We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Spanish Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At Spanish Head to your Saves list
Inn At Spanish Head
4009 Southwest Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spent two nights here in July and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. You need to know all of the rooms are privately owned condos and decorated by their owners, therefore the consistency of all the rooms being the same does not exist. The management rents them out whenever they are not being used by the owners so if you are lucky and make reservations ahead of time you can get a room to fit your needs. We called when we got into Lincoln City and had no problems in getting a room. The Inn is on the side of the hill with all rooms oceanside and perfect views. Access to the beach is on the bottom floor as is a pool and hot tub. Pretty much all facilities are available. On top of the Inn is the Fathoms Lounge and Restaurant. We ate in the restaurant one night and loved the food and the service. The seafood cioppino was amazing with lots of clams, crab, fish, mussells and shrimp. The second night we ate in the lounge and shared two lbs of clams which were also superb . Overall and very nice place to stay and enjoy the Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    73
    19
    27
    23
See reviews for
68
129
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We rented condo #530. WOW - newly remodeled, state of the art kitchen and bathroom. The floor to ceiling windows offered a great view of the beach. The weather was overcast, cold and extremely windy so the best view for me was from the swivel rocker/recliners in the family room. I could have stayed there for days. The Fathoms bar and restaurant offered a good variety of foods and an excellent panoramic view of the cliffs, beach and ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The worst part of the stay was the fact that we only booked one night during our Oregon coast trip. I would definitely recommend staying at the Inn and already want to plan a trip back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

NOT DISCLOSED BY THE INN – This complex is not the usual hotel. It is actually composed of mostly, if not completely, condominiums that are privately owned. From a brochure we found in the lobby at least 120 of the 142 units are privately owned and placed into a rental pool. The hotel rental operations and Fathom bar and restaurant are operated by a corporation owned by the condominium unit owners. I mention this as you will not necessarily experience the zen-like hotel room experience as each condo is decorated by its owner…in our case, we shared with suite with over 40 sculptures, carvings and pictures of fish, sea shells, and lighthouses. It was a bit overdone for our taste. It was disappointing as the virtual tours on the hotel web site showed very nice uncluttered rooms.

THE ROOM – We were in a one bedroom suite and found it very nice to have a separate room if one of us wanted to stay up late or get up early. The main room of the suite contained a small but complete kitchen (with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, range/stove, microwave, coffee maker, blender, dishes and a full set of cookware), a small table with four chairs and a living room area with a large sofa, ottoman and large chair along with a large screen TV and a DVD player we could never get to work. There was a faux fireplace in the living room that does not emit any heat but can be pretty to turn on during a cool evening.

The bedroom had a king size feather bed, a small chair, two night stands and a chest of drawers at the end of the bed. The king size bed takes up most of the room so that if a drawer is open, it must be closed to move from one side of the room to the other. Extra blankets and pillows were found in the extra closet off of the kitchen. The bedroom also has its own flat screen TV, DVD/VHS/Blueray player, and PlayStation.

For us, the bed was a bit on the soft side but not so bad that you ended up with a backache.
Both rooms had sliding glass doors onto a large balcony facing the ocean. The balcony came equipped with four chairs and a lounger. It was so very nice to open the slider at night and listen to the ocean all evening.

There is a small bathroom off of the bedroom with a full bath and shower. Everything was in working order.

The room was usually very quite except for some mornings where housekeeping chattered quite loudly outside of our door.

THE FACILITY – You are literally on the beach with the ocean just a few feet away but if you need more, there is a spa, heated swimming pool, sauna, and exercise room. There is a great wind break around the pool with lots of tables and chairs so you can read without experiencing the wind which can be rather strong around the beach. DVDs are available for $3 at the front desk and a DVD list is available in your room.

Ocean assess is available from the 1st floor. And a foot washing station is available to help remove all of that lovely sand once you finish on the beach.

THE FOOD - We did try eating a light meal at the bar. The bar menu is reasonably priced and the food was acceptable. We also tried one meal in the restaurant and found the quality to be poor and the food to be overpriced. Best recommendation for meals is to make reservations at some of the better restaurants or head to the store and cook your own meals. The bellmen in the lobby will be glad to assist you in bungee cording your food purchases down to a luggage trolley and getting everything to your room in one piece.

