We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shearwater Inn to your Saves list
Shearwater Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 NW Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean-view from $89
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here on a whim, went down to Lincoln City for a Whitesnake concert at the casino. The hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating, the free wine tasting was a added bonus. They taste local wines, very nice. If you happen by Lincoln City try this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    91
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
61
257
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I'm thinking all of the negative reviews may have been when the old owners were there. Since a few months ago, they have new owners. The hotel is filled with warmth and welcome! The happy hour is very generous (which not a lot of places offer!), the staff is friendly (not fakey!) and the price falls below what most places charge for the kind of service and ammenities the O'dysius charges. They bring a warm breakfast to your door every morning with a smile!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We came to the O'dysius for special times and almost all my birthdays. We planned to stay for our 38th anniversary. We asked for their special and it took 3 days for the manager to say "No deal". Then they wanted to charge $75 to check in after 9 pm when I was coming back from a flight and it took another 2 days and they would not waive the fee. Ruined our anniversary expectations. We were loyal customers and now will not go back. They do not treat customers special anymore and I don't think they want business they way they handle people now. $75?? No one I know has ever heard of that, even friends who have stayed in Moscow.

Room Tip: Upper floors with balconies and in corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odysiusgm, Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on how we have dealt with reservations and unusual circumstances. As the new manager since beginning of October, I noticed this unfortunately event occured prior to my arrival. I apologize for our wrong-handling but I pledge hereby to do better from now on.
We will appreciate the chance to improve and show we are professional and service minded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have stayed off and on at this hotel for a decade or more, always on business, usually with my husband, sometimes with a colleague, typically 3 0r 4 times througout the year. I've stayed at Motel 6's (albeit many years ago) and this is nothing like that. Its more like an old grande dame and reminds me of many european boutique hotels I've stayed in over the years. I quit staying there during the tenure of a foolish manager, but recently received an email that he'd moved on, so I would consider going back. It had been family owned and operated for years previously and had always felt warmly welcomed (before the aforementioned guy) There is a fire in the fireplace going, its a little fussy like you're entering an english tea room or something but you can get a reasonably priced local wine to take up to your room and its generally pretty good. They host a nightly wine soiree, and breakfast is delivered with pastries, juices and coffee every morning. The ocean views are a little obstructed as they are not directly on the beach, but for a relaxing peaceful weekend, or a respite at the end of a long business travel day - this is a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for as high a floor as they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

THIS PLACE IS NOT WHAT IT APPEARS TO BE ON THE WEB! If you are looking for a romantic & luxurious getaway, as we were, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE! It appears that the owners bought some run down Motel 6, gave the exterior a paint job, added some rock work, maybe spruced up the lobby a bit, had a good photographer take deceiving pictures, & slapped up some 4 star plaques up on the walls. The front desk man (I believe his name was Tony) was absolutely awful! Our experience with him was THE WORST customer service I have ever encountered anywhere! I have received better customer service @ a gas station then I did our entire stay here. He didn't smile once or give us any sense that we were welcomed @ all. He treated us like some man who hated his life & his job & we were just some great inconvenience to him. He was absolutely cold! When I called the front desk for a cab recommendation his response was, "I don't know. Really any cab you call can take you to where you need to go." Then he hung up. Upon checkout, we were greeted the same way. A cold, rude man with not one ounce of customer service skills! He didn't even say, "good morning, how was your stay?" or "thanks for staying with us, have a nice day." The rooms were not worth the $150/night. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, there were stains all over the outdated & ugly furniture, there was no fan in the bathroom, the wallpaper was peeling in spots, the mini bar had NOTHING in it, & the view was an ABSOLUTE JOKE! You have a view of the ugly roof of a restaurant to one side and the back end of a couple mediocre hotels that are actually "ocean front" to the other. Sandwiched in between that, there's the ocean. The continental breakfast that they speak of is also a joke. You have your choice between a bagel & cream cheese or yogurt & granola, juice, & coffee or hot chocolate. The granola was so dosed in sugar that my husband couldn't eat it. They only gave you enough cream cheese for 1/2 of your bagel. They completely forgot my hot chocolate & when I called to tell "Tony" about it, I got no apology, just an "ok, I'll have her bring that up to you" & a click. The wine & cheese tasting was also a joke. They had 3 wines (1 of which you can buy @ any grocery store for about $8) & one tray of salami & cheddar that looked like it came from Safeway. I also told the person when we booked the place & "Tony" when we arrived that it was our anniversary & we were very excited to stay in a nice romantic hotel to celebrate, & not once did anyone say happy anniversary, or do anything for us @ all. At the very least I expected a happy anniversary, thank you for staying with us. We were EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED in our stay here, will never return, & will not recommend this place to anyone! I believe that we would have had a better time had we stayed @ a Motel 6!

Room Tip: Choose a room @ a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odysiusgm, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
I'm saddened to hear of such a negative experience that you encountered with us! I'll be certain to share your customer service comments with our staff....and we'll "sharpen up" if we were anything less then our typical exceptional standard that is so highly acclaimed here in Tripadvisor!

Obviously this was your first and last time with us so I wish you the best of luck, but in our defense we're not your cookie cutter hotel....we're a little, lovely hotel on the coast of Lincoln City. All our furniture is unique and custom, designed to make you feel like you're in someones home! We keep it clean and in very good condition, (as so many comments here in Trip Advisor reflects).

I wish you the best of luck in your future travels.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel doesn't look like the pictures on their website. It is VERY dated. It is designed for older guests (I am 23). It was not what I expected, I was very disappointed;

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odysiusgm, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Comments are always appreciated, we thank you for yours.
A few issues however to clarify... the pictures you see on our website, TravelAdvisor, other search engines and online travel agents are as is - no hampering, pampering, no photoshop...
Taste, flavor and color, even style are very personal and in my opinion not relevant to age.... the proof? many of our guests are of your age and do like the hotel very much. O'dysius is what it claims to be... a peaceful, restful, relaxing place.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this small boutique hotel. All rooms have a splendid ocean view and a good restaurant, Kyllos, is right next door.

Room Tip: The upper three floors have balconies; some rooms have kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Address: 120 NW Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious suites, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.