We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you love the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Tracy, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stay here if you love the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place may not be four star but if you want VERY comfortable and right on the ocean at an affordable price then this is the place. Rooms look to be remodeled in the past 2 years and they were spotlessly clean. The room had a jacuzzi tub that was OUTSTANDING. The managers were new to the facility and yet they seemed like they new all the right places to go. That is an added feature you don't often get. We would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Every room is good but stay in the jacuzzi room for a relaxing time with an awesome view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    59
    28
    13
    23
See reviews for
38
98
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Went to the beach for a quiet getaway and found this place. Couldn't be any happier. Friendly managers set me up with a fantastic king room with a jacuzzi tub on the top floor. Bed was comfortable, new furniture was nice, and I was surprised to see a flat screen tv in the room, was expecting a fat box. Besides the cheesy wifi password (those who have stayed there know what I mean), Sailor Jack offers a good deal for good rooms. I'll be returning in the fall.

Although I didn't need it, I should mention that there is no swimming pool. Hence the 1/5 rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I’ve stayed at Sailor Jack’s five times over the past few years. That’s not necessarily because it’s the best place to stay on the Oregon Coast. It’s more due to my husband’s fond memories of staying here as a kid, and the amazing views for very little money. Let’s face it: People generally aren’t going to the Oregon coast for luxury travel; they’re going because they appreciate the outdoors. If you don’t want to spend a ton of money, and you don’t mind few amenities and an outdated motel room (including questionable handyman work), this motel will be great for you. Every room faces the ocean, parking is free, wifi is free, rooms have DVD players (and a RedBox close by), it’s fairly quiet, and you can leave your window open all night and listen to the ocean waves. Plus, you walk out the hotel, walk down some steep steps, and you’re right on the beach. I'd personally rather stay in a non-luxurious room and see and hear the ocean all night than stay in a more updated spot with parking lot views, and for that reason, I give Sailor Jack's 4 stars.

Room Tip: While first floors might offer hot tubs or fire places, save money and stay on the third floor for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem or
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Since the supposed "face lift" prices have sky rocketed and all you have to show for it is higher pricing "almost double" and some new light fixtures. I had stayed there many, many times and have recommended numerous people to them for business. DO NOT waste your money here. It is loud and they do a bad job at policing the place. Once the office closes at 9 or 10 PM you don't see them until the next morning at check out. The old managers were the greatest. They always went out of their way to please. I am so sad to see them go!!!! As for current management they need a few hospitality courses. It really makes us sad that it took to people to ruin such a great business.

Room Tip: A room down the road would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJack O, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Sailor Jack's. We did do a complete renovation of the rooms including new furniture, carpet, bedding, and interior. On the weekend our rates are slightly higher than mid-week. While the lobby does close at 10:30 pm there is always a night phone and a number you can call from your room to get immediate assistance. I hope that the next time you come to the coast you will give us another chance, as we do put an emphasis on Guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unbelievably great hotel right on the beach with a awesome view. I was skeptical at first because it was a local owned not chain hotel. I was pleasantly surprised at the property. I would send my parents there to stay. I will be back for future visits. Forget the expensive chain hotels in Lincoln city or even the larger hotels. Do your self a favor and your wallets and check out Sailor Jacks you will be sold. The beds are comfortable, the room was amazingly clean and well care for. The beach access was on property, quick and easy and the view from the room was terrific; full view of the ocean; what I sunset we saw!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We booked 2 nights at Sailor Jacks and loved it. The location is central to Lincoln City, close to everything. We had a beautiful ocean front view. We had our 2 4 legged kids with us too. We had easy access to the pet area, and to the beach. The room was nice, recently updated, comfortable bed, clean. There were a few cosmetic things that could be addressed but nothing that was disturbing at all. We had a piece broken on the deck, we called the front desk and with in 15 minutes they came and fixed it. For the money, it's a good value. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the only rooms with decks and sliding glass doors, something that was imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

we stayed at sailor jacks last week. very good stay, clean room & bath, soft bed, very good view of ocean , the management was very nice. we will be back thank you for a very good stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Mike Crawford, Operations Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest vintage lodging accommodations in Lincoln City, this hotel offers 40 oceanfront guest rooms with many room styles and sizes to choose from including rooms with fireplaces, decks (1st floor only), Jacuzzis and Suites. All rooms have Refrigerator, Microwave, DVD player and coffee maker. We have Guest Laundry and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.