We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish Extraordinaire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bill's Seafood Market

Barnacle Bill's Seafood Market
2174 NE Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
541-994-3022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish Extraordinaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Best place to buy fish in Lincoln City. We have never been disappointed. Get the smoked salmon and buy some cream cheese for an appetizer before your halibut and you will leave your family truly happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best smoked salmon I've ever tasted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Barnacle Bill's has great, fresh-caught seafood. It's what my Scottish husband calls a "fish monger's"--it's not a restaurant, in other words. You choose the fresh or smoked seafood that you want, and take it away with you. My very favorite offering from them is their "super moist" smoked salmon. It's very, very moist, and very fatty. VERY expensive, too--but it's the option for smoked salmon that we choose every single time when we want to treat ourselves! Then we take it down to the beach, sit in our car, watch the waves, and savor every small mouthful of that salmon from heaven! Make sure you ask for their moistest offering if you're into salmon and want to try this. There are two other kinds of smoked salmon that they do, there, in addition to their super moist variety....

And if you're not into salmon, never fear--ALL of their seafood is fresh, delicious, and worth every penny. They'll even pack it in ice and bag it up for you, and if you spend a certain amount, they'll provide a styrofoam cooler for your purchases, to ensure it all makes it home as fresh and good as when it left their storefront. Just remember that you'll have to cook it yourself, unless you get something already smoked :-).

My only complaint? They accept cash, only. No cards. There have been times when we've had to pass them by when we wanted to stop because we didn't have enough cash on hand, and we didn't want to have to go elsewhere to get it. With luck, perhaps someday they'll be set up to take debit and credit. I hope so!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Even on a foggy nite the salamon spread is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped by and bought salmon to take with us and salmon spread dip. Wow was it ever good! Used it one morning as part of omelettes and it couldn't have been better. Poepl behind the counter were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely stop here again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best fish market this side of Pikes Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you want fresh seafood on your trip to Lincoln City this is the place. Their smoked salmon is one of the best I've ever had. The staff is extremely friendly and they know their seafood!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely incredible smoked salmon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been eating there smoked salmon for the last couple of years and it has completely ruined all the other smoked salmon that I used to get at the store and Costco. The flavor and tenderness is like nothing I have ever tasted before. I found out that they have been making it in the back of there store front by hand for over 30 years, secret family recipe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Bill's Seafood Market also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Barnacle Bill's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bill's Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.