We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location can't be beat but the rooms leave something to be desired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“location can't be beat but the rooms leave something to be desired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I could really tell they tried to renovate the rooms, but it looks like they just did it themselves or hired an inexperienced carpenter. What sounded like a good idea on paper ended up being a hindrance once we arrived and used the hot tub in the middle of the bedroom space. The fireplace was nice and the bathroom didn't have anything wrong with it. The sliding glass door took all of my 6'3" 220 lb frame to open and close it. The people upstairs and next door were loud with kids so they went to bed late and got up really early, didn't bother complaining about it though. People were nice and like I said the location is really second to none. You're on the beach. I'd definitely stay here again and get the same type of room we had (first floor with a deck), but I wouldn't use the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    64
    36
    15
    25
See reviews for
45
108
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were amazed by what a great room right on the beach we got for such a price! We are budget travelers and I would highly recommend if your looking for a reasonable price stay-wont find any better. Its an older building so obviously some wear but remodeled very tastfully,and the room was spacious. The front desk lady was very friendly and gave us some good ideas of activities in the area. We later stayed at the Tolovana Inn in Cannon Beach and wished we could go back to Sailor Jacks. I will definatelywill be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sailor Jacks is an older hotel that has been adequately freshened up. The front desk staff were great. What makes this motel so good is the location on the Lincoln City beach. You walk around the office and down a set of stairs and you are on the beach. A really nice beach with a nice mixture of flat sand and some rocks close by to explore. You can walk for quite a ways in both directions from the property. When you are done, walk up the stairs and into your room. No fighting crowds, trying to find legal parking etc. They even have lights set into the hillside pointing towards the waves so they are illuminated for a majority of the evening.
If you are looking for a new, 4 star hotel with large rooms and fancy bathrooms, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a huge picture window right next to your table with an outstanding view of the ocean 24/7, look here. This is our third or fourth stay at Sailor Jacks. Staff were especially accomodating this visit.

Room Tip: If the stairs don't bother you, the third floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sailor Jack. We are continuing to improve the property and are glad you enjoyed the surf light too! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sailor Jack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room had been recently remodeled and was fine. A bit of new caulk around the sink would have helped the appearance. My big gripe, and this is a big one, is the parking lot. It is small and dark. We were on our way out to enjoy New Year's Eve, and I stepped into a sunken drainage grate which was about 3 inches deep. I spent a few hours in the emergency room due to breaking both the tibia and the fibula at the ankle. Because of the papers you sign when you check in, "sign here, initial here" the hotel claims to not be liable. I now need surgery and plates put in my ankle. It would have been nice if they had offered to pay my deductible. But nooooo. So, this is a clean, cheap place to stay with a great ocean view. Just carry a large flashlight when you are in the parking lot. (And your medical insurance card.)

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
When we were made aware of the incident, we expected them to come back and show us the injury. We thought everything was okay and feel sorry that she had a bad experience. The drainage and light situation is a Lincoln City matter - the drainage area and the lights belong to the City. We try to contact the City frequently, but they set their own schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Friendly place for people and pets. Like the jacuzzi and incredible view . Bed jacks would be helpful so you can gaze out at the waves without lifting your head.



Why do the reviews have to be 200 characters?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sailor Jack and your suggestions have been noted! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stay here and always get a good deal on the price..thay beet any price for us...we stay in december end of the month...very happy to keep coming back...room 204 is very clean and fresh with a great view...the scanlon family...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Sailor Jack! We're glad you enjoyed the surf light too - watching the waves from your room and listening to the sound of the ocean is very therapeutic. Happy New Year - We look forward to seeing you again soon in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been a frequent customer for many years (5+), noticed the high turnover with management. Now I know why. I was placed in a room a few months ago that was not finished. I left and the managers said next time we came to stay if would be free, cuz of the situation they put us in being in a non finished room. I rented a hot tub room and it was not clean and was given cleaner and advised that I would have to clean it cuz house keeping was gone. I have been into a room where the headboards had nasty sticky stuff on them, After all that I was still willing to stay there cuz I liked it. Well, last week we spoke to the new manager about my free room and they were not willing to stick to what they said a free room but was willing to take $5.00 of the room for the two nights we were going to stay. WELL, YOU HAVE LOST MY BUSNIESS FOR EVER AS WELL AS MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY THAT STAY WITH YOU. My husband and I travel a lot and stay in hotels at least once a month, but never again with you.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel, Try Pelican inn, it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Our motel policy is that we give out a gift certificate for a future stay - we do not just give out free rooms. Since you had no gift certificate, we offered a discount to you as we cannot give out free rooms without evidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
3.1 mi away
Siletz Bay Lodge
Siletz Bay Lodge
#24 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palace Inn & Suites
Palace Inn & Suites
#30 of 36 in Lincoln City
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites Lincoln City
0.5 mi away
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging
Sea Horse Oceanfront Lodging
#19 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest vintage lodging accommodations in Lincoln City, this hotel offers 40 oceanfront guest rooms with many room styles and sizes to choose from including rooms with fireplaces, decks (1st floor only), Jacuzzis and Suites. All rooms have Refrigerator, Microwave, DVD player and coffee maker. We have Guest Laundry and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.