We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Historic Anchor Inn to your Saves list
Historic Anchor Inn
4417 SW Hwy 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Stuff at The Anchor
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Charming. Beautiful antiques. Cozy, themed rooms. I've stayed here many times and love the quiet ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
48
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roma - Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

if I ever go back to the Oregon coast, The Anchor will be the place to stay!

Room Tip: the room with the piano (can't remember its name or number - see pics) - first floor of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is one of those rare and wonderful old-fashioned inns. The owners chat with you. The rooms and public areas are filled with collectibles and antiques, curiosities and just plain fun stuff. My cabin was the Cowgirl cabin, identified by the paintings - all cowgirls in 1950s style paintings. Somehow that set the stage for me as I then wandered up to the main building and indulged -- usually I have a hard-boiled egg and juice -- in the hotel breakfast, a substantial and enticing meal. Don't miss this chance to go back a bit in time to what motels used to be, before they all became "6's", Super 8's and Expresses.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I've stayed at the Anchor Inn several times and have always liked it. The staff is friendly, the food is good and filling (that's why they're always packed come breakfast time) and the Inn itself is quaint and homey. And speaking of the food, if you're there when Kip makes his famous clam chowder, do yourself and favor and be there for dinner. It's so good people come from all the surrounding towns to have some. So, if you're in the area and would like to stay in a cool old historic inn and love good food, stay at the Anchor.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the cabins from personal experience because I've never stayed in one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Careful not to overlook this 1940s style motor court!

The exterior cabins harken back to an easier, more relaxed time. Travel to Lincoln City for the beaches and amazing views, but stay with Kip at the Anchor!

Each cabin is uniquely and thematically decorated with hand-picked "finds" from estate sales and antique shops in the area or "gifts" from the residents if this picturesque seaside town. The result is breath-taking.

While the plumbing can be cantankerous, the water gets nice and hot on those chilly mornings. They have updated the heating, so you can warm the cabin to your liking.

Step inside the main building for your breakfast and be treated to more ecclectic decor. Kip feeds his guests VERY well.

If you prefer a more modern hotel, there are rooms in the main building. I prefer the cabins myself.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

After reading the reviews we thought how cute, why not. It turned to a do not.Do not stay here. Yes the Inn may be o.k. ( although the room we checked out had a sway back bed) but the cabin was dismal. I really wanted to find this place charming but just couldnt. The old quilt over the thrift store sofa made the whole cabin smell musty , not good if you have allergies or just cant abide icky smells. The shower had no way of getting light to it so one had to shower as if blind. Dangerous.There was no hot water at the kitchen sink and I mean no hot water supply even, only cold. Huh? Pillows are from 10 years ago easy. This wasnt too bad as my husband and I always bring our own but if you have to use them......do not look under the case.Too gross. Kitchen sponge which I wouldnt use on a bet was I can only guess teeming with bacteria. Now yes I am a finicky person but we have stayed in 5 star places and dumps when no choice...........this was on the bottom due to lack of cleanliness and Please update the pillows at least.Price was only $10. less then the very nice room night before at best western across the street.Breakfast is only served 9 am to 10 am and that is way too late.Makes one feel they know that and dont want to have to feed you if possible. Most people that are traveling are long gone by 8 am. We didnt even bother with it.On the up side, people running it were very friendly. Probably great in its hey day but I would skip it now.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed one night with our 2 dogs on a Friday. Room was good, queen bed, nice couch, fresh coffee beans to grind, mini-kitchen, with refigerator and micro-wave. Very clean, and comfortable. Popcorn and extensive video library to checkout DVD or bring your own.
They serve a dinner on weekends, of pasta with soup/salad and desert. Reasonable price for dinner and the dining room has a ton of characture.
Breakfast was included in the room rate, choice of pancake or an enchalada, all served with good coffee. Better than the continental served at most hotels, even with limited choices.
Staff was very friendly which added to the atmosphere.

Room Tip: They have both cabins for pet friendly or in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchor Inn

Address: 4417 SW Hwy 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Anchor Inn is a small inn nestled in Lincoln City's historic Taft District. Steeped in romance, history, and 1940's nostalgia, the inn is being renovated with utmost care to evoke the Oregon Coast experience of a bygone era. We serve complimentary, hot, homemade breakfast every morning. And pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Historic Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.