We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO MINORS IN THE HOT TUB!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nordic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Nordic Oceanfront Inn
2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Keizer
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“NO MINORS IN THE HOT TUB!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My recent stay was my second one this year. Since my last visit, there has been a new policy that prohibits minors from using the hot tub. We were very surprised and dissapointed. There is a big sign, with big bold red letters posted above the hot tub. It states that no minors are allowed in the hot tub. WHAT?! No well behaved kids? No teenagers? My daughters love to sit in the hot tub when we are on vacation. Beacause of this new policy, we will not be returning to the Nordic. I spoke with another parent in the breakfast room who told me, because of this new policy, they would not be back to the Nordic either. It does not seem like a good business practice (especially in this economy) to exclude families with children and teenagers from this hotel ammenity. We travel as a family several times a year, and have NEVER stayed at a hotel that did not allow minors in the hot tub.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sandcastle Motel instead. It's cleaner, less expensive, more comfortable beds, bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for being our guest at The Nordic Oceanfront Inn. I am sorry you are unhappy about the new guidelines for the spa. We had a few potentially dangerous situations with children swimming in the spa. We want all of our guests to enjoy the facilities and be safe. We do offer a large pool area right across from the spa for swimming. I do appreciate and value you as our guest. I do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    73
    17
    11
    19
See reviews for
55
119
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went at the spur of the moment when I was looking at Hotels.com. The price is reasonable, the facility clean and the view spectacular. They have an indoor pool and hot tub which has windows that open up to get the sea air. It's not the Ritz, but it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have been staying at the Nordic for over 30 years, through 2-3 owners. The original owners were the greatest, but they were probably the ones who built the place. Excellent facilities, pool, sauna, spa----well maintained, even todayl! The maintenance staff is excellent, along with the housekeeping. The only place that could use a friendly smile is at the front desk when checking in. Seems like they are doing you a favor to check you in, when you are spending your money to stay there! Excellent location on large, high bluff overlooking the ocean, only the biggest tsunami would be able to get you! Stairs down to the beach, the beach is excellent and very long (several miles).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck, 2nd or 3rd floor. Corner rooms are larger with fireplaces. 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you so much for being part of the Nordic Oceanfront Family. We appreciate that you are one of our frequent guests. I so glad that you were happy with your stay. I apologize that our front desk staff was not as inviting as they should have been upon your arrival. I want you to know that I appreciate your remarks and will look into this matter. It is very important to me that all guests are greeted in a friendly and courteous manner. Thank you again!
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Drove down to the coast looking for a place to stay that was close to the ocean, Ocean front, not just ocean views. Saw that the Nordic had vacancy, with beach access. Plenty of rooms available, (thurs/fri night stay). And had a Trip Advisor 2012 signage in the front office window.
No screens on the windows, so if you want to really hear the waves and have that fresh sea air coming into your room you also get all the evenings bugs coming in. Having two little boys with us who kept wanting to look out the window was tough, by only opening just a bit since no screen. Stayed on the 3rd floor, was pretty quiet. Not too many people. Free continental breakfast, which was just waffles/2 kinds cereal/bagels. Heated indoor pool, if you bring your swimming stuff. From the 1st floor access to a desk for lounging, and stairs to head to the sand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The view was great, we did not get a balcony which was disappointing. The beach access is not made for anyone that can not walk up or down stairs. It is very steep and has a couple right angles. There are a few stops along the way for you to rest if you need too.

The breakfast in the morning was actually very good. The waffles were the best part.

The room was dated but acceptable. We liked the murphy bed in the front room.

The pool was a little dated as well. Just plain, no workout stuff or plants even. It could have been an outdoor pool. Nothing fancy.

All in all we had a nice stay. We were not happy with the front desk staff. The woman was part owner I think. Not sure but she was not friendly at all and they wait to charge your credit card until you check out. So instead of leaving your keys and going you have to go back in.

I think it is a bit of a rip off to not let you check in until 3 or 4pm and expect you out by 11am no matter what. So they say you pay for one day stay but you are shorted a good bit off the 24 hour mark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Nordic Oceanfront Inn. I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with our hotel. I regret we did not have a balcony unit available for the dates you requested, but as you stated the view was great! In regards to the pool area it was actually remodeled and has new tile and also was resurfaced. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary hot continental breakfast. Having hot Belgium waffles in the morning is always a treat. I do apologize if you felt I (the GM) was unfriendly, all of our staff including myself strive to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. In reply to your check out issues, you can request to pay on check in. We authorize your credit card and charge you at check out as a convenience to our guests, so they can add a night’s stay or movies and popcorn easily.
Our check in and checkout time is what is normal for hotels. Most hotels have check in between 4-6 pm and check out from 11am to noon depending on the business. You are renting for a night not for 24 hours .I am sorry but we do follow general hotel standards. We do hope you will stay with us again so we can show just how much we do appreciate our guests.
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I couldnt believe how Nice this place is!

We pulled up in a dirty car,surfboards ,dirty shoes and cloths and they treated us so Nice! Lol (we were on the beach all day )


Great room,service,food,pool, ocean view and bathrooms are Nice!
Best part the price is great as well!!
We have been here twice in the past year and will be coming back!
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay.Look forward to your next visit.We really do appreciate your kind words . .
Yvonne Darr Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can't say enough about the location, or the helpful and friendly staff, and despite everything beaig very clean, the building and room was very tired. The bed in particular was very uncomfortable, and we kept rolling into the middle of it. Appliances were functional but also very old and tired. Breakfast in the morning was average. I realize that to sleep at the beach a higher price has to be paid, but we have stayed at other lower priced hotels on the water in Lincoln which provided better value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 53 oceanfront view units have 32 inch flat screen TV’s, in room Wi-Fi, DVD & VCR, microwaves & refrigerators. Choices include king or queen bed, in room Jacuzzi, kitchens, gas fireplaces & balconies or patios. On site amenities include a newly remodeled, indoor heated pool, spa, & double saunas. An expanded hot continental breakfast is served daily including self serve waffles. Enjoy our large sundeck with private beach access for the ultimate beach experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Nordic Oceanfront Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.