We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View & Great Waffles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Nordic Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Nordic Oceanfront Inn
2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great View & Great Waffles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The view was great, we did not get a balcony which was disappointing. The beach access is not made for anyone that can not walk up or down stairs. It is very steep and has a couple right angles. There are a few stops along the way for you to rest if you need too.

The breakfast in the morning was actually very good. The waffles were the best part.

The room was dated but acceptable. We liked the murphy bed in the front room.

The pool was a little dated as well. Just plain, no workout stuff or plants even. It could have been an outdoor pool. Nothing fancy.

All in all we had a nice stay. We were not happy with the front desk staff. The woman was part owner I think. Not sure but she was not friendly at all and they wait to charge your credit card until you check out. So instead of leaving your keys and going you have to go back in.

I think it is a bit of a rip off to not let you check in until 3 or 4pm and expect you out by 11am no matter what. So they say you pay for one day stay but you are shorted a good bit off the 24 hour mark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Nordic Oceanfront Inn. I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with our hotel. I regret we did not have a balcony unit available for the dates you requested, but as you stated the view was great! In regards to the pool area it was actually remodeled and has new tile and also was resurfaced. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary hot continental breakfast. Having hot Belgium waffles in the morning is always a treat. I do apologize if you felt I (the GM) was unfriendly, all of our staff including myself strive to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. In reply to your check out issues, you can request to pay on check in. We authorize your credit card and charge you at check out as a convenience to our guests, so they can add a night’s stay or movies and popcorn easily.
Our check in and checkout time is what is normal for hotels. Most hotels have check in between 4-6 pm and check out from 11am to noon depending on the business. You are renting for a night not for 24 hours .I am sorry but we do follow general hotel standards. We do hope you will stay with us again so we can show just how much we do appreciate our guests.
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    72
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
53
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I couldnt believe how Nice this place is!

We pulled up in a dirty car,surfboards ,dirty shoes and cloths and they treated us so Nice! Lol (we were on the beach all day )


Great room,service,food,pool, ocean view and bathrooms are Nice!
Best part the price is great as well!!
We have been here twice in the past year and will be coming back!
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay.Look forward to your next visit.We really do appreciate your kind words . .
Yvonne Darr Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Can't say enough about the location, or the helpful and friendly staff, and despite everything beaig very clean, the building and room was very tired. The bed in particular was very uncomfortable, and we kept rolling into the middle of it. Appliances were functional but also very old and tired. Breakfast in the morning was average. I realize that to sleep at the beach a higher price has to be paid, but we have stayed at other lower priced hotels on the water in Lincoln which provided better value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, Sept 6th thru the 12th. Room was really nice and clean. Water pressure in the shower was awesome! View is wonderful (especially when sun is shining). Patio avaliable for relaxing. Walk down the stairs outside, for a walk on the beach. The only bad part is walking back up! lol. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel! Short drive to casino, resturants, and activities. Also, the beds were great. Slept better here, than I have in a long time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We appreciate your staying with us . It was nice to hear such exciting and energetic words describing our hotel. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Came in without a reservation. Being the last week of August there were rooms available throughout Lincoln City, and we checked a couple, but the friendly greeting we received from the front desk clerk on duty at the Nordic, as well as his ability to get us an oceanfront room for less than $100, sold us on the Nordic. Nice breakfast buffet (continental+) and all staff were pleasant. We made it a two-night stay rather than the 1 night originally planned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been staying at the Nordic for the last 4-5 years and have always had a great room and time at Lincoln City. We usually stay there at 2 times a year (our anniversary and just before school starts) and have always found the room very clean and the staff very helpful, we try to stay on the second or third floor because we like to hang out in the room with the windows open!

Room Tip: We usually book the room online and add a request for a room on the second or third floor (in the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Nordic Oceanfront Inn is a great choice if you are looking for a wonderful view of the ocean and a clean room. Our double queen room had a mini fridge and microwave in it. The bathroom is small but very clean. I found our room to be a little larger than the average hotel room.

The hotel is an older hotel but it very well maintained. The hotel is three stories and there is no elevator. Those who stay on the first or second floors will have no stairs to contain with (the second level of the hotel is level with the office and there is a walkway to the second level floors). However, if you have a problem with stairs this isn’t the hotel for you if you plan to spend time at the beach (from the hotel that is). It is a big trek down to the beach. Several steps down and up. There are some small areas to rest along the way, but believe me it is a work out down to the beach…and even more back up. There is a great deck area that overlooks the ocean for those who can’t (or don’t want too) make the trek down to the sand. I love the deck area. I could have sat there for hours. All rooms have an ocean view and I was told the windows are cleaned three times a week.

There is a nice pool and hot tub. The pool is 6 feet deep in the deepest end which was great for my boys to jump in. The pool is an average sized hotel pool but it does get busy in the late afternoon and evening. The pool hours are a little odd, it doesn’t open until 9:30am. A little late compared to other places we’ve stayed. The hot tub wasn’t as hot as I would have liked and it you could see a light layer of sand on the bottom of it. But at the beach you just have to expect sand to be in the pool and hot tub. You have to get your pool towels at the front desk. We were only given one per family member.

The beds were comfortable, but I highly suggest you bring your own pillows. They were the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever used in a hotel. And heed my suggestion, if you are able to do stairs, request a third floor room. We were on the second floor and trust me when I say that you can hear the people above you. We could hear them walking, we could hear their toilet flush, we could hear them shower/take a bath, etc…Really the walking noise was really loud. It sounded like there was a herd of elephants above us. I checked out and told the person about the noise issues he asked what time it was and said they have security staff to handle issues during “quiet hours”. When I told him it was started at 6am he acted like he could have cared less. I would think 6am would still be considered “quiet hours” but whatever.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 53 oceanfront view units have 32 inch flat screen TV’s, in room Wi-Fi, DVD & VCR, microwaves & refrigerators. Choices include king or queen bed, in room Jacuzzi, kitchens, gas fireplaces & balconies or patios. On site amenities include a newly remodeled, indoor heated pool, spa, & double saunas. An expanded hot continental breakfast is served daily including self serve waffles. Enjoy our large sundeck with private beach access for the ultimate beach experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Nordic Oceanfront Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.