We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother, not worth it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Save Saved
You added Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 hotels in Lincoln City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't bother, not worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The sliding door was soooo hard to close and didn't close all the way! The smokers next door could hear everything that went on in our room and we could smell their smoke thanks to the perma gap in our sliding door!

It wasn't any better when they nicely switched to the front of the hotel at our request, because the front door has no weather stripping. There were fleas. When we asked the desk to clean the spa, and they did, it still spit brown goo from the jets. After requesting cleaning supplies and being told they didn't have any, (no wonder there was filth in the jets!) I purchased my own. Spent an hour cleaning the jets, running the system and it still spit brown flakes of greasy goo.

Five days we stayed, five days we told them it was unusable. The fifth day, a worker knocked on the door and we left him to it. Happy to come back six hours later for a bit of spa heaven. What can I say, it was our honeymoon! Nope. Dirty footprints in the shower tub and a used toothpick in the tub. The maid never cleaned despite the sign requesting it.

After we discovered our room hadn't been fixed or cleaned and had been dirtied by the handyman, we decided to leave. We packed up and I dropped off the keycards. When desk guy asked why we were leaving abruptly I told him. He informed me that he would levy a $200 fine against our neighbors for smoking on the deck, and that he was sorry we never told the desk about our problems.

I was astounded. I told him I'd reported it, but nothing had been done, he thought I was over reacting so I showed him the dirty spa jet pictures. He agreed those were icky but that they would have cleaned them if they knew. I corrected him, those pictures were taken AFTER the maid had made the room ready for us and the manager had cleaned the tub a second time.

He was unwilling to reimburse me for the cleaning supplies, the difference in room rates for the spa we couldn't use, the time I spent cleaning or the fact that we were leaving a night early. He was happy to charge the nice neighbors $200 for smoking and to keep our money as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of Sailor Jack. The concerns you raised have been corrected and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    17
    6
    20
See reviews for
31
76
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is excellent value for money in September. I was there on Sept 12th. I had previously stayed at Surftides in Lincoln City (and I reviewed it last year) -- it was very good, but they keep their prices up until October, and only then do they go on winter rates. Sailor Jack has good rates in September [after Labor Day], which suited me fine. Splendid view from 3rd floor.
They have worked on sprucing up this motel and my room was just fine -- a large Queen room up on the 3rd floor with a GREAT view. Coffee maker, fridge and microwave. $59.95 " Manager's Special". What's not to like ? I would rate Surftides slightly better as they have balconies on the upper floors, but they were asking well over $100 for the night of my visit to Lincoln city.

Sailor Jack has a patios-deck for the first floor rooms, but not on the upper floors.
Nice staff -- it was a good spot. Enjoy

Room Tip: 3rd floor has best view, but no elevator, so you have to hike up. If you are healthy & strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank You so much for staying with us! We are always pleased to hear from someone who has enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how we did.
Hope to see you again next time. Mike, Director of Op's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've have stayed at Sailor Jacks twice in the last 2 mths and both times have been wonderful! My husband and I are going to make this our place to go from now on, and partially because of the amazing managers and their willingness to make us and our dogs happy. Cindy and Stuart were both so nice and funny, they treated us like we were old buddies. We also LOVE the fact that we can take 2 dogs at a time with a minimal fee for them, also that is at the end of a dead end rd so there are places to walk them, and it's nice and quiet. The rooms have beautiful views, the new beds are incredibly comfortable and there are nice flat screen TV's with screens big enough to see from the bed which is great!!! And my husband liked that...ALOT! The rooms were roomy, clean, smelled fresh and extremely well priced considering the gorgeous ocean view, the close beach access and Cindy and Stuart as managers! Thank you Benny for putting in the time and money to make Sailor Jacks an amazing vacation getaway paradise!! In fact, I'll be calling Cindy tomorrow to check some dates for October for a friend, her daughter and I to return for a "Girls Rule!" trip. Can't wait to come back, relax and be treated like friends. Thanks again Cindy & Stuart, you guys rock!! And Gizmo and Congo give you 2 big paws up:)

Room Tip: The rooms with the decks are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Sailor Jack! We value our guests' opinions and have made many improvements this year. We are pleased that you had another great experience at Sailor Jack and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my husband and dog stayed at this hotel and it was great. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room was a king with a deck and we absolutely loved it. The room was very roomy and clean. Our dog had a blast with us walking on the beach. It is a very nice romantic getaway and we are planning on returning here for our anniversary in october. I have stayed numerous places on the beach and by far I think this hotel is the best value for the money. In the office they also provide a wide selection of dvds for rent and have alot of information on various attractions. The hotel was completely booked so that tells me that they are doing something right. Thank you staff for making our stay fun. We look forward to seeing you in october.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sailor Jack Motel! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuing to improve the property and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Under new management, very caring and friendly. Best bed we've slept in up and down coast. Awesome view: beach front, and it really is! 42 stairs down to beach. 2nd floor has deck and sauna. We were on the 3rd floor and were able to watch whales, wind surfers, and kites from room. Can't say enough good about the place/staff. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If bothered by stairs, request 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let others know what you thought of your accomidations here. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are at the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let's face it, when I stay at a hotel the first thing to tip me off about the property, is the staff's attitude and willingness to please it's clients. I should have known when I made the reservation this would not be the place for us, However, it being a weekend in the middle of summer, I was in need of a room for the night.
I can't say that we would ever stay here again. While the property had an ok view, it wasn't exactly worth the price.
Upon check in the receptionist was anything but friendly. She gave off a terrible attitude and portrayed that we were more of a nuisances than a paying customer.
Upon arriving in the room, all looked well and fine until You were in there for very long, and then You could see all of the nasties.
The shower had mold, spiders and ants. We didn't even bother calling the front desk as our previous expirience told us she wouldn't be of much help.
This was really a disappointing stay. The location is fabulous but the hospitality, not so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello, First of all thank you for choosing Sailor Jack's for your weekend stay. I am very sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your accomidations. We take pride in making sure our guests are taken care of. The person that helped you when you called and checked-in is no longer part of our team and we hope you will come see us again and give us another chance to have you as our guest and see that you are pleased with your accomidations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEND
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first time staying at Sailor Jack's, but it won't be our last! We needed a place that was dog friendly and neither of us wanted to stay in a chain. Plus, it was our first trip to the coast since moving to Central Oregon, so we really wanted it to be special. I made the reservations over the phone with Benny, the owner. Very nice man and very patient with me! We reserved a king room with a jacuzzi tub & fireplace on the lower level. The room had a deck that opened up to the grass area just a few feet from the stairs that you took to the amazing beach! We were there a total of 4 nights. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone looking to stay in Lincoln City. It's a block or so off of Hwy. 101 so you don't hear any noise from traffic (ha! What traffic!!); Bennie and his staff are really wonderful also. Very relaxing stay!

Room Tip: We were on the lower level, king room with an open deck. Most of the lower level rooms have a deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to post a review online. We are pleased to hear that your accomidations were satisfactory and look forward to seeing you again next time you come to the Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest vintage lodging accommodations in Lincoln City, this hotel offers 40 oceanfront guest rooms with many room styles and sizes to choose from including rooms with fireplaces, decks (1st floor only), Jacuzzis and Suites. All rooms have Refrigerator, Microwave, DVD player and coffee maker. We have Guest Laundry and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.