We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Ashley Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3430 NE Hwy 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Holiday Deals!
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Federal Way, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We will never stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stay here in Aug 2011. Though the rooms were clean and maintained the attitude and service of the staff were very poor. It started when one of my family asked for a fan. Rather than say that they are sorry and don't have one, they insisted she didn't need one. Then you have to sign an extra piece of paper to say you understand all their rules for staying there. If you plan on using the pool you have to go to the front desk and get a key and then sign another piece of paper saying you understand their rules for the pool. This includes a rule that kids under 14 can never get in the spa. Yes, our kids got kicked out of the pool because they were jumping into the pool (not a rule that I was on the paper) and according to the lady at front desk running. Yes, she gave them a warning but she did not bother to talk to us parents, who were required to be there by their rules that I signed. We were over in the spa and couldn't hear things well due to the echo from being an indoor pool. I realize they might have been running a little and I already had talked to the kids about that myself but kids will be kids and when many of the kids hadn't seen each other for a over a year they get excited. The breakfast was good and everything was kept supplied they just wouldn't allow you to take anything back to your from for family who didn't want to come down. They were very adament about this too.

Room Tip: Beds are soft so if your used to a firmer bed beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyinns, General Manager at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We apologize for being diligent in enforcing safety rules at the hotel. When parents do not stop their children from running in the pool area or jumping into the pool, we have no choice but to stop the unsafe actions for the children's safety and the safety of any other guests in the area. And, I do apologize for however the front desk clerk explained a fan was one of the features of the air conditioning unit in the room. There are many hotels on the Oregon Coast that do not have air conditioning in the rooms. We do, so we don't have to provide fans like hotels who rely on the ocean breeze for cooling. And, I will talk to the staff on duty when this guest was checked in. We serve a hot, home made, complementary breakfast. While we can seat over 80 people at once in the breakfast serving area, we do realize some guests would rather take their food to the privacy of their rooms. This is allowed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    106
    20
    17
    21
See reviews for
114
152
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I decided that we needed a short break to the Oregon coast and decided on Lincoln City as our destination. We chose the Ashley Inn mainly on price and customer feedback. It's situation is not on the beach and at the north end of the town on the wrong side of highway101. Clearly not the best location in town. It is set back off 101 with a large car park. It has the standard hotel appearance outside. However inside we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel felt and smelt fresh and clean almost like it had just been redecorated without the smells associated with new paint etc. Our room was on the 3rd floor reached using a large, clean, and efficient elevator. Our room with the biggest bed we have ever seen was large with table sofa and all the usual hotel items, tv, etc. A free hot breakfast was available every morning. The hot was scrambled eggs toast, and fresh baked scones plus all the usual breakfast items. More than adequate. We slept better than we do at home, unusual for us. Although the hotel pillows were perfectly adequate, we always carry our own. The hotel was quite full mostly with young families telling us that it is clearly family friendly, they all looked content. The hotel seemed to contain this mixed group with ease without any overwhelming noise or disorder. The space seemed to allow us to coexist perfectly adequately. So we will use the Ashley again as a very pleasant place to return to while adventuring around the central Oregon coast.

Room Tip: We like quiet so we always look for a room away from the car park and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyinns, General Manager at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We appreciate your comments. Getting into the parking area for the hotel, Starbucks and Taco Time can be difficult when there is heavy traffic in town. But once you get in, we treat you right as your comments show. Thanks again for your review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we called the hotel and found that they had special package deals for family vacationers. We wanted lots of room and got it in the family suite. Plenty of beds (3), private space for my wife and I, and a lot of stuff for the kids to do. The salt-water pool was great. If you have never been in one, it is worth a trip just to experience that. The breakfast was good with lots of variety and fast service. It was open from 7 to 9 in the morning which is good for most. I'm a late riser and would have preferred it to be open longer. Our package included tickets for the aquarium, indoor miniature golf and batting cage, and a kite for the kids. The kite was special because when we checked out we went to the kite a few blocks away and joined in the fun. OK, the kids did, I just took pictures. The staff was friendly and helpful with information about the area and things to do. We made some new friends so we will definitely be back next year, and plan to stay longer. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looning for a great deal and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supervisor A, Front Desk Supervisor at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear SuthernBoy-
Thank you for your review! I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our Family Suites are great when you are looking for more space for a small family or if you have a family of six. It sounds like your family booked our Coastal Package for a family fun weekend! Thank you for your compliments about our staff, I will pass them along. We hope you come and see us the next time your in town.

