We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dory Cove Restaurant

Dory Cove Restaurant
2981 SW Hwy 101, Roads End, Lincoln City, OR 97367
541-557-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 88 restaurants in Lincoln City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went here a few years ago and it was memorably good. Not now. Calamari overcooked and salty. Battered cod in a thick soft tastless coating. Salad was like a bag of greens from the grocery store. Good? The coke and french fries. Oysters were tasty and properly cooked. Redecorated like my grandma's house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    71
    58
    34
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

best value, consistent quality, and the only natural salt reduced fresh clam chowder for miles. They also have hand made tea (not instant) service is great and has been since our first visit in 1984

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Management terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Food was cold, manager very rude. Prices are high. I'm a member of a huge corporation and we come to the coast every year for a seminar with aprox 15 to 20 people. With my review of your restaurant, myself and all of my friends will never come here again and will not recommend.
However, Everyone loved the smokehouse and the big bald headed gentleman behind the counter was awesome! His knowledge of the wines coupled with his excellent customer service has made a permanent customer for all of us in years to come.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips, great clam chowder & weird deep fried...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a few days in Lincoln City and this unpretentious local joint was perfect for great clam chowder, good fish & chips on a very soggy evening. Good service, half decent glass of Oregon vino and just right battered cod. My wife had a pile of deep fried mix of seafood that was good, average and weird all on the same plate. Americans sure love to deep fry s*#t. Good restaurant/management practices that change the fry oil often and don't use Valvoline.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“THIS is the best Clam Chowder!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just want to announce that Dory's has the best clam chowder on the coast. There is another restaurant that claims that fame....but they are mistaken. I challenge you to take the taste test! The rest of the food is great as well....and the staff are top notch, the the clam chowder is the reason to go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dory Cove Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dory Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dory Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.