We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oregon coast hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Looking Glass Inn to your Saves list
Looking Glass Inn
861 SW 51st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bay View for $79
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Oregon coast hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We started our Oregon Coast adventure to the north in Cannon Beach, so I figured Lincoln City would be a good place to spend the night as we headed south along the coast. I chose Looking Glass Inn because of the good reviews I read on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased with this hotel. We reserved a third story jacuzzi room. It had a gas fireplace that turns on with a flip of a light switch. It was simply decorated and the bed and pillows were comfortable and we enjoyed the quiet. We had a great view of the bay from our balcony. The bay was across the street and the street was not very busy since it leads to a cul de sac at the end. As we explored the beach we were thrilled to see a colony of harbor seals lying on the beach across the bay near the outlet. There are places to eat within walking distance, I enjoyed the breakfast offerings. There is a little refrigerator under the counter of the breakfast spread containing individual cartons of milk, orange juice and yogurt. I took a packet of oatmeal. a carton of milk, orange juice, fruit , yogurt and coffee and brought it up to my room on a tray. There were bowls and a microwave in the room so I could warm up my oatmeal and eat breakfast in my room. My husband had a pastry. When we were checking out, I noticed that there was a computer in the lobby for the guests. If I ever get to return to Lincoln City I would like to stay at the Looking Glass Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    161
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
233
382
29
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband, our dog Dusty and I have been coming to Lincoln City for about 8 years. We've probably stayed in a dozen hotels, motels and B&Bs. But we have now found the only place we'll ever stay - The Looking Glass Inn. The staff were so wonderful and accommodating, the rooms were perfectly clean, the doggie 'welcome basket' and free use of doggie beds all made our visit absolutely wonderful. A quick jaunt down the road and we were suddenly on the driftwood-laden beach, perfect for nighttime bonfires.

Room Tip: Choose the big rooms with jacuzzi tubs if you have the budget and if they're available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was looking for a romantic getaway spot in Lincoln city and we had never stayed at the looking glass before, I decided to spend more to get one of the jacuzzi rooms but was disappointed by the noise of the tub. Not only was it ridiculously loud in our room but when the room next door turned theirs on we couldn't even hear the movie we were watching. The room was also pretty run down, little things we broken like our screen door, faucet, and towel hook. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the view, it says ocean view but it was really a view of the parking lot. We also left our hotel late one day and I made sure to ask the front desk if it was too late to have housekeeping make up the room they said it wasn't too late and they would send someone up, upon returning to the room that night the room had not been made up and we had to call to get fresh towels and blankets. All in all I would not recommend staying here there are so many better hotels in the area for a similar price

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westoverinns, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are very sorry that this guest didn't enjoy their stay with us. Our Whirlpool Suites do have bay or ocean views over the 51st street promenade. We strive to have clean, well maintained rooms at all times. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication with housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved the place and will return. Easy access to lots of beach. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is great and we liked that we could take back to the room on a tray. Our critters loved to be able to get on the bed with their people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very pleasant inn in a perfect location. It is right by the beach, with views of the bay. The neighborhood is very quiet at night. The room was very large, with a fridge/micro. They are extremely pet friendly; even give you a basket with sheets,towels, and doggie dishes. The employees are so friendly and helpful; a dream to work with. We'd return here anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Looking Glass Inn is a right and proper DREAM! The location is ridiculous, right there on the beach and the bay and just across from Mo's. A great place to watch some seals waddle about, and have a fantastic fire on the beach.

The staff was super accommodating and friendly. We had to move rooms and the staff moved all of our gear for us while we were at lunch. Plus, we were there to do a benefit concert for the local elementary and they treated all of the musicians like heroes and our families as well. Can not recommend it highly enough. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a 2 room suite last minute and it was HUGE! Very clean and all the amenities you need, full size fridge, microwave, oven, full sink, its more like an apartment than a hotel room. Management was friendly. The location is also great, just steps from the beach, my only regret is that we didnt stay longer!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Address: 861 SW 51st Street, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looking Glass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.