We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging

Save Saved
You added Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging
1301 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Cranbrook
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view of ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Beautiful ocean view, would stay there again. Had a king suite on 4thfloor with balcony over looking the ocean. The room was spotless, fresh, very comfy bed, friendly, helpful staff. Hotel was our base while we visited the area and it met our needs very nicely. We came a long way to see the ocean and sitting on our ocean front balcony was listening to the surf was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 143 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    19
    14
    21
See reviews for
80
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I found this lodging by being lost.......but what a suprise to find a GREAT room overlooking the ocean!! The price was right and the staff was wonderful! We will be going again....hopefull soon and will most certanly choose the Sea Horse again.

Room Tip: They let me look at the room before paying........great advice for any place you want to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived on a rainy day which unfortunately meant we spent most of the day in our room. It was on a lower level (think basement stairs) which smelled of dog urine. I didn't know this hotel was pet friendly otherwise I NEVER would have stayed here. Carpet was clean enough, however the dining room chairs were stained with drips and mucky. There also was a big ol circle wet spot stain on the couch cushion. Along with dog hair on AND in our bed. Lovely. We traveled from Seattle to get here and this is it?!?!? I tried to look past it, be happy for my husband and two little boys but all I could think about was if this was a safe environment for them!! Fridge and bathroom clean so I figured we would survive. We opened the big curtains to see a beautiful view of the ocean. We did. I also saw all the cigarette butts that were thrown down from the balcony and never picked up.
We originally booked for two nights. After spending one night on that rock hard bed I could barely walk, I considered sleeping in the car for more comfort. It was really bad. The worst I have ever slept on. We checked out the next day not even caring about losing out on money. The hotel staff were apologetic when I voiced my reasons for early checkout, but barely and like they have heard the same complaints before. They asked if I wanted to stay in an upgraded room which only holds 2 people...um and our children would sleep where? I was told the hotel supervisor would contact me and I left my cell number never to hear from anyone. My husband and I will never stay here again and hope this review helps others.
If you want a semi dirty don't care if your dog pees and messes on the furniture and like sleeping on a stone tablet kind of place, then this is it.
If you want a safe clean comfortable family friendly hotel with a usable bed to sleep in, then keep looking because this is not it.
Staying at this hotel almost ruined our vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Happened upon the Sea Horse during a spring special (20% off all rentals) for a last minute vacation rental. Went for #102, with 2 bedrooms, for our family of 4 plus another couple and dog. Quite comfortable, with a nice sized living room and views of the ocean (not oceanfront though, building in-between us). Fully stocked kitchen, just bring food/ingredients, or walk 4 blocks to the grocery store. Wished there had been a hairdryer, but otherwise the bathroom was fine with a thumbs up for space heater in there! Pool and outdoor hot tub were clean and sufficient, not luxurious but you are hanging over the ocean which is fabulous so who cares! Beach access (lots of stairs) is VERY direct--wonderful. Breakfast of cereals, muffins, yoghurt and fruit a nice addition given the reasonable room rate. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting the city with our dog. The website made it look and sound nice enough, and we were feeling desperate to find a pet-friendly hotel that had some vacancy. After checking in, we opened the door to find an extremely outdated room with no wall decor, windows that didn't lock, carpet that made me worry about cleanliness and creepy crawlies, no hair dryer, and worst of all, a mattress so old that I could literally feel every spring through what little fabric was still lying over them.

We thought that if the management there felt this was passable for a room there and felt this was a reasonable representation of their hotel, then why would we try to switch to another room in the same facility. We got on our phones and tried to call other hotels in the area that were pet-friendly and that looked to be held to a better standard, knowing we would not get a refund for our room at the Sea Horse, but all were booked up. So, we bit our lips and tried to make the best of it.

On one positive note, this hotel does overlook the ocean. I do believe that is what we were charged so much for when we paid. It certainly wasn't the room. Good luck to you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spring break in Lincoln City~ We stayed at the Sea Horse. We happened to stay in a family suite and paid roughly $170.00 a night with tax.Unfortunately the room was very outdated. The pull out bed was soiled and dirty with....we couldnt make out what it was inside. I wouldn't let my kids sleep on it. I would choose to spend $340.00 else where. Lots of nice places in Lincoln City. I did speak to the owner of the hotel and he seemed to think that after I complained that we were disappointed he said if we went to the Hallmark that was 20.00 more,.. We will go to the Hallmark next time!! There is NO comparison to the Sea Horse and the Hallmark, spend the extra money you will feel like you went on vacation instead of feeling like you spent too much:(

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OregonSeaHorse, Manager at Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
This guest stayed in a one bedroom suite with a beautiful ocean view for the rate of $152 per night on a Spring Break weekend. The room was completely rebuilt in 2011, from new sheet rock to flooring, cabinet and fixtures. A virtual tour of this suite (#110) may be viewed on our website. Admittedly, there was a coffee stain on the vinyl back of the hide-a-bed mattress, however, the top sleeping side of the mattress is spotless. We are a pet friendly motel and charge a minimal $5 per pet, per night for our furry guests. The local lodging tax is collected by all lodging facilities.

This guest told us she could get a comparable suite at Hallmark for less, so we made an effort to check our competitiveness. We found that, in fact, our suites are priced much more competitively and let her know that. Our location, view, amenities, and accommodations are a great value, and I am sorry that this guest did not agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time. The spa in the room was a real bonus for us! I enjoyed the continental breakfast too. Having a ocean view was superb! I really recommend this hotel to anyone who comes in town for relaxation/business trip. I want to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1301 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy breathtaking high panoramic views of Lincoln City's renowned beach and Cascade Head from the Sea Horse's oceanfront rooms, spacious family suites, and newly built romance suites. Also available are vacation rental houses and cabins close to the beach. Known for gracious hospitality, the sparkling clean Sea Horse features a heated indoor pool, dramatic oceanfront spa, continental breakfast, and free WiFi. Close to Chinook Winds Casino, shops, golf, and restaurants. Pets are welcome in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.