We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing stay at a hotel with so much potential.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Lake Oswego
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay at a hotel with so much potential.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stay in the Portland area for work quite often and have stayed at this property a few times. As much as I really want to love this hotel, I have to say it has a bit of an identity crisis. I like it because it has more character than the typical Holiday Inn and HIX that I normally stay at. It is also usually pretty reasonably priced, has free parking, and I'm usually given free breakfast. So it's a good value overall. When you walk in you are greeted by a beautiful atrium that goes up 6 floors and includes some nice water features. You can tell it's an older hotel, but has gone through some updates over the years. On this occasion, I was upgraded to a fantastic corner suite, which is a true two room suite, and much appreciated. Again, while the room feels a bit dated, it was furnished with two large LCD TV's (one bedroom, one living room) and modern furnishings. We went to bed thinking we had scored a fantastic stay. However, about 5:00 am we woke to a very chilly room. I got up to turn up the heat and noticed that it only seemed to get colder. Sure enough the vents were blowing out cold air. I double checked that the thermostat was set to heat and not cool, but it still did nothing but blow out cold air. It said the room temp was 51 degrees even though we had the "heat" cranked for an hour. We then went to take a quick shower and head out, but the shower handle would just spin and no water would come out. We had the front desk clerk come up and he couldn't get either the heat or the water to work in the room. He did send us to another room to get ready for the day (we were only staying 1 night) and apologized. We got ready and went down for breakfast. While I appreciate the free breakfast buffet, this is an area that could use a bit of an improvement. Honestly, the buffet at HIX tend to be better. The waffles in the chafing dish were cold and the other items were pretty limited. Also, there is only 1 person acting as hostess, server, buffet stocker, and room service delivery. However, if you just want to grab some toast and a yogurt, it works fine.

If this hotel does have so much potential and I would stay here more often, but they do have a few issues to work out. If you are looking for a great value that is much more interesting than the normal Holiday Inn and HIX, I would still recommend this hotel. Like I said earlier, I really want to love this hotel, but it has a few things to work on.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner suite, they give a TON of extra living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear foodnwine2522,

Thank you for writing a review of the Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego. We apologize for the room issues you experienced during your recent stay. Our Chief Engineer has been informed of the heating and shower issues so he can determine how to prevent both from happening again. Your review will also be discussed during our next Manager Meeting to search for ways of improvement. We value your feedback and hope you choose to give us another chance if you're ever back in the area. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    70
    56
    26
    10
See reviews for
70
51
32
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This property has a lot of potential, but, sadly, it feels worn and tired when you enter. I must say that Victoria (front desk) is very nice, professional and helpful. She allowed us to check in early and she was a POSITIVE in our experience.

The entire lobby area felt run-down and the open atrium area on each floor is very dated. There weren't room number signs when you exit the elevator, so you'll spend a bit of time finding your room.

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (key for a hotel!) but, what impressed me the most were the pillows. LOVED the pillows.

The bathroom was a disappointment. But, again, it's probably because this is an older property. I was concerned about the dried lotion in the lotion cap. It made me think they simply refill these products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) instead of giving you new ones. That makes the entire room feel a bit on the dirty side. And, made me think ... did we get new drinking glasses or were they simply wiped out? Not a good thing to have to think about.

And, they provide a bottle of water but charge $4 for it. Really? Either offer water at a reasonable price or don't offer it at all. Oregon has good drinking water, so you're fine to drink out of the tap.

Finally, as great as Victoria was at check-in, the guy at the desk for late night/early morning was not friendly at all. He didn't acknowledge us either late at night nor when we left in the early morning. It's too bad that our last thought of the hotel was how rude he was.

So, our bedroom was fine and the bed/pillows were great. The rest of the experience was just so-so. Hopefully, you'll get to interact with Victoria as she represents the best of what this property had to offer.



Although we were here for only one night,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear PALTravel,

Thank you for your review. Virginia is an excellent employee and really enjoys providing a great experience for every guest! We apologize for the issues you experienced and are very disappointed that only one of our staff members was accommodating during your stay. We have high standards for customer service and expect all hotel staff to conduct themselves professionally. We appreciate your feedback and your review has been discussed with all managers. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Heating unit was loud, room was too hot at lowest setting, got locked out of room when checkin clerk coded keys for half the length of my stay. Had to wait in long line to get corrected. Never any coffee to go in carafes by the door. Charged expenses to the wrong card at checkout. Except for that it was Ok.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Ralph R,

