We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“other reviews made me nervous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“other reviews made me nervous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

BUT, not to worry. Though this is an older property, the updates are wonderful. the rooms are huge and the beds are very comfortable. it was very quiet. the lobby is large and welcoming. staff pleasant and helpful. restaurant just o.k. I would eat elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: king standard room was large. offered comfortable seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNE_PLAZA_MGMT_1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Mookie-Eugene,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We're very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay during your visit! We hope to see you again if you're ever back in the area and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    84
    64
    28
    10
See reviews for
81
56
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Little bit of a dated property it seems but overall it was a nice for a one night stay.

The room way nice and clean. Room service was quick and good. The only room complain would be that the A/C-heater unit is so close to the bed that it just needs to be turned off at night.

Room Tip: Skip the pricing for the executive club level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights on a business trip. Sure the Crown Plaza is an older property, but I found it to be well maintained and comfortable, especially the common areas and the beautiful landscaping which adds an inviting curb appeal.

Check in was a smooth process by courteous and smiling staff; always appreciated after long day of air travel.

My room was very clean and nicely furnished, no problem at check-in. The bed and bedding were both very comfortable. The shower head was somewhat low for my size, but that's about my only issue with the room, albeit picky.

We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was typical fare, but not complimetary and a little pricey. However, there are only a few restaurant options in the immediate area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friend or family, which is always my true test and basis for ratings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and rooms modern, though the building architecture is dated. I was happy as a clam until folding clothes on my bed in the morning before checking out and I stepped on a staple on the floor beneath the dust ruffle! The corner protector on one of the king bed mattresses had come off and was lying on the floor beneath the dust ruffle. The plastic corner protectors are stapled on and presumably over time the twin mattresses had rubbed together and this one pried off. It was laying on the floor face up with several staples protruding. It punctured my big toe in two places, and it hurt. (See pics attached)

After I collected myself, and the offending mattress piece, I went to the front desk and shared my experience with the morning manager, including a photo of my injury. I forgot his name, but he took the piece, made a quick note about the room and said he'd talk to maintenance about it. That's it!

I expected more. I sustained an injury due to the conditions under the hotel's control, and they were apathetic about it. Wouldn't a fundamental be to say sorry, document the event with an accident form, and at least ask me if I needed medical assistance?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear BnHarton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I first want to apologize about the incident that occurred in your room and I hope that you are now doing ok. I agree with you 100% that we should have done a better job at handling the situation. I assure you that I will review your incident with all our Front Desk Agents and use this as a training tool to make sure we do better the next time.

I will message you privately to get more details.

I appreciate your time,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I arrived for a multi day business trip. The staff was efficient and friendly and the facility and room were comfortable. I did not try the food as there was a very nice brew pub right across the street. I recommend walking there and you wont want to miss happy hour. I would return to this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After vacating another hotel due to "bugs" yiks.... Called Crowne Plaza and even though it was after 9pm and showing Full they found us a lovely room and at a better rate than we could have reserved ourselves!
Heavenly clean, and beautiful. Thank you for saving two really tired "girls"! We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

For the price that we paid for the hotel, it is acceptable, but there is no way that I would pay the rack rate as it is not up to par for a 3.5 star hotel. It's a dated hotel that has had some updating done, but it still looks quite tired and worn. They charge for local calls and $15/day if you want a mini fridge in your room. The computers in the small business center were painfully slow. They have two elevators for the entire hotel, and one of them was out of order for a good part of our stay. On the plus side, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is very convenient to all major points of attraction as it is right off of the I-5. The area is nice and quiet at night, and since we got a room facing away from the freeway, we heard very little noise from the outside. The inside is a different matter though. There is absolutely no sound proofing within the walls. Parking spots were plentiful. Starbucks, Oswego Grill and Trader Joe's are all close by for your coffee fix and food needs.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms NOT facing the freeway and away from the elevators and the open lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our property. I appreciate the feedback you have given us regarding our hotel as we look at this information closely when we do our yearly upgrades. We have recently completed the upgrade of our hallway wall vinyl along with refreshing all our new bed linen. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and try it out. Thanks again for your time!

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Address: 14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refreshed Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego Hotel. This summer, as the flower baskets cascade to the sidewalks,the flower beds are in full bloom, is the perfect time to visit and enjoy your Oregon experience. Located at I-5, exit 292 Kruse Way and HWY 217, only 10 minutes away from downtown Portland, the Oregon Golf Club & close by Beaverton's High Tech area, Lewis and Clark College, OHSU, PCC and the Oregon Convention Center. Complimentary hotel shuttle service to downtown Lake Oswego, Lewis and Clark, OHSU, Mentor Graphics, and Xerox as well as any location within three miles. Tax free shopping at Woodburn Co. Stores, Bridgeport Village or Washington Square. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, the Crowne Plaza is ready to serve you! When traveling alone, with a group or your family, our accommodations were designed with you in mind. For extra comfort, pamper yourself in one of our spacious two room guest suites. Enjoy our new Mediterranean style cuisine in Basil's Kitchen where your table is waiting. Drop by and enjoy your favorite cocktail at Basil's Bar and catch a game on the new plasma TV. Relax after a long day in our indoor/ outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna, or workout in our fitness center. Our expert catering team has ranked # 1 in Meetings Satisfaction for weddings, banquets, meetings and special events. Our Crowne Meetings Director is waiting to help you with your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Osego Hotel Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.