We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dory Cove Restaurant

Dory Cove Restaurant
2981 SW Hwy 101, Roads End, Lincoln City, OR 97367
541-557-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 87 Restaurants in Lincoln City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this little diner! The food was incredibly good. The best fish and chips and clam chowder we ever ate!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    64
    35
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sad but True...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I previously reviewed this restaurant when times were economically better but now Dory Cove has seem to have fallen on hard times. The prices were always more than what they should be for this area, especially with all the fresh fish and crab available. In a community where everyone knows each other, they should be doing much better pricewize with the local fishing community. Now it seems that they charge for everything, even the bread, and the food has fallen down in quality. Something is amiss here with the owners and I'm thinking something personal may be getting in the way. Unfortunately the poor quality, high prices and lack of good customer service has gone on for some time. Where is Gordon Ramsay when you need him?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Lunch with another couple, each had different plate and it was great. Good flavor,not overlooked, and plenty to eat. We had good service and water was good. Some places have poor water but here was good and constantly filled. One minor problem is getting out of parking lot due to heavy traffic. This didn't affect the quality of the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This use to be an affordable and very good restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I realize the time are tough, however market price all over your menu, in a small hole in the wall dive like restaurant is no good. We stopped in for lunch and decided to just have chowder because the sandwiches were between $10-12 dollars each. That would be a club sandwich for 11.95!! WOW!! Not a good value. Before the old restaurant burned down, Dory's Cove had the best halibut fish and chips around at an extremely reasonable price. I suppose times change. I wouldn't recommend it if your on a budget, which lets face it, who isn't these days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“from service food and management this was worse than any place I have eaten at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

After being seated we waited while 3groups were seated and their order taken before ours. Our chowder was brought hot but with a dry skin on top from sitting out. The cod was so greasy one piece totally saturated 2 napkins with grease . Unable to eat such greasy food.the waiter never took a drink order so we were stuck with water. Which was the highlight of the meal. Not once did the waiter so back up until he brought the check. Upon paying we were at first short changed when brought to her attention she attempted to give me the $4 while attempting to take back a twenty oh righty then can we say learn to count. I asked to speak to a mgr but was told he was busy and she walked off. I called and asked for mgr only to be told he was busy but would return my call. I called back. 2 hrs later same answer. Called back at apx 6:30 only to be told mgr left but someone would call me right.back. well its now 9 and guess what no call. Please do not eat here unless you want disrespectful rude service and horrible food

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dory Cove Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dory Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dory Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.