We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super family friendly, on the beach, inexpensive and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1301 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super family friendly, on the beach, inexpensive and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Happened upon the Sea Horse during a spring special (20% off all rentals) for a last minute vacation rental. Went for #102, with 2 bedrooms, for our family of 4 plus another couple and dog. Quite comfortable, with a nice sized living room and views of the ocean (not oceanfront though, building in-between us). Fully stocked kitchen, just bring food/ingredients, or walk 4 blocks to the grocery store. Wished there had been a hairdryer, but otherwise the bathroom was fine with a thumbs up for space heater in there! Pool and outdoor hot tub were clean and sufficient, not luxurious but you are hanging over the ocean which is fabulous so who cares! Beach access (lots of stairs) is VERY direct--wonderful. Breakfast of cereals, muffins, yoghurt and fruit a nice addition given the reasonable room rate. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    21
    16
    23
See reviews for
87
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting the city with our dog. The website made it look and sound nice enough, and we were feeling desperate to find a pet-friendly hotel that had some vacancy. After checking in, we opened the door to find an extremely outdated room with no wall decor, windows that didn't lock, carpet that made me worry about cleanliness and creepy crawlies, no hair dryer, and worst of all, a mattress so old that I could literally feel every spring through what little fabric was still lying over them.

We thought that if the management there felt this was passable for a room there and felt this was a reasonable representation of their hotel, then why would we try to switch to another room in the same facility. We got on our phones and tried to call other hotels in the area that were pet-friendly and that looked to be held to a better standard, knowing we would not get a refund for our room at the Sea Horse, but all were booked up. So, we bit our lips and tried to make the best of it.

On one positive note, this hotel does overlook the ocean. I do believe that is what we were charged so much for when we paid. It certainly wasn't the room. Good luck to you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spring break in Lincoln City~ We stayed at the Sea Horse. We happened to stay in a family suite and paid roughly $170.00 a night with tax.Unfortunately the room was very outdated. The pull out bed was soiled and dirty with....we couldnt make out what it was inside. I wouldn't let my kids sleep on it. I would choose to spend $340.00 else where. Lots of nice places in Lincoln City. I did speak to the owner of the hotel and he seemed to think that after I complained that we were disappointed he said if we went to the Hallmark that was 20.00 more,.. We will go to the Hallmark next time!! There is NO comparison to the Sea Horse and the Hallmark, spend the extra money you will feel like you went on vacation instead of feeling like you spent too much:(

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OregonSeaHorse, Manager at Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
This guest stayed in a one bedroom suite with a beautiful ocean view for the rate of $152 per night on a Spring Break weekend. The room was completely rebuilt in 2011, from new sheet rock to flooring, cabinet and fixtures. A virtual tour of this suite (#110) may be viewed on our website. Admittedly, there was a coffee stain on the vinyl back of the hide-a-bed mattress, however, the top sleeping side of the mattress is spotless. We are a pet friendly motel and charge a minimal $5 per pet, per night for our furry guests. The local lodging tax is collected by all lodging facilities.

This guest told us she could get a comparable suite at Hallmark for less, so we made an effort to check our competitiveness. We found that, in fact, our suites are priced much more competitively and let her know that. Our location, view, amenities, and accommodations are a great value, and I am sorry that this guest did not agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our time. The spa in the room was a real bonus for us! I enjoyed the continental breakfast too. Having a ocean view was superb! I really recommend this hotel to anyone who comes in town for relaxation/business trip. I want to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Room for disabled on ground level, 2 queen beds, ocean view all western wall (not a deck or sliding door, just window), nice bathroom, recliner, table and 3 chairs (light over table is suitable for reading), microwave, fridge, coffee in room, cabinets, comfy beds, sufficient pillows, lovely purple colors, pop machine, many stairs to beach (friends did it, I am disabled so could not), continental breakfast (small bagels and rolls), pool (across street) and jacuzzi spa (across street) parking lot, some disabled parking, overflow lot across street, some street parking. Stall shower with wand, walk in. Toiletries. Office people very nice, closes at 11pm. Wi-Fi. Lots of materials in office. Water pressure is fine. Low water flush toilet. I'm told (don't partake) coffee is a tad weak. Covered walkway to room. No elevator, stairs only. Brkfst 7-9am. EZ checkin- and out.

Room Tip: I can't climb stairs (no knee) so the disabled room was perfect, even flat entry, and walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed on the 4th floor, King Room, Balcony, Oceanfront. It is perfect for us. We were there during Spring Break and the kids were pretty good. It wasn't noisy. I love the staff. They are predominately Mexicans and they are very accommodating. They also have a pool technician that checks the water in the pool and spa. It was a balcony that you have wonderful privacy from the beach bums. They will also provide you with muffins, coffee, juice, English muffins, fruit and cereral. You can get this on the first floor, breakfast area.

I found my trip to Lincoln City to be more on the spendy side than what I have experience in the past. Maybe it's because Portland is so close by that they raise the rates.

Room Tip: 4th floor with balconies are definitely for adults. 1st level is ideal for famlies with dogs and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The motel is on a bluff about seventy feet above the ocean and is so close the waves come within twenty feet of the bottom of the bluff at high tide. Spectacular ocean views, clean, well maintained older rooms and a nice pool and hot tub if you don't feel like walking down to the ocean. The beach is about six miles long and great for walking on, no motorized vehicles allowed. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as was the townsfolk we met.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter and have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1301 NW 21st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy breathtaking high panoramic views of Lincoln City's renowned beach and Cascade Head from the Sea Horse's oceanfront rooms, spacious family suites, and newly built romance suites. Also available are vacation rental houses and cabins close to the beach. Known for gracious hospitality, the sparkling clean Sea Horse features a heated indoor pool, dramatic oceanfront spa, continental breakfast, and free WiFi. Close to Chinook Winds Casino, shops, golf, and restaurants. Pets are welcome in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.