Thank you for you review. We apologize for the issues you experienced as they are below our standards. These issues have been brought forth to management for discussion. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you choose to give us another chance if you're ever back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently on two separate occasions, myself and my family have stayed at the Crowne Plaza-Portland-Lake Oswego Hotel. On both stays, we had excellent facilities and service. Since my wife was undergoing serious medical surgery at OHSU, the hotel's staff provided extraordinary service for our family during very stressful times. Jason, the day Manager and Virginia the day front desk supervisor were very helpful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. We requested a day-bed to enable our daughter to help me care for my wife's medical needs, a refigerator for her special meds and a microwave oven for her special diet, all were happily provided and enplaced in a timely manner. My wife required special meals and their restaurant wait staff were very accomodating to her special needs. The restaurant's food was also excellent! They have a special $79 daily rate for persons requiring medical care at OHSU and a special van shuttle to OHSU which would also be very helpful. This hotel is the nicest facility with the best service and food we have seen in traveling to Portland the last 60 years!!! This will remain our favorite place to stay in Portland considering the staff's exceptional service and helpfulness and their excellent facilities. My deepest thanks to Jason and Virginia and the entire staff for making our stay very enjoyable considering the circumstances. The hotel also has great access to I5 North/South and very substantial parking. There are also very good restaurants within one block for after-hours dinners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Charles P,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego! We're very glad you had an enjoyable stay during your visit! We hope everything is going well with your wife's recovery and we all send our best wishes! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed there for 3 nights on a business trip. Front desk check-in was excellent. Restaurant food was very good and reasonable. Other side of Parking lot are 3 other restaurants and 1 I had lunch and was excellent. Lake Oswego is a beautiful, quaint town.
Hotel rooms very clean and well appointed. Having heater with thermostat is always a challenge.
Easy access to highway 5 so can jump right on to go into downtown or up to Beaverton.
Checkout was very easy and all front desk staff helpful and professional. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear John M,

Thank you for writing a review of the Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego! We're very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay during your recent visit! We hope to see you again and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I just spent the weekend with 70 college football players in this hotel and we were so impressed. From the well-organized and welcoming check-in to their warm goodbyes, we felt like we spent the weekend with friends. Some places treat student athletes like second class citizens, but that certainly was not the way our team was treated at the Crowne Plaza. Ken and the girls at the front desk were especially accommodating. This place just has a nice feel. Give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LeftyDC,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego! We're so glad to hear that you had a great experience during your recent visit! Our staff was excited to host everyone and had many great things to say! The football team, family and friends were fantastic and we certainly hope to see everyone again in the future! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were in the area to visit a relative, and the location of the hotel was perfect. We also found the surrounding restaurants to be quite good, and enjoyed going into "downtown" Lake Oswego -- definitely a place I could explore more. The hotel was very easy on/off I-5, and we could be anywhere in Portland without much trouble. Our room was very quiet, and the staff were friendly (although we didn't have much need to call on them). The one minor item was that the heater was very noisy, as is the case in many hotels. As it was a very cold weekend, we had the heater on a lot. If we return for a visit, I would select this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear PEGGY A,

Thank you for writing a review of our property! We're glad to hear you had a nice visit during your stay! There are certainly a lot of excellent restaurant options surrounding our hotel! Having easy access to the I-5 and Hwy 217 is a nice addition for travel convenience! If you ever return to the area we look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Address: 14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refreshed Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego Hotel. This summer, as the flower baskets cascade to the sidewalks,the flower beds are in full bloom, is the perfect time to visit and enjoy your Oregon experience. Located at I-5, exit 292 Kruse Way and HWY 217, only 10 minutes away from downtown Portland, the Oregon Golf Club & close by Beaverton's High Tech area, Lewis and Clark College, OHSU, PCC and the Oregon Convention Center. Complimentary hotel shuttle service to downtown Lake Oswego, Lewis and Clark, OHSU, Mentor Graphics, and Xerox as well as any location within three miles. Tax free shopping at Woodburn Co. Stores, Bridgeport Village or Washington Square. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, the Crowne Plaza is ready to serve you! When traveling alone, with a group or your family, our accommodations were designed with you in mind. For extra comfort, pamper yourself in one of our spacious two room guest suites. Enjoy our new Mediterranean style cuisine in Basil's Kitchen where your table is waiting. Drop by and enjoy your favorite cocktail at Basil's Bar and catch a game on the new plasma TV. Relax after a long day in our indoor/ outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna, or workout in our fitness center. Our expert catering team has ranked # 1 in Meetings Satisfaction for weddings, banquets, meetings and special events. Our Crowne Meetings Director is waiting to help you with your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Osego Hotel Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.