We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel On A Downward Slide” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nordic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Nordic Oceanfront Inn
2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel On A Downward Slide”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Nordic a few days a year for over 25 years. Under the previous owners management the place was extremely clean, well run and constantly being improved and updated. Since it was sold to the existing owner it has been going steadily downhill.
In our most recent stay we were very disappointed with how we were treated and the condition of the property. The condition of the beds in our room was especially appalling with the aging box spring and mattresses broken and very uncomfortable. Likewise, the pillows, which were hard and lumpy. My wife had a backache for days after our stay here.
After our room had been made up on the third day of our stay I noticed that the sheets still hadn’t been changed – three days between changes seems to be too long as far as I’m concerned. It’s not as if we were getting a better rate to get less service. When I asked at the office how often they changed sheets in the rooms the clerk said that they only changed them on request and not after a certain number of days.
It seems that the present owner is cutting corners any way possible to reduce costs and the Nordic is definitely suffering for it.
Overall, the rooms are getting somewhat dated and could use a major do over.
During out time in Lincoln City we have been looking around for a better place to stay for our next vacation as we surely will not be returning to the Nordic.

Room Tip: Check out the beds before you check in.
See more room tips
Green Features: Save themselves a bundle by not changing the bedding.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We do strive to keep our customers happy. We want you to enjoy your stay. I am sorry you felt the bed was lumpy. I assure the frame was not broken. We have recently upgraded the pillows. I am sorry you did not notice all of the upgrades that have been made to the rooms and premises. We have put in 2 inch flat screen TV, tiled the counters and bathrooms,resurfaced the pool and spa,refinished all of the tables in the rooms,put in new pickets and worked on our private beach stairs.Each year we plan a project for the winter months to keep the hotel moving forward. We hope to see you again so you can take in all of the upgrades that have been done and will be done in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    73
    17
    11
    19
See reviews for
55
120
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying at the Nordic for years and always come back because it is a comfortable, clean place with a super ocean view and a great staff. They always greet me, are very accommodating and have everything I need in one place. The pool is a perfect temperature and the hot tub is like a warm bath; not too hot - just right. They have a complimentary breakfast with lots of choices whether you want something light, or something to stick to your ribs until lunch. During the day you can watch the migrating whales and the fishing boats as they pass by or relax on the outside deck with a good book and a glass of wine; or just soak up the sun and the sea air. For a real treat, get a room with a fireplace - it provides a wonderful ambience - you can relax in front of it while watching a beautiful sunset, the end of a perfect day.

Room Tip: Every room I've ever stayed in has been perfect, the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

All rooms have outstanding views of the beach, about 50' below the edge where Nordic and other hotels perch. Only the Nordic has a private walkway to get to the beach, though. Rooms are very nice, and the mattress was in very good condition. The kitchenettes are well furnished, with pots, pans and plates/glasses/utensils for 4. Gas fireplaces add a nice, "kitschy" ambiance, and are also great for heating if you turn on the blower! Front desk was exceedingly helpful with everything. If you're active duty or retired military, remember to ask for a discount on the room rate. Check out their very informative website at www.nordicoceanfrontinn.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was one of the nicest spots I've ever stayed in Lincoln City. For the price, there is none better on the Oregon Coast. Very clean rooms and pool facilities, comfortable bed, quiet, and the view from the room was fantastic. I will not stay anywhere else from now on. Period. Thank you for three nights of comfort, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We only stayed one night here but had a fine time. The room was clean and comfortable and the ammenties were nice and new. The pool was very nice as was the hot tub. We especially liked that the pool was warm enough to just jump right in and the hottub was not overly hot like a lot of places. The complementary continental breakfast is adequate as well and the view from our room was very likety the best I have seen yet in Lincoln City and I have stayed in a lot of places. The only thing I would say is that the window really needs a screen in it for safely and the carpet is somewhat dated and tired looking. We will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband surprised me for my birthday/Valentines getaway this weekend. I'm the one usually picking out the hotels but this time he did. We thought it was just ok. The view was sensational and the rooms were clean BUT ..... the rooms need major updating. The carpet is old dirty and ugly. The bedding was ugly and not really comfortable. We thought we were getting a King w/ a fireplace but we just got a regular King room. The bathroom was small and they didn't have any cozy blankets in the room. It was just ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love this place! The first time I stayed there was with my boyfriend. It was the first time we went away as a couple. :) I think we stayed in room 107. I've stayed on the 1st, 2nd, and third floor. All of them are nice.

Everyone is very friendly, the rooms have great views. I think the only thing that I am not a big fan of is, the pool area. All of the windows bug me. Personal preference though. It's still nice and I do use it.

Quiet, comfortable, nice staff, and view. What else can you ask for?
I wanna say the last time we stayed was in November 2012, and we are going again now... February 2013 :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 53 oceanfront view units have 32 inch flat screen TV’s, in room Wi-Fi, DVD & VCR, microwaves & refrigerators. Choices include king or queen bed, in room Jacuzzi, kitchens, gas fireplaces & balconies or patios. On site amenities include a newly remodeled, indoor heated pool, spa, & double saunas. An expanded hot continental breakfast is served daily including self serve waffles. Enjoy our large sundeck with private beach access for the ultimate beach experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nordic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Nordic Oceanfront Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.