We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ester Lee Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ester Lee Motel
Save
You added Ester Lee Motel to your Saves list
3803 S.W. Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We just came back home from Ester Lee and I want to go back already! I so miss the beautiful ocean view.

We stayed in a corner motel room with one bedroom, fireplace and little kitchen. It was the perfect layout and had everything we needed.

Positives:
The best view I could ever imagine
Kitchen
Comfortable bed
Lots of towels and extra blankets
Nicely furnished
Very private - You really do NOT hear your neighbors
Good location
Board games you can borrow in the lobby

Negatives:
If you like to drink a tap water, you should probably buy a bottled water instead. Because the water tastes really bad. It made my throat dry and I felt thirsty even more.
The shower head is horrible. I felt like I was taking a shower with a spray head instead.
The fireplace stopped working twice because of the wind outside.

Room Tip: Corner motel rooms. Also, there is a perfect virtual tour on their pages of both the cottages and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    147
    17
    20
    18
See reviews for
141
216
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After a night next door at the Inn at Spanish Head we got a very nice room here. Their website has videos scanning 360 degrees for every room in the place. Very hand and helpful in choosing a room. Nice kitchette is a great bonus saving a bundle in food cost. Saved us about $80 for 3 meals. We parked in front of our room on the first floor. New mattresses we think. Immaculate inside and very clean outside. Real Gas Flame wood type cast iron stove, plue normal electric baseboard. No ticking. Quiet fridge. Extra towells and such. We will be back to this fine establishment. A little nicer and fresher than the adjacent Edgecliff. Opened the large windo a little so we could enjoy the sound of the surf all night long. Wonderful. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: Check out their actual website and watch the videos of each room. Look at that rooms position on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've been coming to the Ester Lee Motel for years. We love it there. The view is awesome. You're high enough to see for miles on a clear day. The staff is always reallly friendly. If you tell them you're visiting for a special occasion (birthday or anniversary) they will put your message on their reader board and take a photo of the sign for you. It's a neat touch. The rooms are always very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Several good friends and I stayed in the two bedroom cottage. It was great and there was plenty of room. We loved the large picture window with a the great view of the ocean. The kitchen was large and had all of the dishes and cookwere needed to prepare meals. A couple of my freinds had stayed at the Ester Lee before but this was my first time. And I am a life long Oregonian. I am sorry that I hadn't discovered this little gem before now. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Try the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have stayed at the Ester Lee before so wanted to go back. Yes, the property is a bit dated, however the view is absolutely fabulous...Corner Room 211 is my favorite, queen size, fireplace, large room, comfy chairs, nice kitchenette with picture windows looking right down onto the beach with the surf hitting the rocks. Miles of sandy beach. Million dollar view that only cost $75.00 per day, winter rates. Very clean and most pleasant staff. In February 2014 I had hopped for a nice Pacific storm with big waves...instead I got 4 days of sunshine and no wind. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Definitely reserve Room 211 in advance for couple or single...they also have multiple bedrooms and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently took a fabulous road trip up and down the Oregon Coast and I stayed at the Ester Lee both ways.

I loved it so much. I was looking for some place where I could really see the ocean the whole time, and where the view was spectacular!! FOUND IT!!!!!!

Wow. I stayed in the cottage section and there you have a kitchen, as well as an incredible view. I stayed in two different cottages, one on the patio level and one on the street level. I loved both of the views, and both cottages were well equipped with everything you could possibly need. I am sure the motel section is great too, as surely you have that same view.

Did I mention the view? HA! Because it is really magnificent!

However, the staff is equally as wonderful!! Really very friendly and very quick and on top of things! I really liked chatting with them, and also with Ester Lee! Wonderful vintage touch!! They all make your stay truly lovely. Thanks again to all of you!!!

I highly recommend the Ester Lee. I am really in love with this place, can you tell?? Convenient location too. I even love the graphic on their logo!!! You will never be sorry if you choose the Ester Lee, and I hope to be there again soon! What a gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a little old fashioned, but homey. The views from the Ester Lee are awesome, and the beach access is one of my favorites in Lincoln City! Tidal pools are right behind the motels/cottages. It is great to have a kitchen, and the rooms feel private as if it were an apartment rather than a hotel with a hallway of rooms where you can hear your neighbors! Great for having our baby along with us who wakes to every sound... (The rooms are quiet). I won't stay at any other place while I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Address: 3803 S.W. Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ester Lee Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.