We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This use to be an affordable and very good restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dory Cove Restaurant

Dory Cove Restaurant
2981 SW Hwy 101, Roads End, Lincoln City, OR 97367
541-557-4000
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 83 restaurants in Lincoln City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This use to be an affordable and very good restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I realize the time are tough, however market price all over your menu, in a small hole in the wall dive like restaurant is no good. We stopped in for lunch and decided to just have chowder because the sandwiches were between $10-12 dollars each. That would be a club sandwich for 11.95!! WOW!! Not a good value. Before the old restaurant burned down, Dory's Cove had the best halibut fish and chips around at an extremely reasonable price. I suppose times change. I wouldn't recommend it if your on a budget, which lets face it, who isn't these days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    64
    56
    31
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“from service food and management this was worse than any place I have eaten at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

After being seated we waited while 3groups were seated and their order taken before ours. Our chowder was brought hot but with a dry skin on top from sitting out. The cod was so greasy one piece totally saturated 2 napkins with grease . Unable to eat such greasy food.the waiter never took a drink order so we were stuck with water. Which was the highlight of the meal. Not once did the waiter so back up until he brought the check. Upon paying we were at first short changed when brought to her attention she attempted to give me the $4 while attempting to take back a twenty oh righty then can we say learn to count. I asked to speak to a mgr but was told he was busy and she walked off. I called and asked for mgr only to be told he was busy but would return my call. I called back. 2 hrs later same answer. Called back at apx 6:30 only to be told mgr left but someone would call me right.back. well its now 9 and guess what no call. Please do not eat here unless you want disrespectful rude service and horrible food

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not good - we were surprised at the poor quality.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not good at all. We had several items - bad chowder - bad everything. Just not worth the trip when you can go so many other places. The parking lot seems to be full - but wow - we will not go there again and won't take anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Avoidable Clam Chowder”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Like all restaurants serving clam chowder on the Oregon Coast, Dory Cove claims the Best on the Coast. It's not. Thick as flour paste and bland tasting, it ranks closer to the worst.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue River, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had breakfast at Dory Cove and it was great. They have many choices and the service and food get high rating. I'm sure there are cheaper breakfasts in L.C., but we came away happy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dory Cove Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dory Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dory Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.