THE SERVICE – The staff here makes up for any oversight in the meal service or the rooms. They are all delightful and really try to make our trip special. Check in on the 9th floor is quick and assistance is available to help you move your luggage to your room. The staff in both the bar and restaurant are also quite attentive.

The only disappointment was the cleaning service. The room floor was never sweep and nothing was dusted during our 6 night stay. And since there was a good level of dust in the room upon our arrival, this was disheartening.

THE PARKING – After check-in, your vehicles must be moved to the parking lot across the street. Complementary valet service is provided. If you park yourself, make sure you and your party can manage the trek back and forth as the walkway through a tunnel under U.S. 101 and walking up into the parking lot is quite steep…and you can be fighting a pretty significant and cold headwind. The bellmen will also be glad to drive you over to your car and offered to pick us up several times.

THE VIEW – You could not ask for more…beautiful ocean waves in full view of both the living room and bedroom areas. Come here for the ocean…you will love it!

OVERALL - We will definitely stay here again but will request a room that is a little more quietly decorated. And we will plan to cook our own meals…not relying on the on premises restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a more zen-like room, call the hotel to see if you can reserve one of the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice owner owned rentals. Rented a studio with a large balcony on the 4th floor..Fabulous view! Amenities include a heated pool, resturant and arcade. All rooms are decorated different as these are owner owned, but managed by the hotel. Enjoyable beach and hotel provides a conveinent beach access. Resturant was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

While my family usually stays at Sailor Jack's, we recently tried Inn at Spanish Head. For $50 more a night, we got a good view, better room (more stylish), and more amenities. But I'd rather save the money and stay at Sailor Jack's, which is in a better location (at Jack's, you can walk on the beach to some good restaurants). And the Inn at Spanish Head, while much more stylish than Sailor Jack's, looks like it's seen better days. I go to the coast for the beach walks and tidepools, and for that reason, I'd just give this hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed here three times in last fifteen years or so. We like the place, its clean,right on the beach. Does not matter which floor one stays on, the view is beautiful. It has a very good restaurant with a stunning view. We would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Many times over the years we have driven by the Inn At Spanish Head, so finally we spent a night there. Our room on the 8th floor commanded a wonderful, 180º view of the coastline. The beach itself is very accessible, but off-and-on showers--sometimes heavy--kept us from walking on the sand. A real disappointment, but not in the control of the Inn. We enjoyed a wonderful meal in the 10th story restaurant. The food was delicious, the portions almost too generous. (We asked about a la carte or senior portions, but they weren't available.)

Our bedroom unit had a small refrigerator, sink, dishes, a coffeepot, and a microwave--very convenient for making a breakfast in our room. (A nearby farmers market on Sunday provided us with some great bread.) Wi-fi in our room allowed us to keep current with incoming email and current news.

In some respects, the Inn is showing its age. Our mattress and pillows were overly soft, making for a less than pleasant sleep. The side chairs were less than comfortable to sit and read (or gaze out at the ocean). When we went down to the 1st floor to check out recreation, we were amazed to find a work-out room with but three machines (bike, treadmill, and an elliptical trainer) in a small room. I usually like to work out with a fitness ball, but none was available, nor was there space for such. The swimming pool afforded but one dressing room and no shower. We'd say that an upgrade for the exercise-minded is overdue.

Room Tip: Request (a) an upper floor and (b) a firm mattress and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At Spanish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Spanish Head

Address: 4009 Southwest Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#12 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn At Spanish Head, Lincoln City, is Oregon's only resort hotel built right on the beach. All guest and meeting rooms are oceanfront with floor-to-ceiling windows for spectacular views. Our 10th floor oceanfront restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a seasonal Sunday champagne brunch. Room service is also available. While visiting, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, indoor Jacuzzi spa and recreation room. There is easy access to miles of Oregon's beautiful, public beaches and fascinating tide pools are close by. We are located on the central Oregon coast where you will find a world-class aquarium, numerous golf course, hiking, deep-sea fishing, whale watching, birding, galleries, museums, shopping, surfing, live theatre and many more attractions and activities. Come stay in the middle of it all at the Inn At Spanish Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn At Spanish Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Spanish Head Hotel Lincoln City
Hotel At Spanish Head
The Inn At Spanish Head
Spanish Head Inn
At Spanish Head Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Spanish Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.