Sincerely,
Kachiri Flanagan
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was our 3rd or 4th time to stay...clean...roomy rooms and hot breakfast included.
However, on our last visit, Aug. 2011, we booked ahead and were told we got the lowest price available. As we were checking in, a "walk-in" was given a lower rate. Upon questioning this I was told price differs depending on time of day, how the customer "looks"...cheaper rate if they appear to be the kind of people that won't trash the room. I've never encountered this before...and have travelled internationally as well as U.S. for many years.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supervisor A, Front Desk Supervisor at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Buddy-
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you are repeat guests. I am sorry that there was a misunderstanding of the prices. When booking ahead we offer our guests the best rate we have at the time they are booking. We do offer a variety of discounts to customers, some of those are AAA, AARP. I do hope that you continue to come back and stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kachiri Flanagan
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Ashley Inn over the 4th of July weekend 2011. The room was very comfortable. The front desk people were great. Nice hot tub and pool. Pet friendly was of most importance. Every time we entered the lobby we were greeted by name along with the names of our two puppies. Pet area outside. We would recommend this facility. Nice breakfast with biscuits and gravy, muffins, eggs, potatoes, cereals, juice, milk, coffee and more.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify if you have pets. There are selected rooms for this reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supervisor A, Front Desk Supervisor at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Nurseintac-
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Holiday weekend with your family and pets. You are right that we need to know if guests have pets due to only having a select few that are for pets only. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities that we offer. We hope you come and see us again the next time your visiting the coast.

Sincerely,
Kachiri Flanagan
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

At check in, you are fully briefed of the property amenities, which was nice.
They have a dinning hall along with a little convience store filled with possible snacks. They also have a dvd rental system.
Plus they have an inside salt water pool(they say is warm but isn't). The towels in there are small and very thin, so I would suggest bringing some from your room.
As for our room, it had been smoked in the previous night. However the room was very clean, comfy, and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supervisor A, Front Desk Supervisor at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Aiet22-
Thank you for taking time to give a review of your stay. I am glad to know that you had a good experience with us. We hope you come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Kachiri Flanagan
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very nice hotel. Rooms are very nice. Breakfast is good but not great. Coffee is lousy but there is a Starbucks next store so you'll survive if you need good coffee. Hotel is 1/3 mile walk from the beach. They take Pets so that is nice. Overall, the quality of the hotel is good.

The service for the most part was very good. However, the lady who checked us in was extremely rude - one of the worst I've seen in all my travels. So bad that I likely wouldn't stay there again since there are other nice places in the area where you'll get a friendly checkin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supervisor A, Front Desk Supervisor at Ashley Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear DrOptic-
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that your over all stay with us was pleasant. Since the last time you stayed with us, we have changed our breakfast menu as well as our coffee and creamer. Having Starbucks next door is a bonus. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have good service upon checking in. I hope you change your mind and come see us again the next time your in town.

Sincerely,
Kachiri Flanagan
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn and Suites

Address: 3430 NE Hwy 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashley Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Inn and Suites is a 100% smoke free establishment and features a variety of amenities designed to make your stay memorable. Enjoy one of our generously furnished guest rooms, or a spacious two-room suite. Or, pamper yourself within one of our luxurious spa suites. Each room is designed and furnished with your comfort in mind and includes a refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board in each room as well as TVs and DVD players. Thoughtful touches such as a delicious Deluxe Hot Homemade Breakfast make you feel right at home. There is a guest laundry facility for those who choose to extend their stay. For fun, we have an indoor salt water pool and spa. There is also a sauna and fitness room with aerobic equipment. WiFi Internet access is available throughout the hotel whether you bring a laptop to use in your room or choose to use our business center located near the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashley Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.