We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
3725 NW Keel, Lincoln City, OR 97367   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Lincoln City B&B and Inns
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in the front room on the top floor. The room was clean. Very difficult to get to, the outside steps were trickty to climb. the ceiling in the room itself had such a big dormer that you had to be careful getting out of bed. The room was not well ventilated in the bathroom section. You couldn't open the window easily and the screen needed repair. The view was ok. The bed was comfortable. I am glad that no one was in the next room, not much privacy. I feel that it was overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Stayed with family at the Brey House. Got the two downstairs rooms, with the sitting area. Nice, clean rooms. Good, hearty breakfast, and very pleasant host. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We've been staying at the Brey :House for over ten years and have always found Milt (now deceased) and Shirley to host a charming B&B with wonderful breakfasts, and a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean, including spouting whales, from the breakfast room window. Shirley took over the cooking a couple of years ago when Milt became too ill to cook. She has continued to maintain the Brey House reputation for outstanding breakfasts, adding some new recipes of her own to the menu. The rooms are always neat and clean and Shirley is quick to attend to any requests or concerns. If you're looking for a place to stay on the Oregon Coast, don't pass up this gem!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Brey House along with my parents. We were very disappointed in the service and accomodations offered at this B&B. The furnishings were very outdated, tattered and unkempt. A lopsided pool table was given rave reviews by the Innkeeper as a point of entertainment. The breakfast was tasty, but very sub par to other B&B's we've stayed in. The food was rationed and some of the selections tasted as though they were "day old". The last day we were there, we were greeted in the morning (8am) with the outside windows to our bedroom being sprayed with a hose. This was very loud and annoying, especially since we were trying to relax on our last morning there. Lastly, the Innkeeper made several reminders that "check out" time was at 11am and that we needed to keep that in mind. I did write the Innkeeper with my comments, but she justified her actions with " Innkeepers try to make every guest coming through their doors as happy as possible knowing full well that task is impossible".
We will not be returning to the Brey House, nor will we recommend it to friend or foe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I love the Brey House, and have been coming here for about 18 years. It truly feels like you have stepped into the comfort of your own home, with none of the responsibilities of staying home. The beds are very comfortable, with quilts, flannel sheets, and lots of pillows. Each room has its own bathroom, and the towels are thick and fluffy. Shirley is the bestest host ever, and welcomes you in as if she's known you for years. The breakfasts are something you don't want to sleep through, even if you aren't a breakfast person. Fresh fruit, a variety of juices, wonderful entrees, and a small slice of awesome cheescake to finish it off. I can't recommend this B&B enough. I've tried other B&B's that have been nice, but the Brey House outshines them all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamhill, OR
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This home is located just back from the beach. The house was built in the 40s and altered into a bed and breakfast. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the surf and some attractive wooded headlands to the north. I found some of the decor items to be slightly dated but the room was clean and comfy. The two less expensive rooms on the lower level definitely do not have as nice of a view. The innkeepers have had this B & B for 23 years, which is almost unheard of longevity for innkeepers. Breakfast was an egg-croissant sauce and cheese thing with lots of fresh fruit and a small piece of cheesecake. It was plenty filling and we were offered seconds. A hot tub was available on the premises, but we chose not to use it due to the windy, rainy weather.

In sum, this was a positive lodging experience, very comfy and satisfying, though not extravagantly luxurious, very much in keeping with the moderate cost.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I camped down the Oregon Coast in early July and decided to spend a few nights with the Brey's at their bed and breakfast. The charming yellow house was exactly what we were expecting from the website and Shirley welcomed is with a great tour and tips about Lincoln City and surrounding area. Our room was large with a great view of the ocean and a huge bathroom! The pop and water and chocolates were a wonderful touch. Breakfasts were amazing with homemade goodies that are sure to keep you going until after lunch! The scones were fantastic, and the egg creations were to die for! Watching the seagulls go after leftovers was hilarious, and the ocean view for breakfast was a great way to start the day. Be sure to ask for reccommendations for dinner... The place we tried was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 3725 NW Keel, Lincoln City, OR 97367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln City
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breyhouse Ocean View Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.