We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place at a very good PRICE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place at a very good PRICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed at this place many many times. Its my go to place when I am headed to the coast for the weekend. An older couple manages it, and they are just amazing. They are always there to help you and offer places to go eat or see. The rooms are always very clean. I always get the King Hot Tub room with the ocean view and deck. All the rooms have an ocean view which are nice, plus at 100 a night for a hot tub room, that's the best deal on the Oregon Coast. If you want a nice, quite place to stay, at a reasonable rate, then this is your place. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    24
    11
    22
See reviews for
36
90
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

On a cold rainy night in February, 2011, I took my confirmation E-mail for a nights stay at Sailor Jack's and presented it to the manager at the front desk. Where upon he informed me that they did not honor reservations made online through Expedia and he had not rooms left to rent. The fact that I had a reservation confirmed and paid for made no difference to him. He sent me out in the cold with no place to stay.
Once my Visa statement arrived in the mail, I noticed that the charges for the room I never stayed in had not been credited back. I called the manager at Sailor Jack's and was told it was not his problem which resulted in my having to dispute the charges to recieve the credit due me. If you want to avoid stress and a hastle, just avoid renting from Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailorJacks, General Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
As I said when you came in with reservation Expedia has no contract with us and we never received a reservation from them.We also did find a room for you at another motel. We were full so i Had no rooms left or we would have given you a room. we at no time said it was not our problem or acted like it didnt matter because it does.We value our name and reputation...Your problem was with expedia which we told you to call them and tell them what was going on..and to request a refund. At no time had we received a reservation or funds from them. We are sorry for the problems you encountered. If you would please give us another try call us direct or make a reservation on our webpage as we have no contract with any travel website except trip advisor. We would like to make it up to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed last month with them, and used a coupon. cost $54.99 great deal. So we wanted a fireplace this time and we now had a dog. Couldn't use coupon this time. We understood that and their winter rates are not bad. All rooms have ocean view. But by the time, we had added the fireplace, the dog and room tax, We were just under $90.00 per night. Plus we were on the second floor, with older steep stairs, my knees can't do that and our bassethound was afraid of them, as the steps themselves were narrow. We probably will stay again, but only if we can get ground floor. But there are better pet friendly hotels in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here (for two nights) in August and loved it! Ocean view from our second-floor window, beach access and wonderful restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We would advise that you stay on the 2nd floor. While the 1st floor rooms have balconies, the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked this Motel based on past experiences and 'boy were we disappointed'. First they claim to be Pet friendly but they tell you when you check in that you have to take the dogs off the property to go Potty. OFF THE PROPERTY and all the neighboring places have great big signs posted, "NO DOGS Allowed"
What is pet friendly about that.
The carpets were wet & you could not go barefoot. The windows are too dirty to see out of. They do not allow Pets anywhere on their grounds. What a crock, but they are happy to charge you $30.00 a night for Dogs, as long as your dogs do not have to go Potty while they are there. We will NEVER NEVER NEVER stay there again.
Oh, and by the way if you dirty a coffee cup or a dish, you must wash them or you will be charged. What a Joke. @ $125-150. per night. Oh and We killed bugs, Earwigs, all over the room for 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailorjacks, Manager at Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We are sorry your experience at Sailor Jack was not good.We wish you had talked to us about the problems. We have two pet areas one on property and one off property, we instruct guests to the location of each. The neighbors do have a no pet sign on their property. you had two pets and our policy is &10.00 per night per pet and we onlycharged you for one pet per night not 30.00 per night. im sorry you feel you dont have to wash it if you dirty it but it is our policy, and you only paid 99.99 + tax per night not 125-150. we wash the windows twice a week but with the salt spray they get dirty in a couple of days. I do not understand how the carpets were wet as that room was shampooed two weeks ago.if you had bugs you should have informed us of this. Please if you have a problem any where you stay do not hesitate to inform management. We at Sailor Jack are committed to our Guests and if we had been informed we would have done our best to rectify all problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I came to spend the night with my sister,who has stayed there many times- I was pleased with the room - The view was great! My hubby & I plan a trip this next wknd now- Nice little hide away jewel of Lincoln City !!!

Room Tip: the rooms with a deck are great to sit out on when its nice -will have to try the next time one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

What a quaint and charming motel. We always get the kitchen suite. It is an older hotel but always clean. Ocean front, with wood burning fireplace. Staff is alway super friendly and kind and helpful. We won't stay anywhere else when in Lincoln city! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest vintage lodging accommodations in Lincoln City, this hotel offers 40 oceanfront guest rooms with many room styles and sizes to choose from including rooms with fireplaces, decks (1st floor only), Jacuzzis and Suites. All rooms have Refrigerator, Microwave, DVD player and coffee maker. We have Guest Laundry and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Hotel Lincoln City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.