Seriously falling apart, not enough improvements could be made to ever return after all these years of going regular to "our" motel at the beach..
Prices have gone way up from last time too! Upscale Inn at Spanish Head has the same exact mid week prices. We will be going there from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We are glad you appreciated the great service we strive to offer each of our guests. Unfortunately, maintenance within the hotel had been neglected before our recent change in management. The new managemnt team now includes a full-time maintenance technician & re-staffed housekeeping team that will be addressing every issue. We hope you can return once we have everything buttoned-up! Thank you for your honest review--we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
41
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Labor Day weekend. New management is a great change. The room was cleaner, service better. This is one of the best locations in Lincoln City at a reasonable price. Our room had a fireplace and full kitchen. Wood is free for the room & $5 to take for a beach campfire. Kids love swimming in the ocean right behind the place. Some of the rooms are pet friendly, and it is an older building, but the location and staff are awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay over Labor Day weekend--we had such beautiful weather! The full kitchens & fireplaces are one of our favorite room amenities at the Westshore. Thank you for your thoughful review--we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What has happened to Westshore Oceanfront Motel in Lincoln, City, OR. I have stayed they in the past and met the new managers last year. They were so helpful and kind and they were doing their best, with a limited budget, to clean the place up. Stayed there several times and the place just kept improving. Last weekend I stayed at Westshore and could not believe what was happening. What happened to Adrian and Leah????? They were not there. There were all new people running the place and everything was so un-organized. From the desk clerk to the cleaning crew they were all very unfriendly and not helpful at all. My room was dirty and there was dog hair in the bathroom. Adrian and Leah where are you!!!!!

Needless to say I will not be going back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We are equally dismayed to hear about your experience & as new management, would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointing last impression. However, the hotel is under new management, and all previous maintenance & housekeeping issues are being addressed. Westshore now boasts a full-time maintenance tech & new housekeepers w/ higher standards, so we know that if you decide to give us another chance, you'll enjoy your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have to say the view was spectacular, the room, not so great. Stained furniture,(took pictures in case of disputes), rust & mold around tub & the pillows were hard & flat as a pancake. No phone in the room, no ice machine, even though the info book in the room say there is, or no soda vending machines. No A/C.. Wouldn't have stayed the second night but the stay was 50th anniversary gift from the kids, , Had to go to office to ask for coffee for second day, maid service was terrible. NO, I will not return for another stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We are glad you enjoyed the fantastic ocean view that each of our rooms offer. We're also dismayed to hear about your regrettable experince. However, there has been a change in management, and our goal as new management is to offer Westshore guests an amazing, comfortable experience, down to the smallest details. The property will have an ice machine soon too. Thank you for your honest review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best about the Westshore is its location, right on the beach. Rooms outdated but clean. Owner was nice. I wouldn't necessarily return, but very reasonable for being on the beach. We had pre-booked for 4 nights but when we got there, only 3 nights were available. The owner suggested we change room for the 4th night but decided to leave a day earlier to go to Florence, which in the end was better for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We agree--the Westshore's location, right on the beach, can't be beat. We are glad you appreciated our beachside location & clean rooms. As new management with plenty of experience, our front desk issues are history. We hope you can return again & thank you for the honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I just stayed here - the counter lady was horrible , down right terrifying ........ the lady whom was sitting behind counter looked as thou she was on drugs and smelled of alcohol - she couldn't answer any of my questions ...... who hires these people & where did the old receptionist go ? this place is literally falling apart , its old and ran down now ! my room was filthy and i found hair and dirt all over my bedding ( had to bring my own blankets in , thank god i had them in my car with my long trip ) The dishes were covered in old dried on food - had no choice but to eat out ....... . also all night long sounded as thou there was an earthquake happening - people above us all night long sounded like they were running a marathon . Stayed there this last winter and everything then was great , I couldn't recommend this place enough to anyone who would listen , and now have to recall all and tell then to stay .... stay far far away from here ! I will NEVER Never stay here again ! Worst stay of my life !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestshoreTeam, General Manager at Westshore Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello! We are so glad you enjoyed your previous stays at the Westshore, and are dismayed to hear about your most recent trip. The issues you addressed may be why there was a complete change in management & staff. As new management with tons of high-quality hotel experience, we are excited to offer our guests an amazing, comfortable experience, much like you mentioned receiving in the past. Thank you for your honest review--we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about The Westshore. I tell my friends all the time if they are looking for a place to escape from Portland, and hear waves crashing while you sleep, this place is great--and a good value, considering they have 2 room suites with fully equipped kitchens for less than you'd pay at the chains, or the places with hundreds of rooms elsewhere in town (which means the beach is crowded in front of them).

The Westshore, set two blocks from Highway 101, is quiet, (other than the waves and if you're not on the top floor, you may hear some footsteps on top of you in the room above if its occupied).

Free firewood, and real wood-burning fireplaces (I like this in the winter). Adrian and Leah or really friendly, and they are always accommodating.

If you're expecting a Marriott, or you are used to staying at the Stephanie Inn (for double or triple the price) in Cannon Beach, perhaps this won;t be your cup of tea. But if you are looking for a great place ON THE BEACH, that's small, clean, and where you can escape and hear waves crash all day and night, with great views... with your dog, book it Danno!

I hate that they make you give it a star rating. I would give it five stars, but I think those should be reserved for true luxury hotels. And perhaps if not for the few times I've heard footsteps over my head in the room, I'd give it five stars.

Room Tip: Go for the second story rooms, so when I call the top ones or the first floor rooms are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westshore Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westshore Oceanfront Motel

Address: 3127 SW Anchor Avenue, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westshore Oceanfront Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westshore Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westshore Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westshore Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.